Chevron Left
Back to Giving Helpful Feedback

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Giving Helpful Feedback by University of Colorado Boulder

4.8
stars
1,895 ratings

About the Course

This course teaches you the simple principles expert managers use to improve and motivate employee performance. You’ll never have to avoid telling an employee “the truth” again, because the seven techniques we teach will not make employees defensive or afraid. As a manager, or someone who would like to be a manager, you’ll also learn specifically what feedback is, how negative feedback is weighed more heavily than positive, and how positive feedback can super-charge behaviors such as creativity and teamwork. Giving feedback is a skill which develops over time. We give you a process you can use to improve your feedback skills and deliver it with confidence. You will find that there is a scientific basis for many of your observations and intuitions about feedback—such as, it is hard to give correctly, people don’t like it, and more. This will be reassuring as you learn how to overcome these difficulties. We hope you have a fantastic time becoming a better manager!...

Top reviews

LC

Invalid date

I enjoyed the course and learned a lot from it. The content is well organised and focused on practical situations. I particularly enjoyed the bits of psychological research shared in the content.

LT

Invalid date

This was interesting and very useful information. It will take time to put it into practice expertly, but it is well worth the effort. I enjoyed the instructor's voice and delivery.

Filter by:

576 - 588 of 588 Reviews for Giving Helpful Feedback

By Blanca G F D

Jul 20, 2017

Great ideas for managing teams!

By Milica M

Jun 8, 2022

Could be a little bit better.

By سلطان ح ن ا

Dec 19, 2023

محاضرة رائعة ولكنها طويلة

By NAWAL A M A N A M A

Dec 5, 2023

الترجمة ليست كما يجب

By Anjoy D

Nov 24, 2022

ok

By Dema T

Mar 9, 2022

The base curriculum of the course is interesting, but I would have liked to have heard more examples of scientific studies around feedback. The bonus information that connected the feedback concepts to neuroscience/psychological studies was a strong component of the course, and it would have been good to have more of that included throughout. Also, the information about monitoring emotions when giving feedback was thrown in at the end, but I think it is an important point and I wish there had been more of a review of that concept.

By Tiago M T

Apr 21, 2021

The course is well structured but the execution of the videos is poor (poor quality video/audio as well as presenter reading from somewhere off the camera) and as a result the course is overall not engaging

By Hòa. N Đ (

Mar 29, 2022

Some hypothesises/tactics are not relevant and suitable on this day. The questions and answers are also close-minded which make too much specific benefit of these tactics

By Andrew K

Aug 3, 2021

I felt that a lot of these techniques were outdated, specifically the "sandwich method" and calling it "negative" feedback vs. "constructive".

By Kristof V

Oct 27, 2018

Read the book "Thanks for the feedback" by Douglas Stone instead.

By Conrad A M E

Mar 17, 2022

En si, el curso es relativamente sensillo, deberian mejorar la parte de los cuestionarios ya que al traducirlos la pagina presenta error, lo que hace que le dediques mas tiempo a las evaluaciones.

Deberian considerar el idioma de los cursos de acuerdo al pais.

By بندر ب ش ا ا

Aug 21, 2023

دورة من ناحية المحتوى جيدة لكن التقييمات كانت كثيرة جدا جدا بشكل كبير

By MURAD M H A M M H A

Oct 11, 2023

ممتاز