Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Graphic Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Graphic Design by California Institute of the Arts

4.8
5,978 ratings
1,449 reviews

About the Course

Graphic Design is all around us! Words and pictures—the building blocks of graphic design—are the elements that carry the majority of the content in both the digital world and the printed world. As graphic design becomes more visible and prevalent in our lives, graphic design as a practice becomes more important in our culture. Through visual examples, this course will teach you the fundamental principles of graphic design: imagemaking, typography, composition, working with color and shape... foundational skills that are common in all areas of graphic design practice. I don't just want you to watch a video of someone talking about design, I want you to MAKE design! If you want to be a designer you have to be a maker and a communicator, so this course will offer you lots of opportunities to get your hands dirty with exercises and with more practical projects. At the end of this course you will have learned how to explore and investigate visual representation through a range of image-making techniques; understand basic principles of working with shape, color and pattern; been exposed to the language and skills of typography; and understand and have applied the principles of composition and visual contrast. If you complete the course, along with its optional (but highly recommended) briefs, you will have a core set of graphic design skills that you can apply to your own projects, or to more deeply investigate a specialized area of graphic design. To succeed in this course you will need access to a computer. You can complete this course without one but it will be tougher. Access to, and a beginner's level knowledge of Adobe Creative Suite programs, such as Illustrator, Photoshop and InDesign will help you, especially if you want to complete the optional briefs....

Top reviews

CS

May 10, 2018

An ok course for beginners. A bit too basic for someone who has already had experience in design, but is great anyway cause it breaks things back down to the simplest parts to help you remember roots.

AR

Apr 18, 2016

very good introductory course. i enjoyed the assignments, they are not overwhelming, easy to start, and the optional ones offer great opportunity to dig little deeper into graphic design fundamentals.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 1,407 Reviews for Fundamentals of Graphic Design

By mohammed a a

Dec 07, 2017

Outstanding experience!

By Olivia L

Sep 21, 2016

Great teacher!

By Evgeniya S

Jul 21, 2017

The course is basically the reason I decided to sign up to Coursera in the first place. It gives a good introduction into graphic design. Instead of focusing on projects and tutorials on how to use design programs like inDesign, Illustrator and Photoshop - the course gives a good theoretical background into graphic design than no other courses offer online. You will be encouraged to use various media to create your artwork, instead of going through a boring video which expects you to copy whatever the person on the screen is doing while learning nothing about the process. I really enjoyed this and recommend it to anyone who can handle the applications on their own, and needs a good theory and background into design, creation process and similar ideas.

By David D

Oct 18, 2016

Great course if you are a beginner...

By Lucia L

Jan 26, 2017

I love it

By Ahmed E

Dec 12, 2016

المناهج الدراسية والمعلم المتميز

By Yusuf C

Feb 03, 2017

A great experience. Glad to have work and pass it. Thanks for giving me the opportunity to complete this course.

By Stian V

Jun 19, 2018

Found it very inspirational!

By Yeon J L

Jun 30, 2016

Good to know basic elements of graphic design

By Lee C

Jul 05, 2016

Opened my eyes on how to create art and different ways it can be represented

By Kenzie B

Jul 31, 2016

Loving this course. Not only is it helping me learn the fundamentals of graphic design in a fun and inventive way, but is also providing a great community. Would highly recommend this for anyone looking to improve or start there graphic design skills. :)

By Erica G T

Mar 05, 2018

Ótimo curso! As aulas são rápidas e objetivas. Os exercícios são simples mas abordam efetivamente os fundamentos da composição gráfica.

By Najwa N

Jun 09, 2018

This is a very interesting and valuable course. I really enjoyed it!

By Christian B

Oct 17, 2016

Good start, I am getting hungry for graphic design knowledge :::}

By Eimy B

Aug 27, 2016

A very good way to know the basics of graphic design

By Matheus A

Apr 30, 2018

Excellent to learn de fundamentals of Graphic Design.

By 廖雪妮

Oct 15, 2017

It's a good course that I can learn a lot about design.

By Pavel S

Feb 01, 2017

Great course! I strongly recommend it to anyone studying graphic design.

By Barbara

Apr 09, 2017

Very helpful. Amazing.

By Lamees A M

Apr 04, 2017

Really great and helpful. it helps to look to art from different point.

By asfaakbar

May 04, 2017

good

By Zoey Z

Nov 16, 2016

They are very basic knowledge, but very useful and illuminating.

By Карандашева К В

Nov 16, 2016

This course is very useful, especially for the beginners. It creates the fundament for your future study. The practical part is very interesting and gave students the opportunity to try different aspects of graphic design. Thank you Coursera and CalArts

By CARLOS C

Mar 11, 2017

Very useful and funny: I enjoy a lot doing the exercises.

By Manash G

Jan 19, 2017

100% recommended