Chevron Left
Back to HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers

Learner Reviews & Feedback for HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers by Johns Hopkins University

4.7
stars
16,247 ratings

About the Course

Do you realize that the only functionality of a web application that the user directly interacts with is through the web page? Implement it poorly and, to the user, the server-side becomes irrelevant! Today’s user expects a lot out of the web page: it has to load fast, expose the desired service, and be comfortable to view on all devices: from a desktop computers to tablets and mobile phones. In this course, we will learn the basic tools that every web page coder needs to know. We will start from the ground up by learning how to implement modern web pages with HTML and CSS. We will then advance to learning how to code our pages such that its components rearrange and resize themselves automatically based on the size of the user’s screen. You’ll be able to code up a web page that will be just as useful on a mobile phone as on a desktop computer. No “pinch and zoom” required! Last but certainly not least, we will get a thorough introduction to the most ubiquitous, popular, and incredibly powerful language of the web: Javascript. Using Javascript, you will be able to build a fully functional web application that utilizes Ajax to expose server-side functionality and data to the end user....

Top reviews

CC

Invalid date

Very great lesson. I learned a lot from it.

The assignment is delicately prepared and of a suitable difficulty.

I recommend to watch the code after every lecture or you may get a little lost.

RR

Invalid date

Very amazing course...I think everyone should go for this course if they want to uplift their skills in web development.....The instructor is very humble and have unique of teaching and explaining

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 5,683 Reviews for HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers

By Tea

Dec 29, 2022

Overall was OK. but the course is outdated and has no important quiz to up the skills therefore it is quite to deeply understand only following the video lectures.

By abhinav k

Nov 28, 2021

Course contents are too old. These versions of js and bootstrap are no longer in use.... Things are taught pretty fast and superficially in module 5

By Yermi-Yahu

Oct 26, 2022

This coarse really needs to be upgraded. It started out very fun but it got harder and harder to understand the more the solutions were obsolete.

By Paul

Feb 2, 2023

Last two modules felt a bit rushed.

Does a great job of explaining relatively simple things, but not so great on the harder concepts.

By Cristal C

Dec 6, 2023

Course is outdated since apps are in newer versions therefore there are some new, altered or no longer existent settings/options.

By Syed M W G

Jan 23, 2024

Thank so much for the effort to deliver knowledge but unfortunately it has been outdated due to which I am also un-enrolling.

By Александр В А

Jan 29, 2021

Материал устарел. Примеры приводятся не соответствующие правилам хорошего стиля кодирования. Потом переучивать замучаешься.

By Brandon L

May 30, 2021

Informational but not updated so you spend a great deal of time troubleshooting. Course should be updated or replaced.

By adam s p

Jan 4, 2023

very outdated course, for those who are starting in the area it seems like a nightmare. Classes are from 5 years ago.

By Zafar

Nov 23, 2020

course is well designed for gaining basic knowledge of web dev. i highly recommend this course to begiers .

By Nur B Y

Oct 28, 2020

Outdated videos + instructor gives only commands for mac, you have to find pc commends by yourself.

By Mohanad A

Nov 2, 2020

The course good teach you a lot of fundamentals and basics but it's also outdated

By Nicholas D

Feb 7, 2022

Very dated, but gives a decent understanding of html, css, js basics.

By Caleb O

Nov 30, 2020

The course is really nice. The only thing is that it ain't updated.

By Luis M

Oct 27, 2020

good content but outdated and confusing, not very good explanation

By Anozie J

Sep 15, 2022

Progress is really slow because of outdated teaching material

By Zia U R

Jan 8, 2024

improvement required in bootStrap and javaScript content

By Mayur S

Jan 11, 2021

Good but everything is just superficial knowledge.

By Gokulan.S.S g

Oct 9, 2020

week 5 is very unclear. Very Complex

By GUNGA E

Jun 26, 2023

great course but the a bit outdated

By mohamed e

Jan 7, 2021

very old content

By Shrawani K

Nov 30, 2020

good knowledge

By Acheron M

Dec 17, 2022

There aren't any clear instructions on how to do anything. This course severely needs to be updated. It looks like it hasn't been updated since 2016 or later. When you see the instructional videos it states it is even out of date and you will find the information in the FAQ section. But you wont. Trust me I looked for a good four days on how to set everything up on a windows 11 computer. Then when I post on the forum asking for help. It sits there for days unanswered with the turn in time right around the corner.

Don't get me wrong there is a lot of great information on here, but the setup instructional videos need to be updated. I finished week 1 and week 2 in one week. So, I tried to work on the week 2 project with all that extra time. I still have yet to fully figure out how to set up GIT Hub and still have yet to figure out how to fully upload my project since it is done. The instructional videos are outdated and so I am unable to do any of it.

By Shahzeb M

Oct 4, 2020

Hardly consider this a beginner course. I have some experience programming in other languages so it was not unbearable but there was not nearly enough practice problems or hands on activities to get you a strong understanding of front end development. The amount of time spent on the CSS lessons was too short and at times very confusing and hectic. The JavaScript even more so. There were times where the instructor said “I won’t go into this because it’s something you should understand already”. This was unhelpful as the course is marketed for beginners. I would expect a beginner course to teach everything we should know for the basics. The course just felt outdated and abandoned by the instructors or TA. If you want the certificate, go for it. If you want a real understanding of front end development and an instructor who will teach you the ins and outs of it for a beginner, I recommend looking elsewhere.

By Safei A

Dec 23, 2019

The Course Material is outdated, HTML and CSS are fine, not the easiest tutorial but with a little extra effort, you will make your way through.

When it comes to bootstrap, it is outdated using version 3 while now it is on 4.x

The discussions and forms are helpful to help you get over some stuff.

Js content is old, it does not teach you the basics since it depends on the fact that you are already familiar with programming, yet it does not teach you the advanced Js or the most updated version ES6.

Week 5 about Ajax, Json and some Js code was a total mess, had to pause look for other resources to understand those topics then reverted back to the assignment right away.

There is some good effort made here, but there is always room for improvement.

I believe the assignments were not that challenging, and the quizzes were just repetitive and did not add much value