Chevron Left
Back to Engineering Project Management: Initiating and Planning

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Engineering Project Management: Initiating and Planning by Rice University

4.8
stars
3,288 ratings

About the Course

The goal of the course is to give you the tools to initiate a project plan, manage both stakeholders and relationships, organize their team, develop a project charter, and build a business case for a project. By the end of this course you will be able to: - Perform a project assessment using information from previous projects and lessons learned - Identify key deliverables based on business requirements while managing customer expectations - Perform a stakeholder analysis and create a management plan - Analyze and develop a project organization - Create a project charter - Explain the business case for a project and calculate Net Present Value - Inform stakeholders of the charter and ensure all parties know the deliverables and expectations As part of the course, you will prepare organization charts, create a Stakeholder Register, and write a Project Charter based on an engineering project in a provided Case Study. The Stakeholder Register will outline the key parties to the project, their concerns and how you will manage their expectations. Your Project Charter will provide the key guidance your team needs to understand the scope, requirements and purpose for the project. All of this will position you for initiating and planning your first project and/or understanding how you can maximize your contributions on your next project team. Rice Center for Engineering Leadership is a Registered Education Provider through the Project Management Institute (PMI)®. Learners who complete this course on the Certificate track will be awarded 12 hours of Profession Development Units. These are recognized by PMI for continuing education or can be applied toward the 35 hours of education required for the Project Management Professional (PMP)® certification. PMI and PMP are registered marks of the Project Management Institute, Inc....

Top reviews

MM

Invalid date

This course is delivered in a very professional manner and it is highly engaging in a practical sense. I strongly recommend this for engineers looking to improve their project management skills.

RS

Invalid date

It was very amazing experience with this course of Engineering Project Management : Initiating and Planning. learned a lot regarding project and handling processes in initial phase.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 776 Reviews for Engineering Project Management: Initiating and Planning

By Arthur J

Sep 16, 2019

A very challenging and demanding course. The key concepts are well addressed. Looking forward to the next course in Project Management Specialization

By Asad M

Feb 10, 2019

Excellent instructors, loved the way when they tell their own stories of projects and how we can leverage their work experience in our career!

By Rodrigo B

Apr 19, 2018

Excellent course! I was able to improve my knowledge on Project Management. The experience of the professors is a valuable plus. Thank you!

By Romain P

Nov 26, 2017

Great videos with good examples. The way of teaching is very good. Not too much information. Just the right level of information to well understand the principles. Getting the books is essential to well understand the project management teached by RICE.

By Abdelrhman M M B

Sep 21, 2017

The course is excellent for those starting their way in project management but to gain maximum benefit you should take all 3 courses of this specialization. Thanks alot to the instructors for their effort and for this well organized course.

By Stefano P C

Jul 12, 2020

Very good course, the instructors have a great structure for the lectures even though some topics are not addressed as much as needed. This isn't a problem since they reference books available to increase your knowledge in the topic at hand.

The only problem I had with this course was the peer-reviewed assignments. I had a really bad experience grading some since I had to report them for plagiarism because they uploaded the exact same document as the example or I didn't have anything to grade because they uploaded a blank document. On top of this, when my work was being graded, I did not get any feedback regarding how I could improve it.

By MBo

Jul 25, 2019

Interesting course for project management newbies, but it could be improved with some real life examples to accompany the theory. I liked the format of the video and the presentation style, although the visuals are more distracting and not adding to the experience. Presenters are well articulated and easy to follow. Big thumbs up for the transcripts and subtitles!

On the downside, I'm not particularly impressed by the peer review system. Who are my peers? People like me, who don't really know much about this topic in the first place? How relevant is their grading/feedback? Also, the grading system is fundamentally flawed, in my opinion, as it's focused on the format, and not the content. More than once I found errors in the content, but because it was filled out per the rubrik, I had to give it points.

By Jocelyne F V

Jul 15, 2019

This course nicely explains the concepts applied in project management. It however gives few concrete examples and remains 'theoretical'. It is helpful for someone with some practical experience who wants to learn the formal tools and concepts. Most learnings come from the peer-reviewed assignment and reflection on own experience. It will however probably not be adequate for beginners without professional experience, e.g university students.

By Joanna T C

Apr 27, 2020

This course can help any beginner learn the basics of Engineering project management right from scratch. I recommend this course to anyone whose interests are inclined towards management and is an engineer.

By Diego S Y

Sep 3, 2020

Curso de inicial de la especialización de Project Management. Un buen curso para aproximarse al mundo de la gestión de proyecto de manera sencilla y didáctica.

Muy buen nivel del profesorado.

By Erick O

May 4, 2020

Thanks to the Rice University.

The course was so interesting, i managed to learn a lot on the project management.

I can now prepare charter, stakeholders record,,,,,,,

By Srinivasa S N

Mar 23, 2020

The course is extremely helpful in learning some new concepts and also to recapitulate the learning. I strongly recommend this for my colleagues and friends.

By Siddhant S

Apr 30, 2020

This is a very well structured course with a lot of tests and assignments. I would definitely help this to all budding project managers like myself.

By Lucas B d M

Apr 10, 2020

This course is really good. If you have the opportunity, please try to create the same documents deliverable, using your current project as a base.

By Subham S

Apr 12, 2020

Course was quite practical with a lot of assignments and projects and theoretical content was of high quality provided by Rice University.

By Osama S

Oct 5, 2020

Unprecedented course both teachers are very passionate about their subject.

By Ajit K

May 14, 2020

This course was very helpful.Both the professor were great.

By Dr. S J

Apr 18, 2020

The course has been designed exclusively and I was quite impressed. The course was also easy to follow with step by step practice quizzes that keep you moving. However, one drawback that I faced that in peer review assignments, there are a lot of people who are not yet on the particular level of assignment and once you submit an assignment, the software submits to random peer reviews. This results (mostly) in splitting your grade into two extremes (and that happened to me thrice). This certainly spoils someone's grade. Peer may ruin your work. this need to be tackled on software level. Atleast the assignment should go who has completed the module. Lastly, I thank Mr. Tom Phalen and Mr. Kazimir Kowowski for their utmost dedication to teach this course. I hope the other courses will be much better.

By kausalya

Oct 20, 2020

The course is very good and the fundamentals are laid out clearly making it easier for all levels of learners. I particularly liked the reflections part where we get to learn about and reflect upon the real time project management challenges. The only improvement I would suggest is to make the peer grade assignments more objective. Right now they are very subjective and we have all kinds of learners and we are peer grading documents with little knowledge/experience about the specific project. it's very difficult to get any constructive feedback many times. I believe that giving an answer document along with rubric will help in the peer grading.

By Vinod B

May 26, 2020

Course is good. However, certificate mentioned with 'non-credit course' makes confusion. Such words should not be included on certificate, rather such info (credit, non-credit etc.) should be on back end. Just issue simple certificate that online course including assignments and exam is successfully completed by Mr. X which is offered by RICE University USA on Coursera. It does not make any sense to write that the course is credit, non-credit etc. I am not happy with certificate issued.

By David T L

Oct 16, 2019

Same old PMI stuff.

By Katelynn D

Mar 3, 2023

Good preparation for initiating and planning stages of Project Management. Hands on Projects give good opportunity to practice key deliverables and gain insight into project process as well as learn how others approached the assignment with peer reviews. Grading rubric is very organized is yet another tool for leaning while applying key concepts to assignment projects. The two teachers bring valuable insight from their Project Management experiences and they share some best practices to better prepare students to take the theory into practice.

By GALLEY D

Sep 21, 2021

Good introduction and refresher course for obtaining and maintaining PMP certification. Aligns well with the PMI - but based on PMBOK Version 6. As we are now at PMBOK Version 7 there may be some subtle updates that will be required if you are using the course as part of your preparation for taking the PMP Exam until the course is refreshed to PMBOK 7.

As for a general awareness and understanding of project management, this is a well structured, well presented and easy to follow course.

By Raghunath B

Mar 15, 2022

by the time am on the internship there was a building construction. actually their is no definite project charter we use but their was baselines for cost and time by the time change implement in the execution we try to identify and how the change come and resolve it but, first we track the project activity according to baseline and if we want to implement changes we simply modify the baseline. in now a days thanks to the technology we can edit the changes in software's.

By ABIR E

Jun 6, 2020

Thank you for this initiative to allow us to apply the PMP on a case study in detail :taht's really great!

I am looking forward to continue the two courses to apply PMP on the others domain of Project management professional (Risk, resources, scope, time, cost...),

This is the best opportunity to apply my knowledge in PMP as part of a complete case study.

I recommend this course and this specialization to everyone who want to go forward in PMP with

concrete cases!