Chevron Left
Back to Engineering Project Management: Initiating and Planning

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Engineering Project Management: Initiating and Planning by Rice University

4.8
stars
2,617 ratings
620 reviews

About the Course

The goal of the course is to give you the tools to initiate a project plan, manage both stakeholders and relationships, organize their team, develop a project charter, and build a business case for a project. By the end of this course you will be able to: - Perform a project assessment using information from previous projects and lessons learned - Identify key deliverables based on business requirements while managing customer expectations - Perform a stakeholder analysis and create a management plan - Analyze and develop a project organization - Create a project charter - Explain the business case for a project and calculate Net Present Value - Inform stakeholders of the charter and ensure all parties know the deliverables and expectations As part of the course, you will prepare organization charts, create a Stakeholder Register, and write a Project Charter based on an engineering project in a provided Case Study. The Stakeholder Register will outline the key parties to the project, their concerns and how you will manage their expectations. Your Project Charter will provide the key guidance your team needs to understand the scope, requirements and purpose for the project. All of this will position you for initiating and planning your first project and/or understanding how you can maximize your contributions on your next project team. Rice Center for Engineering Leadership is a Registered Education Provider through the Project Management Institute (PMI)®. Learners who complete this course on the Certificate track will be awarded 12 hours of Profession Development Units. These are recognized by PMI for continuing education or can be applied toward the 35 hours of education required for the Project Management Professional (PMP)® certification. PMI and PMP are registered marks of the Project Management Institute, Inc....

Top reviews

DY
Sep 2, 2020

Curso de inicial de la especialización de Project Management. Un buen curso para aproximarse al mundo de la gestión de proyecto de manera sencilla y didáctica.\n\nMuy buen nivel del profesorado.

SR
Aug 20, 2017

Great course. Would recommend it for engineers who have collected relevant engineering experience and look for whats next in their career. Looking forward to attend the other modules as well.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 621 Reviews for Engineering Project Management: Initiating and Planning

By AAKESH G

Jun 2, 2020

I learnt project management and planning from top educator, it will play important role to enhance my knowledge.

By Walter M

Jul 2, 2020

The course is very practical, a lot of case studies and insightful examples from weekly discussions by lecturers

By David W

Oct 15, 2018

Very clear and engaging. Easily applicable straight away to work life. Will be using it on my project next week.

By Wang Y

Nov 15, 2020

Great Course, it takes time to finish the assignment, but you can learn a lot from this course. it is worth it.

By Joshua R

Apr 15, 2020

Excellent delivery of the material and appropriate assignments, quizzes and exams in the context of the course.

By Eduardo G

Jun 22, 2020

Initiation and planning of projects has been developed in a clear, simple way. Excellent material and teachers

By Isaac S

Sep 21, 2020

Básico y fundamental para aprender los principios de Project Management enfocados en Iniciación y Planeación.

By Saw K H

Jun 19, 2020

Engineering Project Management : Initiating and Planning is a great course, i learned a lot from this course.

By U S

May 26, 2020

I was able to learn the basics required for project management.. The course is helpful in building my career.

By Ahmad u R

Sep 30, 2019

It was a very good experience to follow this course on Engg. Project Management. I really enjoyed the course.

By Kironmoy P S

Aug 15, 2020

Very helpful for beginners to know the details of initiating and planning in engineering project management.

By SIVARAMKUMAR .

Jun 12, 2020

Super and very nice experience .I have learn something this course. Thank you so much for this opportunity.

By Margarita B

Aug 27, 2018

it was quite interesting. what i liked the most - we had home-works to work on. so it's not just listening.

By Marcos J H V

Jan 12, 2021

Great course, some project management tools such as the business case should be explained more in detail.

By Naleen V

Feb 3, 2021

Excellent course and assignments are really good, it would definitely increase your knowledge and skill.

By Tarso G

Apr 18, 2021

Amazing course! I learned so much and this has changed forever the way I see and work in the busisness.

By Mahesa P

Aug 20, 2020

Great experience in this course. The explanation from the mentor is very easy to understand. Thank you

By Sangam A

May 25, 2020

It provides me with a wonderful experience of how the engineering projects are managed in the field.

By Seshu Y

Jul 6, 2020

Very good & informative course to understand the basics of project initiation & planning functions.

By Avipriyo C

Jun 28, 2020

This course is fine. the sound quality can be made better. Also, reading materials can be attached.

By Khelly S S R

Jun 16, 2020

Short and sweet. Concise lessons that are very informative! Hands-on exercises are awesome as well!

By Martin M

Aug 25, 2020

I really enjoyed the course work. The assignments were engaging and related to the topics studied.

By Elie W

Dec 8, 2020

Very well organized and structured. In the videos of week 2, the professor's voice was a bit low.

By Antonio G N

Feb 24, 2018

This course is really helping me to improve the management in the projects in which I am involved

By ULISES M V

May 7, 2020

The course have all that you need to learn, I really recommend to start in Project Management.