Chevron Left
Back to Engineering Project Management: Initiating and Planning

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Engineering Project Management: Initiating and Planning by Rice University

4.8
stars
2,507 ratings
586 reviews

About the Course

The goal of the course is to give you the tools to initiate a project plan, manage both stakeholders and relationships, organize their team, develop a project charter, and build a business case for a project. By the end of this course you will be able to: - Perform a project assessment using information from previous projects and lessons learned - Identify key deliverables based on business requirements while managing customer expectations - Perform a stakeholder analysis and create a management plan - Analyze and develop a project organization - Create a project charter - Explain the business case for a project and calculate Net Present Value - Inform stakeholders of the charter and ensure all parties know the deliverables and expectations As part of the course, you will prepare organization charts, create a Stakeholder Register, and write a Project Charter based on an engineering project in a provided Case Study. The Stakeholder Register will outline the key parties to the project, their concerns and how you will manage their expectations. Your Project Charter will provide the key guidance your team needs to understand the scope, requirements and purpose for the project. All of this will position you for initiating and planning your first project and/or understanding how you can maximize your contributions on your next project team. Rice Center for Engineering Leadership is a Registered Education Provider through the Project Management Institute (PMI)®. Learners who complete this course on the Certificate track will be awarded 12 hours of Profession Development Units. These are recognized by PMI for continuing education or can be applied toward the 35 hours of education required for the Project Management Professional (PMP)® certification. PMI and PMP are registered marks of the Project Management Institute, Inc....

Top reviews

SG
Jul 6, 2020

This course will give in-depth knowledge of project management. Peer-graded assignments will help us a lot to think in other ways how others will proceed and learn from their assignments too.

BM
Aug 28, 2017

Very good course! Dynamic and very well structured. I totally recommend, it provides you notions of all aspects involving the first two stage of project. I look forward doing the other parts.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 584 Reviews for Engineering Project Management: Initiating and Planning

By Isaac S

Sep 21, 2020

Básico y fundamental para aprender los principios de Project Management enfocados en Iniciación y Planeación.

By Saw K H

Jun 19, 2020

Engineering Project Management : Initiating and Planning is a great course, i learned a lot from this course.

By U S

May 26, 2020

I was able to learn the basics required for project management.. The course is helpful in building my career.

By Sami U

Sep 30, 2019

It was a very good experience to follow this course on Engg. Project Management. I really enjoyed the course.

By Kironmoy P S

Aug 15, 2020

Very helpful for beginners to know the details of initiating and planning in engineering project management.

By SIVARAMKUMAR .

Jun 12, 2020

Super and very nice experience .I have learn something this course. Thank you so much for this opportunity.

By Margarita B

Aug 27, 2018

it was quite interesting. what i liked the most - we had home-works to work on. so it's not just listening.

By Marcos J H V

Jan 12, 2021

Great course, some project management tools such as the business case should be explained more in detail.

By Naleen V

Feb 3, 2021

Excellent course and assignments are really good, it would definitely increase your knowledge and skill.

By Mahesa P

Aug 20, 2020

Great experience in this course. The explanation from the mentor is very easy to understand. Thank you

By Sangam A

May 25, 2020

It provides me with a wonderful experience of how the engineering projects are managed in the field.

By Seshu Y

Jul 6, 2020

Very good & informative course to understand the basics of project initiation & planning functions.

By Avipriyo C

Jun 28, 2020

This course is fine. the sound quality can be made better. Also, reading materials can be attached.

By Khelly S S R

Jun 16, 2020

Short and sweet. Concise lessons that are very informative! Hands-on exercises are awesome as well!

By Martin M

Aug 25, 2020

I really enjoyed the course work. The assignments were engaging and related to the topics studied.

By Elie W

Dec 8, 2020

Very well organized and structured. In the videos of week 2, the professor's voice was a bit low.

By Antonio G N

Feb 24, 2018

This course is really helping me to improve the management in the projects in which I am involved

By ULISES M V

May 7, 2020

The course have all that you need to learn, I really recommend to start in Project Management.

By PORIYA M J B

Jul 20, 2020

This course give me very good knowledge about Project planning, Stakeholder Registers and all

By Fernando M

Dec 24, 2019

I was extremely impressed with he scope of knowledge that's covered in each of these courses.

By Robert A P P

Feb 6, 2021

It's an excellent course. Glad to begin this ride an eager to continue with the next ones!

By Rahul K

Aug 12, 2020

It is great course to understand about Project, role of project manger, project management

By Andrea C D D

Sep 24, 2020

It's a really good course, very approachable even if you don't have previous experience.

By Elizabeth R

Jun 9, 2019

buen curso para aprender y reforzar los conceptos básicos de Gerenciamiento de proyectos

By Neelakanteswaraswamy B

Jul 22, 2020

excellent course for beginners,Easy to follow build up of course material for learning