Chevron Left
Back to Engineering Project Management: Initiating and Planning

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Engineering Project Management: Initiating and Planning by Rice University

4.7
577 ratings
122 reviews

About the Course

The goal of the course is to give you the tools to initiate a project plan, manage both stakeholders and relationships, organize their team, develop a project charter, and build a business case for a project. By the end of this course you will be able to: - Perform a project assessment using information from previous projects and lessons learned - Identify key deliverables based on business requirements while managing customer expectations - Perform a stakeholder analysis and create a management plan - Analyze and develop a project organization - Create a project charter - Explain the business case for a project and calculate Net Present Value - Inform stakeholders of the charter and ensure all parties know the deliverables and expectations As part of the course, you will prepare organization charts, create a Stakeholder Register, and write a Project Charter based on an engineering project in a provided Case Study. The Stakeholder Register will outline the key parties to the project, their concerns and how you will manage their expectations. Your Project Charter will provide the key guidance your team needs to understand the scope, requirements and purpose for the project. All of this will position you for initiating and planning your first project and/or understanding how you can maximize your contributions on your next project team. Rice Center for Engineering Leadership is a Registered Education Provider through the Project Management Institute (PMI)®. Learners who complete this course on the Certificate track will be awarded 12 hours of Profession Development Units. These are recognized by PMI for continuing education or can be applied toward the 35 hours of education required for the Project Management Professional (PMP)® certification. PMI and PMP are registered marks of the Project Management Institute, Inc....

Top reviews

SR

Aug 21, 2017

Great course. Would recommend it for engineers who have collected relevant engineering experience and look for whats next in their career. Looking forward to attend the other modules as well.

BM

Aug 29, 2017

Very good course! Dynamic and very well structured. I totally recommend, it provides you notions of all aspects involving the first two stage of project. I look forward doing the other parts.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 120 Reviews for Engineering Project Management: Initiating and Planning

By Bruno M M

Aug 29, 2017

Very good course! Dynamic and very well structured. I totally recommend, it provides you notions of all aspects involving the first two stage of project. I look forward doing the other parts.

By Abdelrhman M M B

Sep 21, 2017

The course is excellent for those starting their way in project management but to gain maximum benefit you should take all 3 courses of this specialization. Thanks alot to the instructors for their effort and for this well organized course.

By Benjamin B

Sep 26, 2017

Excellent!

By Antonio G N

Feb 24, 2018

This course is really helping me to improve the management in the projects in which I am involved

By Alejandro S

Nov 10, 2017

In general it was what I expected from the course. The intention is continuing with the other two courses offered.

By Juan J C C

Sep 03, 2017

I enjoyed the course, clear concepts espouse in a simple way and well structured.

By Ernesto D M

Apr 22, 2019

Very good and interesting course!!!

By Nariman N

Mar 23, 2019

Very good experiment. I'm very satisfied !

By Sanjay N K

Apr 10, 2019

Coursera along with RICE university provided this course, that is very useful, easy to learn, properly organised and presented.

Thank you Rice university

Thank you coursera and I don't words to praise you. I love it.

By Nasem H

Mar 28, 2019

Thanks for this usefull course

By Michael R

May 14, 2019

I learned a lot in this class. thank you very much.

By Dr. S S

May 14, 2019

very well organized and easy to follow the material

By Jamshaid a

May 14, 2019

Best course for project Management...

By Justin X

May 18, 2019

very practical

By Petar H

May 28, 2019

a very good course, well-explained lessons and examples, and many interesting tasks

By Jabu R M

May 29, 2019

Excellent, I especially enjoyed reviewing my peers work. This helped me grow and see things from a different perspective!

By kittychen

May 31, 2019

A great course and good start to enter the area of project management

By NWAGHA N P

Jun 04, 2019

I really love this course and the instructors. want to learn more!

By Elizabeth R

Jun 09, 2019

buen curso para aprender y reforzar los conceptos básicos de Gerenciamiento de proyectos

By Irfan A

Jun 09, 2019

Have gotten meaningful skills and knowledge from this course.

By Muhammad H O

Jun 28, 2019

Excellent course for enhancing skillset

By Allu B S S

Jul 12, 2019

Really good course with assignments that require quite an amount of brainstorming, leaving you with a good feeling of satisfaction and more knowledge than before.

By AKASH P

Jul 27, 2019

great course to understand the basics of project management.

By Mayte R L

May 20, 2019

Great course

By Mauricio d A H

Aug 21, 2019

Very good the course. It is possible to learn many lessons from him. Even though it's basic, the learning is great.