Chevron Left
Back to Machine Learning

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Machine Learning by Stanford University

4.9
stars
155,957 ratings
39,873 reviews

About the Course

Machine learning is the science of getting computers to act without being explicitly programmed. In the past decade, machine learning has given us self-driving cars, practical speech recognition, effective web search, and a vastly improved understanding of the human genome. Machine learning is so pervasive today that you probably use it dozens of times a day without knowing it. Many researchers also think it is the best way to make progress towards human-level AI. In this class, you will learn about the most effective machine learning techniques, and gain practice implementing them and getting them to work for yourself. More importantly, you'll learn about not only the theoretical underpinnings of learning, but also gain the practical know-how needed to quickly and powerfully apply these techniques to new problems. Finally, you'll learn about some of Silicon Valley's best practices in innovation as it pertains to machine learning and AI. This course provides a broad introduction to machine learning, datamining, and statistical pattern recognition. Topics include: (i) Supervised learning (parametric/non-parametric algorithms, support vector machines, kernels, neural networks). (ii) Unsupervised learning (clustering, dimensionality reduction, recommender systems, deep learning). (iii) Best practices in machine learning (bias/variance theory; innovation process in machine learning and AI). The course will also draw from numerous case studies and applications, so that you'll also learn how to apply learning algorithms to building smart robots (perception, control), text understanding (web search, anti-spam), computer vision, medical informatics, audio, database mining, and other areas....

Top reviews

TP
Jun 25, 2020

This course is a very applicable. Professor Ng explains precisely each algorithm and even tries to give an intuition for mathematical and statistic concepts behind each algorithm. Thank you very much.

AD
Apr 21, 2017

Very good coverage of different supervised and unsupervised algorithms, and lots of practical insights around implementation. All the explanations provided helped to understand the concepts very well.

Filter by:

426 - 450 of 10,000 Reviews for Machine Learning

By Jason W

Dec 15, 2016

Professor Ng has been working with machine learning R&D for more than 10 years now and have seen the significant phase of evolution of this field before it gain its popularity. Undoubtedly, AI and ML is going to be ubiquitous and impactful in many creative forms in the coming decades and I'm very fortunate to not only gain such an in-depth intuition and understanding of the fundamentals of machine learning, but also to gain the confidence needed to articulate these concepts and theories with Prof. Ng's guidance. The difficulty of this course is average. Quizzes and programming exercises require solid understanding of the concepts and also a lot of patience (just because you don't understand a particular concept, doesn't mean you're dumb. Give it some time and perseverance and you will pull through). Thank you Prof Ng and Coursera for this course. I would recommend this course to be the first stepping stone if you're going to venture your life in to the world of Artificial Intelligence!

By Nimrod B

May 12, 2020

I found the course very interesting and informative. I wanted to learn for a long time about Machine Learning, Neural Networks, Artificial intelligence etc. so the course in Coursera came in a good time during the COVID-19 quarantine. The videos are explained in a very good way by Dr. Ng. Slides are extremely useful. The question/quiz is helpful to digest the information and the programming exercises are done in a very good way in order to implement the acquired knowledge. I will probably spend more of my out-of-work time in Coursera in order to learn more about implementation of Artificial Intelligence and Deep Learning which are the next two subjects of interest. A final note: since I am using MatLab in my daily work as a researcher in academics I found no problem in implementing the exercises also in somewhat more advanced vectorized way from the earlier exercises. Many thanks for the excellent course and a nice interface for remote courses such as Coursera. Dr. Nimi (Nimrod) Bachar

By Ivan M

Oct 8, 2019

Andrew Ng is such a great person and teacher! This course is just pure gold and this is my first MOOC.

Andrew smoothly guides you through the most important concepts of machine learning, doing so, that you really understand things very well. He eaxplains pretty difficult things in easy way, generalize ideas very well, so, that you don't need to remember lots of things, but actually just understand principles.

Also, with his great experience in the area, he gives you super valuable advice on application of ML and prioritization of work. He knows what are the most important things to know, so you can trust him!

I was happy to learn everything and work on assignments thoroughly, which are of such a great quality!

Tests in each video and at the end of the topic are also great and help to check your understanding!

My life never would be the same :)

Andrew, thank you with all of my heart! Due to your work new generation of AI engineers is appearing!

Now, I will learn Deep Learning Specialization!

By Yemao

May 21, 2019

This is the best course for machine learning beginners. The best. Andrew explained many fundamentals very well and it is not just one algorithm that he focused on but he wanted the students to understand how to debug and how to improve and optimise. These "strategic" stuff are probably more important than the hardcore "tactic" algorithm stuff because students will have a better understand about what they are learning and why they are learning this, more importantly what they shall be learning in the future. I would like to thank all the efforts from Andrew and other mentors on course for developing this fantastic course. If you really want to pick some bones from an egg i would say that probably provide a python version of this course would be brilliant. For the same course assignment, in matlab the codes should be this and the codes in python could be this...i know this will put so much much more work on the course developers but you know just a small suggestion. Thank you Andrew!!

By Siddhartha S M

Apr 2, 2020

Profession Andrew NG has a quite indepth knowledge in the Field of Machine Learning and he covered almost all the topics in very great detail with the approach of creating basic building block of the Machine Learning of any individual. Although, sometimes I felt that professor deep dive into too much derivatives and mathematics but after completion of the course, I realized that all those stuff were necessary for creating a foundation of the subject.

The course content covers quite mathematics and consumes a lot of time but I felt it worth investing. I took more than the video time to complete the course because sometimes I had to google the terms and understand the basics first and then returned back to the course again to continue. This may be because I was novice for the field at the time of starting the course.

Thank you very much Professor Andrew NG for devoting your time and energy with full of compassion to share the knowledge and helping us building the basic understanding.

By Winson L

Oct 2, 2018

I graduated at UCL in London, my PhD was in Electronics Engineering, far from maths and computer science. Machine learning is a very interesting topic that I have always loved to explore. By coincidence I became a data scientist working in London where machine learning was needed. 2 years after I first come across Andrew Ng's coursera video lectures, I decided to finally go through all the modules and get the certificate. Not native to Octave, but I am glad that I have learned it for the assignments and now feel very comfortable on applying it. Today, I have finally completed this course, after spending many evenings late after work staying in my work office's meeting room to study. Many thanks to Andrew and all the examiners in this course. A special message to Andrew: I have recognised your appearances on TV and blog posts documenting artificial intelligence, I wish you every success, and I secretly wish that one day we would cross paths with each other.

All the best. Winson Lam

By Humberto F F

Aug 17, 2015

This course is an opportunity to get acquainted with several machine learning techniques, including linear regression, logistic regression, Support Vector Machines (SVM), anomaly detection, non-supervised learning (clustering, K-means, etc), recommendation systems and very interesting discussions about batch/mini-batch versus stochastic learning and large-scale learning systems. It does not require a deep knowledge in algebra and calculus (although a solid background in mathematics surely helps a lot) and progresses in a logical manner from easy, standard techniques to advanced ones.

If you are new in this realm, this course is comprehensive enough to make you confident to design your own customized algorithms. If you have some experience, you can consolidate your knowledge and benefit from the tips the instructor gives throughout the course. I've been dealing with adaptive filtering for some years and I can say I've enjoyed this course so much. I definitely recommend it!

By Wahyu G

Dec 15, 2017

This course is really really really amazing for me! Andrew Ng is a great lecturer. There are 2 main parts here, the maths and the intuition. Most of the time, the class talks about the intuition and the reasoning, i love it. The reason behind that is you can take a more advanced course about machine learning or deep learning afterwards with a good intuition about the algorithm. But, the math is not so little, too.

There is also the programming assignment which really really helps. See your code works is one of the best feelings, even you dont build it from the 'really scratch'. The hardest part in this course i think is in the Neural Network and SVM part, but once you've past through that, trust me, you'll pass along and enjoy the class.

100% will recommend it to my friends. Speak about myself, I am not a cs student but i think i have a little bit of confidence now.

In the last video, i'm so touched. Thank you Andrew and team, definitely going to take Deep Learning specialization.

By P S R

Aug 16, 2017

Fundamentals well explained, solid programming exercises complement the theory giving us an opportunity to see the theory in live implementation. Contemporary solutions like recommendation systems, e-mail spam, image recognition and long standing regression/classification techniques are well balanced. Advice on practical implementation of ML applications is the highlight. Over all it is well designed and delivered. However, it approaches more from mathematical/engineering stand point, whereas in business world it is approached more from statistical analysis perspective using co-relation, R-square, p-values, error function following normal distribution etc. Some linkages between the two approaches may help us become more productive at real life work. Almost entire course focused on classification problems, except the first exercise that deals with house price forecasting. May be few examples of regression with the same algorithms also can help matching the needs of enterprises.

By Iain M

Sep 6, 2015

Andrew Ng's passion for the subject of Machine Learning is obvious and infuses every lesson. His wide experience in the field allows him to enhance the video lectures with tips and examples that help him to explain what are often quite complex concepts.

The lectures are very well organized, clearly presented and, although they cover some very advanced techniques, are obviously aimed at those new to Machine Learning. The programming asignments include clear and detailed instructions. In fact, if I have one criticism of the course it is that those instructions may actually be a little too detailed - occasionally involving little more than copying and pasting code from the instructions into Octave rather than writing our own scripts.

I really enjoyed this course. If you are a beginner, then I think you'll find this is an excellent introduction to Machine Learning. If you have a little more background knowledge then this course will help you consolidate and build on that knowledge.

By Marco C

Jan 4, 2017

A fantastic opportunity to get a global overview of one the most exciting topics of data science.

Lectures by Mr Andrew Ng are well structured, perfectly declined in both illustrating the need behind each development and in rigorously explaining its logic. He drives you through a step by step path and always helps in understanding the overall context with clear examples. Each video is stopped now and by a not graded quiz aimed to check you are perfectly in line with the concepts. Grades are obtained through the questionnaires (five questions each time, you need to get no less than four correct answers out of them) and a programming exercise in Octave/Matlab. Especially in order to well deal the programming exercises, the discussion forum and the kind availability of the course mentors are a great resource!

In conclusion a seriously challenging course, that will take lot of your time but it's definitely worth! Many thanks Coursera and really thanks and congratulations Mr Ng.

By Xinguo W

Oct 8, 2016

Just completed the course myself and I have to say this is a great course for anyone who wants to get a comprehensive understanding of Machine Learning. First of all, the content of the course is very well structured. It covers a lot of machine learning algorithms and also includes a lot of practical applications. Professor Ng is very gifted in teaching and he can explain some difficult topics in very simple terms. I also found he is very engaging and the quick questions inserted in the middle of the videos are very helpful to keep the students focused on the lecture. The programming assignments are at the right level of difficulty, and I found the instruction for each assignment works like a great summary of the corresponding materials. Didn't use their discussion forum much, but for a couple times I used, the mentor was able to respond in a very timely manner. Overall, this is a great course and I am so happy to be able to take it myself. Thank you, Professor Ng!

By Nikhil G

May 30, 2020

I came in with no background in linear algebra/octave/MatLab, and machine learning always seemed like this black box to me. This course had some challenging sections, but is totally doable for someone with a limited background, if you're willing to put in the work. The lectures simplify the concepts into little, manageable pieces, and the programming exercises reinforce the concepts learned from lectures (these exercises also have detailed tutorials to help those out that aren't familiar with the programming languages used in the course). Dr. Ng has an amazing ability to teach without jargon, and being overly technical. His final video, and mannerisms throughout the course, make it clear that he is a compassionate instructor that really wants to inspire his students to learn these concepts. Some of the ideas behind machine learning are now much more clear to me and I look forward to learning more, and using more current implementations of machine learning e.g. w/ python.

By shockwave2000

Jan 10, 2020

Very helpful course that taught me the basic principles behind the field of machine learning and its various applications in the world. Mister Andrew did a great job teaching, and his love for the topic made the whole experience even more exciting for the student. The videos were short and straight to the point with various questions and quizzes that constantly held the attention of the student and helped him keep his focus, while the programming assignments gave a very good intuition about the practical use of machine learning principles in real world problems and helped the student gain a first- hand knowledge about machine learning application programing. The tutorials were very useful and the mentors replied to my questions very fast, giving me the help I required while working on an assignment. I thank Andrew and the mentors for helping me embark on a journey towards the world of artificial intelligence, machine learning, robots and technology. A great course indeed.

By Zoltan K

Jan 26, 2018

A practical and engineering minded introductory/overview course to machine learning. It has set the scope of the subjects right, it was wide and deep enough to be able to understand the basic ideas, how to attack the problems, the type of thinking needed for solving problems with machine learning, how to plan the work, where to spend more time/energy, how to implement efficiently, how to measure performance and progress etc. The choice of Octave for the programming assignments proved to be excellent. It was fast to grasp its concepts and very efficient both at writing the programs and running them. The videos are transcripted, the slides were well explained, they are available for download, the resources section contained the summary of the lessons etc. All in all there's been a lot of progress from the first Coursera courses many years ago. The Coursera app (Android) was surprisingly good and useful, I preferred using that for watching and I used a browser for the exams.

By Digvijay D

Apr 30, 2020

I've been utilizing my free time to learn the concepts of machine learning and their applications and successfully completed the Machine Learning course offered by Stanford on Coursera.Professor Andrew Ng is a great teacher and this course is both challenging and satisfying. The course is of 11 weeks and some weeks have two sets of lectures. So there is a little more effort required in this course than any other ML courses but is great value for the time spent.This course gives a grand picture on how ML works by focusing more on the basic concepts as opposed to focusing on specific components like programming language/libraries which most of the ML courses available on the internet suffer from.What I loved the most about this course is how the instructor(Andrew Ng) always mentions the correct way of doing things and how things are done by a few people in industry. Overall this is a very good course which gives a solid foundation in the basic concepts of Machine Learning.

By Guilherme C d A S

Jun 14, 2020

Fiz o curso em 2020. Sou estudante de Economia (já tinha uma base boa de estatística), tinha um conhecimento básico de programação e conhecia um pouco de Machine Learning. Na minha opinião, Andrew Ng tem uma boa didática e é muito bacana aprender com alguém de renome na área. O curso serviu para dar boas noções de ML, tornou o assunto muito mais tangível e deu um panorama interessante. As tarefas de programação me tomaram um bom tempo e tive algumas dificuldades mas consegui completar tudo com alguma ajuda. O programa utilizado é o Octave (ou Matlab). Não foi difícil me adaptar a esse ambiente. No entanto, me parece que a escolha de software pode ter ficado um pouco ultrapassada, talvez seria mais interessante em Python. Não sei dizer o quão difícil é adaptar o código e as bibliotecas. De qualquer forma, isso não afeta a explicação dos modelos de ML ou mesmo os conselhos e boas práticas apresentados. Não tenho base para comparar com outros cursos de ML disponíveis.

By Kevin S

Jan 11, 2019

The positives of the course are: Material presented was clear, and concise, not a lot of fluff and thus very efficient. The pace was just right for absorbing the material and to write some notes. Besides the excellent delivery of the material, what really stands out about this course for me and why it is so awesome is that there was strong coverage of methods to use to avoid possible pitfalls (underfitting, overfitting, types of problems that each learning method is suited for, how to decide on spending extra effort gathering data or not, finding which component in a pipeline is worth trying to improve and avoiding wasting effort on components that don't improve overall results). Other courses will often present a range of different methods but have little or no guidance on how to use them correctly and avoid pitfalls. Anyone can use a tool but often it can make a big difference in efforts and results if it's used correctly.

The negatives of this course are: none :)

By Himanshu G

Apr 25, 2020

Thank You Very Much, Andrew Sir. I feel the scarcity of words to express my gratitude and thank you to you, Sir and the Coursera. The course is very well designed and enables a novice like me who has little prior exposure to the field of computer science to understand the concepts of Machine Learning, pass the review exercises and programming exercises. I think a little improvement could be if more videos related to Mathematical concepts (for example something relevant to Support Vector Machine) relevant for this course are included in the course or authentic links or (esp. Mathematical) resources are provided which students can refer to sharpen their mathematical concepts which are relevant for this course. Thank You very Much, Coursera for providing me financial assistance. I guess without the financial assistance, it would have been hard for me to enrol to this course because I earn very modest from my current job. Thank You Very Much Coursera and Andrew Sir.

By Josh F

Nov 25, 2017

Excellent course. I have no background in math (save for a good understanding of linear regression) but professor NG's teaching is so good I was able to follow along quite well. I knew I would eventually be working in python, so I personally elected to forego the assignments in matlab/octave and found a resource online that had all of the finished assignments in python which I simply studied and commented until I understood them. I would recommend this approach if you are simply interested in getting up an running quickly and know you will be using python. I would also recommend watching the videos at 2x speed to save time.

The only criticism that would be possible to levy would be that he did not go deep enough into the math in some areas but on the other hand, I may have been lost if he had. I was really appreciative that he was encouraging enough to say "it's ok if you don't fully understand the math, it will work regardless". Solid course, absolutely amazing,

By Kai C

Feb 10, 2021

I LOVED THIS COURSE. SO. FRICKING. MUCH. Professor Ng is very thorough and obviously cares a lot about what he's teaching. I feel like I have a really solid foundation in the concepts of Machine Learning after taking this course, and I would highly recommend it to anyone else interested in it.

A word of advice to prospective students -- linear algebra is your friend, and 3Blue1Brown on YouTube's Essence of Linear Algebra playlist is of near infinite value as a companion to Professor Ng's instruction.

This is definitely a course where you get out what you put in. If you're willing to work through the quizzes and maybe take out a paper and pencil to diagram out some of the matrix math, as well as grind out the programming exercises, you can learn a LOT. Professor Ng is one of the leading experts on Machine Learning in the entire world, and the fact that I can learn about this field from him for FREE is absolutely incredible. So thankful to have taken this course.

By Tianhong Y

Nov 23, 2016

Prof. Ng is such a good teacher that he explains things in a proper way to make you understand.

He has a profound understanding of the details and derivations behind the knowledge and conclusions. If you have a relative background, you would have a chance to think about the knowledge in a deep way. If not, you can still get the main idea and be able to use it, and you know what is lack and where to learn it.

Overall the lecture notes and videos, the quiz and assignments are all good, full of thought about how to make students follow the course and understand better, as well as exercising with real applications.

I didn't realize that the machine learning course was the first one on Coursera and Prof. Ng is the founder of this wonderful platform, until toward the end of the course. No wonder the quality of this course is so good. I learned a lot and would recommend it to anyone with a good math or physics background and want to learn Machine Learning seriously.

By Daniel A R

May 1, 2017

As this course is rated, and according to the lots of opinions written about this course, I can only add a new congratulations remark to their creators. Andrew Ng is not only a genius who masters all the contents, he is also really didactic and teaching. Andrew is able to boil the more complex concepts (e.g.: neural networks) in simple explanations with very illustrative material and an updated approach to real examples and use cases like (autonomous drive or Photo OCR and text recognition).

I would like to thank you the great support provided by Tom Mosher in the Discussion Forum (this is one of best forums I've checked in the different MOOCs and the main reason is the fantastic work done by Tom who gives quick and intelligent answers focused on making you think and learn about the questions or doubts you ask).

I think this course is a must for all those who are into data engineering, data processing and especially Machine learning or Artificial intelligence.

By Bob H

Nov 8, 2018

Excellent course, Professor Ng teaching approach works very well for complicated but fascinating subject. I always found his lectures to be clear and concise regardless of the difficulty of the material. I also found the programming assignments to be a valuable tool to enhance understanding of the material.

At the conclusion of the course I feel I have an excellent grasp of the topics that were presented in this course. I have found additional materials on the internet (e.g. course syllabus from CS 229 that Professor Ng teaches) such as papers and books covering aspects of Machine Learning. I am now equipped to continue my learning using more advanced material. I am now rereading the Master Algorithm by Professor Domingos and I find that I now have a improved comprehension of the material presented in the book.

The only thing I could wish for is additional material and assignments for other learning approaches, e.g. Markov Chains, Naïve Bayes etc.

Thank you!

By int s

Oct 22, 2019

I learned a lot from this course. I recommend any beginner (like me) or a professional in this field may try this course, because

1. I have learned types of mathematical learning

2. I have learned how to prepare myself to proceed step by step to solve an ML problem in future, instead of just jump into the problem and try to solve

3. Not less not heavy but Andrew has shown me the actual mathetics behind the algorithms.

4. I have learned to find a bug in a model and how to approach it to debug the same. Those parts are the best parts of this course I have enjoyed.

6. I learned how to decide the hypothesis, how decide the polynomials, how to decide parameters, how to decide threshold value (instead of guessing[Classification Problems]), how to choose and/or synthesis features and many more.

5. The last thing I should mention, Andrew taught me how to evaluate an algorithm with a simple number(real number) whether it is working fine or not.

Thank you Mr. Andrew Ng