Chevron Left
Back to Music Business Foundations

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Music Business Foundations by Berklee College of Music

4.9
stars
2,081 ratings
547 reviews

About the Course

This course has been developed to provide students with the latest instruction on the best way for creators, consumers, and facilitators to navigate the resurgence of one of the world’s most exciting industries: the music business. Three things are clear about today’s music industry: The consumption of music is expanding at the greatest rate in history and from the most portals ever imagined, the cost of producing music is decreasing, and the number of artists creating and seeking to expose their work and develop careers through the Internet has increased dramatically. Whether you’re a music creator, consumer, or facilitator of this process, you’ll want to understand the history, underpinnings, and basics of the music business. Course author John Kellogg—administrator, educator, entertainment lawyer, performer, and radio and television personality—offers students the opportunity to learn the fundamental principles of the developing new music business, for now and into the future. What you'll learn: -- The basic history of the music industry and today's business trends -- How recording agreements are formulated -- The basics of copyright law as it pertains to the music business -- The role of agents, managers, attorneys, and specific business entities...

Top reviews

BD
Oct 22, 2017

This course was very useful and important to me, I plan on venturing in the music world very soon and knowing/ equipping myself with all of these will come in pretty handy for me. Thank you immensely.

DK
Feb 21, 2016

I advise this great course to everybody who wants to learn more about music industry in general, music business principles and tricks, including all types of agreements and principal actors.

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 534 Reviews for Music Business Foundations

By George B

Jan 2, 2021

A bit focused on American regulations, however all in all a solid course about Music Business as a whole.

By Yann B

Oct 9, 2020

Might go a bit more in depth, but as an intro course, has the essentials and practical tips, really good.

By LEONARDO S

Jun 23, 2017

se necesita traducción al español por cierta terminología que hace mas difícil el aprendizaje

By Troy Z C

Jan 9, 2016

Very intellectually stimulating, practical yet easy to understand for beginners in this area.

By Aditya P

Feb 20, 2020

The course taught me a lot about Music and the business that goes around in producing it.

By Rebekah C

Oct 8, 2015

It is a very good course so far. Thank you so much for the opportunity to take it. (:

By Reinaldo H O

Jan 30, 2016

Excellent course, you get amazing information and valuable guidelines for free!

By Felicia O C

Jan 12, 2017

Excelente curso, cumplio con mis expectativas, lo recomiendo ampliamente.

By Odebunmi E O

May 6, 2020

this course is very educating, I am really happy I took this course

By Carlos B

Nov 16, 2015

Very good! Really help me understand the music market better! =)

By Bolun Z

Nov 1, 2015

It's a nice course! It'd be better if more caption is available.

By Claudris T C c

Jul 14, 2020

This Course is really an eye-opener in the Music Business.

By Nicolás R G

Aug 25, 2020

Esta algo desactualizado pero es definitivamente muy útil

By 金玲

May 3, 2020

it offers a basic understanding of the music industry

By César G S

Jul 23, 2016

Interesting, could be more didactic next time. Props.

By Jonathan G

Jan 10, 2018

interesting. I learned a lot in this course.

By Lau J

Jun 11, 2020

A little outdated but really nformative!

By Alex B

Feb 26, 2018

Excelente para principiantes en el tema

By MILASH H

Oct 20, 2020

Excellent course for future musicians

By Akhil B

May 23, 2020

was a good learning experience

By William J I

Sep 5, 2017

Do I receive a letter grade?

By felipe

Oct 27, 2018

Give a notion of everything

By jean p n

Oct 29, 2020

i love it thank u for info

By Gerdus L

Mar 13, 2019

I don't give full marks

By Ajayi J J

Sep 28, 2015

Insightful