Chevron Left
Back to Music Business Foundations

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Music Business Foundations by Berklee College of Music

4.9
stars
1,966 ratings
512 reviews

About the Course

This course has been developed to provide students with the latest instruction on the best way for creators, consumers, and facilitators to navigate the resurgence of one of the world’s most exciting industries: the music business. Three things are clear about today’s music industry: The consumption of music is expanding at the greatest rate in history and from the most portals ever imagined, the cost of producing music is decreasing, and the number of artists creating and seeking to expose their work and develop careers through the Internet has increased dramatically. Whether you’re a music creator, consumer, or facilitator of this process, you’ll want to understand the history, underpinnings, and basics of the music business. Course author John Kellogg—administrator, educator, entertainment lawyer, performer, and radio and television personality—offers students the opportunity to learn the fundamental principles of the developing new music business, for now and into the future. What you'll learn: -- The basic history of the music industry and today's business trends -- How recording agreements are formulated -- The basics of copyright law as it pertains to the music business -- The role of agents, managers, attorneys, and specific business entities...

Top reviews

BD
Oct 22, 2017

This course was very useful and important to me, I plan on venturing in the music world very soon and knowing/ equipping myself with all of these will come in pretty handy for me. Thank you immensely.

DK
Feb 21, 2016

I advise this great course to everybody who wants to learn more about music industry in general, music business principles and tricks, including all types of agreements and principal actors.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 497 Reviews for Music Business Foundations

By Ricardo N M

Jun 8, 2020

I loved all the topics on this course, Mr. Kellogg is a great teacher and I'm looking forward to have a real life class with him someday.

By Dr. B N (

Oct 29, 2015

Great course for those interested in the inner workings of the music business. I highly recommend this course to all serious musicians.

By Izabella K

Jun 12, 2016

I wish this course never ended! A lot of important information and inspiration to work hard on my artists and mine career! Thank you!

By maeva t

Aug 6, 2020

Some content should be updated but, it was a very interesting course overall with insights, real-life experiences, and applications.

By Jason P

Nov 1, 2015

Excellent instructor. Information presented very clearly with illustrative case studies and anecdotes. Very practical information.

By Nicolas M G

Jul 10, 2020

Easy to understand , very complete and challenging for an introduction course , something that helps to focus and understand better

By AADIL K

Jun 24, 2020

Basic Understanding of music business was understood from this course. The instructor was very engaging and the content was great.

By Adrián S P

Feb 8, 2016

Amazing course with a great techaer and a great value for any musician or producer trying to get involved into the music business.

By fahim z

Nov 9, 2015

Great Overview for anyone interested in the Music Industry & all artists trying to derive income from their intellectual property.

By Pierina N S

Oct 12, 2015

Es un curso excelente! Súper clara la información, siempre con ejemplos y es perfecta para los que somos nuevos en esta industria.

By Jessica R L A

Sep 29, 2020

I really learned a lot about the music business, the teacher is very clear when he explains the concepts, I recommend it a lot.

By Mochammad I K

Jun 13, 2016

This course provide great insights of the music industry. Recommended for everyone who look forward to dive into the industry.

By Paola L

Nov 28, 2020

Incredible Course! Outstanding level of teaching, very clear and engaging material - great introduction to the Music Industry

By Jorge M C

Sep 30, 2020

Muy feliz de haber culminado un curso del que estuve muy ansioso por cursar y que supero por mucho las expectativas que tenía

By Mingyu J

Oct 17, 2015

It was really nice course. Hopefully there is more intense course about Music Business or basic course about Music Marketing!

By yogyta k

Aug 29, 2020

very informative and informative and enrenching!! john kellogg is just wonderful and makes learning so fun and interesting.

By Felix D J

Jul 23, 2020

John is a great instructor. He has a clear passion for teaching. He makes the coursework interesting and easy to understand.

By Karen B

Jun 8, 2020

Was very insightful and gave a great introductory view to many business facets of the the music industry. Thanks so much!

By Youchun N

Oct 6, 2018

The video and audio quality is excellent. The professor's style of lecturing is both professional and easy for understand.

By Hansel R Z L

Oct 30, 2020

muy bueno me gusto, expando mi conocimiento. absorvo como una espoja mirame mirame como absorvo conocimiento gaaaaaaaaaaa

By Hemanth R J

Jun 7, 2020

Very practical and detailed study of how the industry works. Sir's way of explaining things makes stuff very interesting.

By Kingsley V

Aug 28, 2017

Its an excellent foundation course & was very helpful. Happy with Mr. John P. Kellogg teaching. He is an amazing faculty.

By E. W

Mar 9, 2017

In depth and informative. Allows you to progress at your own pace. Very much enjoyed this class, looking forward to more.

By Martha

Aug 2, 2020

No geral, voltado para o mercado dos Estados Unidos, porém dá para tirar bons ensinamentos para o mercado Sul Americano.

By Gabriel S T

May 6, 2020

Really good course, it's smooth and just the perfect scope to understand part of the big industry behind Music Business