Chevron Left
Back to Music Business Foundations

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Music Business Foundations by Berklee College of Music

4.9
stars
2,201 ratings
584 reviews

About the Course

This course has been developed to provide students with the latest instruction on the best way for creators, consumers, and facilitators to navigate the resurgence of one of the world’s most exciting industries: the music business. Three things are clear about today’s music industry: The consumption of music is expanding at the greatest rate in history and from the most portals ever imagined, the cost of producing music is decreasing, and the number of artists creating and seeking to expose their work and develop careers through the Internet has increased dramatically. Whether you’re a music creator, consumer, or facilitator of this process, you’ll want to understand the history, underpinnings, and basics of the music business. Course author John Kellogg—administrator, educator, entertainment lawyer, performer, and radio and television personality—offers students the opportunity to learn the fundamental principles of the developing new music business, for now and into the future. What you'll learn: -- The basic history of the music industry and today's business trends -- How recording agreements are formulated -- The basics of copyright law as it pertains to the music business -- The role of agents, managers, attorneys, and specific business entities...

Top reviews

BD
Oct 22, 2017

This course was very useful and important to me, I plan on venturing in the music world very soon and knowing/ equipping myself with all of these will come in pretty handy for me. Thank you immensely.

DK
Feb 21, 2016

I advise this great course to everybody who wants to learn more about music industry in general, music business principles and tricks, including all types of agreements and principal actors.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 569 Reviews for Music Business Foundations

By Samuel T B

Mar 10, 2021

Un curso sumamente interesante, muy bien explicado y con las bases necesarias para empezar a explorar tu musicalidad, lo recomiendo ampliamente!!!!

By Raul B G

Dec 23, 2015

Un curso excepcional para hacerse con una radiografía general de lo que fue, es y será la industria musical. El profesor es genial. Le pongo un 10.

By Asha M M

Jan 19, 2021

Fantastic course! I love that the basics were covered in a way that didn't feel too overwhelming with information - thank you so much Mr. Kellogg!

By Callum P

Apr 19, 2021

Very informative and intriguing, especially helpful if you want to avoid the various trappings of the music industry and excel at the conventions

By Jeffrey T N

Jun 29, 2020

Great course. Delivered well and very thorough. Material geared primarily towards performing artist but does cover all the other jobs involved.

By Bruna D

May 1, 2020

Loved it! Very well put! It really gives you a great perspective on before and now when it comes to the music business and all important aspects.

By Carlos C V

Oct 1, 2015

Me encantó, aprendí muchas cosas nuevas sobre el negocio de la música. Me gustaría seguir aprendiendo sobre éste tema tan interesante. ¡Gracias!

By Alonso P M

Jul 20, 2020

This course is amazing! I learned everything that I wanted to know about Music Business and the information is complete and easy to understand.

By Lesley E M

Dec 25, 2016

This was a great course taught by a bright and engaging professor. I enjoyed his stories about the business and learned much from this course.

By Sergio D R C

Oct 31, 2020

I really enjoyed this course, the way kellogg explains the music industry is clear and understandable. I really recommend to take this course.

By reynaldo

Jan 23, 2018

excelente y muy completo, realmente te abre los ojos, si es que quieres dedicarte a la música, una excelente guia para saber cual es el camino

By Harsha S

Nov 5, 2015

The instructor was absolutely fantastic, clear, articulate and knowledgeable. Course material was well paced and adequate. Really enjoyed it.

By Alex W

Dec 26, 2020

This course is the most eye opening course in the Music Business and industry. The lectures are enjoyable and insightful. Thanks to Mr. John

By Anastasia S

Mar 13, 2021

for someone who don't really have much knowledge about business, I actually learning a lot in here

I really enjoying the lessons, thank you

By Joshua M

Oct 29, 2015

Dr. John Kellogg - You're simply the best! Had a great learning experience! God Bless! Thank you Berklee and Coursera for the opportunity!

By Ricardo N M

Jun 8, 2020

I loved all the topics on this course, Mr. Kellogg is a great teacher and I'm looking forward to have a real life class with him someday.

By Ben N

Oct 29, 2015

Great course for those interested in the inner workings of the music business. I highly recommend this course to all serious musicians.

By Izabella K

Jun 12, 2016

I wish this course never ended! A lot of important information and inspiration to work hard on my artists and mine career! Thank you!

By maëva t

Aug 6, 2020

Some content should be updated but, it was a very interesting course overall with insights, real-life experiences, and applications.

By Jason P

Nov 1, 2015

Excellent instructor. Information presented very clearly with illustrative case studies and anecdotes. Very practical information.

By Nicolas M G

Jul 10, 2020

Easy to understand , very complete and challenging for an introduction course , something that helps to focus and understand better

By AADIL K

Jun 24, 2020

Basic Understanding of music business was understood from this course. The instructor was very engaging and the content was great.

By Adrián S P

Feb 8, 2016

Amazing course with a great techaer and a great value for any musician or producer trying to get involved into the music business.

By Fahimuz Z

Nov 9, 2015

Great Overview for anyone interested in the Music Industry & all artists trying to derive income from their intellectual property.

By Pierina N S

Oct 12, 2015

Es un curso excelente! Súper clara la información, siempre con ejemplos y es perfecta para los que somos nuevos en esta industria.