Chevron Left
Back to Building Your Career in Music: Developing A Brand and Funding Your Music

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Building Your Career in Music: Developing A Brand and Funding Your Music by Berklee College of Music

4.5
stars
309 ratings
67 reviews

About the Course

This course shares practical tips and strategies to help you take your first step into launching your career as a musical artist. We’ll cover everything from developing your unique identity as an artist and how to lead a band all the way to planning and recording your first independent record with the help of crowdfunding. The course curriculum is modeled from the real-world experience of Leah Waldo (also known as the emerging country artist, Elisa Smith) and features interviews with industry executives, artists, producers, and engineers — all designed to help you navigate the music industry....

Top reviews

AM

Jul 17, 2020

This course is really helpful for those who want to build a career in music or want to build a band and managing them. Great Class, simple concepts, and connecting it all to your dream.

ZV

Mar 21, 2018

Are you missing pieces in your music business understanding? Eliza does a fantastic job of breaking it down to simple concepts, and connecting it all to your dream.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 65 Reviews for Building Your Career in Music: Developing A Brand and Funding Your Music

By Brenda C T

Aug 17, 2020

It really give you an entire vision of how to develop yourself as an artist.

By Alejandra H F ( F

Dec 27, 2019

Thanks for all information, its very important for me and my dreams

By Dawson R

May 24, 2019

Great course to stimulate healthy thinking for an upcoming artist !

By Carla P

Jun 10, 2020

Great course! Very useful, inspiring and well structured!

By Marcelo E

Mar 04, 2020

Excellent course! So much valuable knowledge learned.

By henry j c g

Aug 06, 2019

PARA MI ES UNO DE LOS MEJORES CURSOS DE BERKLEE.

By Mario A A S

Dec 24, 2019

Awesome! Every musician should take it!

By Josue P

Jan 18, 2020

Awesome course! very important info.

By Vincent W

Feb 16, 2019

Good luck on your career!

By Lauren H

Nov 29, 2017

Extremely helpful.

By Félix C

May 25, 2020

EXCELENTE CURSO!

By Mauricio G Z

Jul 01, 2020

Just Love it!

By Maria P D

May 02, 2020

Amazing!!

By Favour I

Apr 18, 2020

Excellent

By Eddie S

Apr 22, 2019

very good

By DHIVYA M

Sep 03, 2020

great

By Nagappan R

Aug 27, 2020

Good

By Brett M H

Aug 14, 2018

I really love this course and think Leah Waldo's perspective as a musician is vital to understanding how to navigate the music business. I feel like this is part of Course 4 mixed with an actual musician's experience and guidance. It was really nice to feel like Leah understood that everything she was teaching was just a reflection of herself and her own experiences. I really appreciated this course even though she is a country music performer and I create beats - I felt like she cut through a lot of the crap that I might face as just a random student/musician in this course. As a producer, I felt like I was able to learn so much valuable information about how I need to navigate the music business even though I might be unaccustomed to that point of view. It made me think differently, and also allowed me to connect with a different genre of music. Leah was really good at emphasizing that the IVI is important to an artist and I think that translates to anyone trying to do something creative so it was one lesson that I pulled out of the whole course and can apply to almost anything creative. Learning about networking was also vital in teaching me about how I can extend my social sphere and try to reach out to my audience on a small and larger level.

By Andrew A

Apr 09, 2020

It was ok. Good to get some practice to help students I teach. The final project asks you to pick one component in the initial description, then expects you have done all components after you have submitted the project... so that was less good. This course is done from the perspective of an artist, with only industry people the artist has worked with being brought in. If you want the industry insider (producer, marketer, social media expert) experience, this is not it.

By James N

Jun 22, 2020

This is useful for those who need guidance on artist identity and vision and is new to the process of recording, collaborating, producers, setting article goals and the business side of working as an artist. This doesn't go massively into the detail one would want from a more experienced angle, but I enjoyed this reliably less-intensive Berklee course.

By Elena T

Aug 26, 2020

As a Marketing student, I have to admit that I really liked this course.

It gave me a clearer idea of the music industry and suggestions from a Marketing perspective on how to promote an artist!

By Jeffrey T N

Jul 10, 2020

Very good material for singer/songwriter with a small band wanting to make their first recording, or a budding artist planning to put something together.

By LeAttol ( E L

Jan 08, 2018

This course seems silly at first But it's an eye opener, Especially to the idea that the business seems a bit off kilter and over enthusiastic

By Dan C

Jul 27, 2018

This is a good course. I really appreciated used her personal experience as a living case study to teach and demonstrate the material.

By Abu S M F

Jun 15, 2020

You get to know a lot about crowdfunding, would like more in-depth methods and mechanics