Chevron Left
Back to Building Your Career in Music: Developing A Brand and Funding Your Music

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Building Your Career in Music: Developing A Brand and Funding Your Music by Berklee

4.4
stars
475 ratings

About the Course

This course shares practical tips and strategies to help you take your first step into launching your career as a musical artist. We’ll cover everything from developing your unique identity as an artist and how to lead a band all the way to planning and recording your first independent record with the help of crowdfunding. The course curriculum is modeled from the real-world experience of Leah Waldo (also known as the emerging country artist, Elisa Smith) and features interviews with industry executives, artists, producers, and engineers — all designed to help you navigate the music industry....

Top reviews

RE

Invalid date

This course seems silly at first But it's an eye opener, Especially to the idea that the business seems a bit off kilter and over enthusiastic

MM

Invalid date

Gives you a pathway to better your band and marketing skills and make a good impression to your audience and potential clients.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 104 Reviews for Building Your Career in Music: Developing A Brand and Funding Your Music

By Elena T

Aug 26, 2020

As a Marketing student, I have to admit that I really liked this course.

It gave me a clearer idea of the music industry and suggestions from a Marketing perspective on how to promote an artist!

By Jeffrey T N

Jul 9, 2020

Very good material for singer/songwriter with a small band wanting to make their first recording, or a budding artist planning to put something together.

By Robert J B E

Jan 8, 2018

This course seems silly at first But it's an eye opener, Especially to the idea that the business seems a bit off kilter and over enthusiastic

By Dan C

Jul 27, 2018

This is a good course. I really appreciated used her personal experience as a living case study to teach and demonstrate the material.

By jan c w

Mar 16, 2021

Very informative and easy to follow, learned great tips that i was not aware of, so as to make my career to the next level

By Isabella C

Feb 5, 2024

It was a good insight on the challenges that a musician could face and how to solve them

By Abu S M F

Jun 15, 2020

You get to know a lot about crowdfunding, would like more in-depth methods and mechanics

By Toby M

Feb 25, 2023

Some interesting stuff, but a bit fluffy and quite out-dated now.

By James c

Jul 30, 2020

Informative and good advice. Thanks alot

By Alfonso V

Jan 11, 2022

Very, very basic.

By AADIL K

Jul 1, 2020

Great course

By OM

Jan 1, 2024

Some decent information, a lot of it is dated to the point where some of the suggested companies don’t exist. Also, crowdfunding in general can be greatly influenced by your network and the available resources in that network. If you don’t have a fast network or marketing skills, it’s not realistic to fund your projects or career as the music industry require great amounts of start up capital.

By Rohit V R

Jul 29, 2020

Instead of making me sit through Q&A sessions, I felt that these sessions could be used as research for the instructor and put forward to me as a more comprehensive maybe point wise instructions on what I need to do so I can make better note of things.

By Karel P

Aug 30, 2020

Creo que el curso tiene algunos conceptos desactualizados y otros muy personales. Por ejemplo, existen muchos casos de éxito de artistas cuyos ingresos dependen solo del streaming.

By Adam G

Mar 10, 2021

This Course gave you a good base of knowledge, but some of it is outdated for today. Also, many of the topics are common sense with a few good pieces of info thrown in.

By Elihú R M

Jan 22, 2019

Esta bueno el curso; sin embargo, tiene algunos errores como la entrega final.

By Andrés F G

Jul 8, 2020

Its cool, but I would like that the instructor already have more trayectory

By Leonardo R

Oct 22, 2020

Good... but basic, not updated and not deep

By Juan C C L

Sep 18, 2020

Good intention, good vibe. Nice try.

By Eileen

May 20, 2020

This course is good for someone who is just starting out in their artist journey and is geared for someone who is a vocalist who is also a band leader. The budgeting and networking tips are very rudimentary and could have been left out, in my opinion, in place of more artist-relevant things - there are much better resources out there for learning these skills. The thesis in the first week about not seeing the "business" side of your artistic endeavors as a chore that is separate from your creative side as well as making sure you have a cohesive "elevator pitch" that shows your identity, vision and intention was good. Unfortunately, it was all downhill from there.

By Jakub C

Apr 10, 2024

The worst from Berklee courses so far. I didn't like that in order to get a key info, you needed to hear for a long long time and analyse the lecturers feministic point of view.

By ASHNA G

Jul 5, 2020

Good course i wish it should have social media tips to build brand in music instagram

By Mohammad K H

Jun 2, 2020

The full course is boring,.The total course is based and focused on the lecturar.

By Daniela Z Q

Sep 28, 2020

DO NOT, please DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME (& MONEY) IN THIS COURSE. IT'S OUTDATED and BORING. The instructor just talks about her band ALL THE TIME, and is not even a big or a good band, they have barely 8 listeners per month on Spotify. So how can you trust her? She also talks about growing your fan base by asking people for their email to make email lists..... really??? is 2020 not 2008. This course does not teach you anything you can't google and I'm pretty sure you could get better results and ideas there, or watching youtube videos.

By Kaitlyn C

Apr 27, 2020

I'm taking the Music Business Specialization to learn more about the music industry and hopefully get information on artist management. This course is for musicians or bands and the prompts and final project focus directly on what to do as an artist. I found it very difficult to take this course and to answer the discussion questions not being a musician.