Chevron Left
Back to Object Oriented Programming in Java

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Object Oriented Programming in Java by University of California San Diego

4.7
stars
5,130 ratings
1,300 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to our course on Object Oriented Programming in Java using data visualization. People come to this course with many different goals -- and we are really excited to work with all of you! Some of you want to be professional software developers, others want to improve your programming skills to implement that cool personal project that you’ve been thinking about, while others of you might not yet know why you’re here and are trying to figure out what this course is all about. This is an intermediate Java course. We recommend this course to learners who have previous experience in software development or a background in computer science. Our goal is that by the end of this course each and every one of you feels empowered to create a Java program that’s more advanced than any you have created in the past and that is personally interesting to you. In achieving this goal you will also learn the fundamentals of Object Oriented Programming, how to leverage the power of existing libraries, how to build graphical user interfaces, and how to use some core algorithms for searching and sorting data. And this course is project-based, so we’ll dive right into the project immediately! We are excited to be offering a unique course structure, designed to support learners of different backgrounds in succeeding at their own pace. The first module explains how this will work and if this course is right for you. We also recommend taking a few minutes to explore the course site. A good place to start is the navigation bar on the left. Click Course Content to see what material we’ll cover each week, as well preview the assignments you’ll need to complete to pass the course. Click Discussions to see forums where you can discuss the course material with fellow students taking the class. Be sure to introduce yourself to everyone in the Meet and Greet forum. This course should take about 6 weeks to complete. You can check out the recommended course schedule below to see a quick overview of the lessons and assignments you’ll complete each week. We’re excited you’re here learning with us. Let’s get started!...

Top reviews

DB
Oct 12, 2017

Great into to Java, instructors have clearly put thought in to the format with the choose your own learning style videos, and additional coverage where it may be needed. These have been very helpful.

LR
Oct 13, 2015

I loved this course! The course videos and the projects sharpened my idea about some of the toughest concepts of Java and OOP. I recommend this course to anyone interested in learning OOP in Java. ☺

Filter by:

1076 - 1100 of 1,276 Reviews for Object Oriented Programming in Java

By Derek S

Jul 30, 2018

some of the concepts can get lost in the complexity of implementing the rewritten code. But otherwise a very good course.

By Marcus S

May 19, 2016

This is a solid course. The videos are a bit low quality, and the API's used are sorta derpy, but the content is good.

By Rohit P

Dec 21, 2015

Well taken by the teachers. The bugs in the review system are the only problems I faced.Hope they get rectified soon.

By Jiayi S

Jan 25, 2019

Overall it's a good course. However I do wish that the end of module assignment is more relative to the lectures...

By Felix V B

Feb 29, 2016

Quite basic and sometimes a little slow for coders with some experience, but well-structured and very interesting.

By Alaa k

Feb 3, 2016

A very well constructed materials provide deep understanding of the OOP core concepts.

Do not hesitate enrolling.

By Kartheek C

Jan 14, 2020

Great experience and a lot of motivation to carry forward with the rest of the courses in the specialization.

By CYRIL S D

Jul 23, 2020

This course was very interesting. I have learned many new things in java. Very good instructors. Thank you.

By Apoorv G

Aug 22, 2020

I already knew java, but this course helped me to have deeper and concrete understanding of java concepts.

By Patrick M

Feb 22, 2016

Good course, but a few loose ends that could be tightened up. Definitely helped with my rusty java skills.

By Arun K S

Jun 21, 2016

Good.

Project need to be has less dependency considering the offline users and limited machine capability.

By Ryan C

Apr 13, 2016

Very good course. Much more challenging than I expected. Definitely helped me become a better programmer.

By Pavel Z

Jan 25, 2019

Really good, but just not perfect. Dry theory, interesting assignments and solid knowledge at the end.

By Pradyumna R

Jan 19, 2016

A little more about interfaces and abstract classes should be added to understand the concepts better

By 佐藤淳一

May 17, 2021

I like it to learn how to allocate memory for objects. I understand mechanism of programming deeply.

By Williams E F R

Oct 9, 2015

For all who want to understand object-oriented programming this is the course that should be taken.

By Soumyarup B

Jun 4, 2016

A good course and beautiful lectures. But the programming assignments should be little more tough.

By BIll

Sep 20, 2017

the course is well-organized and well-prepared. It is better to add the programming design module

By zerk s

Jun 2, 2016

Excellent Professors the way the concepts were delivered was superb got the chance to learn alot.

By Christopher H

Apr 17, 2021

Lectures were very informative and helpful. The project at times seemed unnecessarily complex.

By Zoran H

Dec 7, 2015

It is very useful, especially the example framework they have with the maps and worldbank data

By Tony M

Mar 30, 2017

Good course. Lectures clear and concise. Programming exercises interesting and challenging.

By Atanu P

May 10, 2020

Really vry helpful course and enough to clear your all doubts and improve your skills.

By Abhishek S

Dec 4, 2019

This course was very helpful for learning oops concepts by the the help of a project.

By Jongchan K

Dec 13, 2017

This course was very hard to me. However, I managed to pass it. I am proud of myself!