Chevron Left
Back to Positive Psychology: Resilience Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Positive Psychology: Resilience Skills by University of Pennsylvania

4.9
stars
2,077 ratings

About the Course

Learn how to incorporate resilience interventions into your personal and professional life with Dr. Karen Reivich. In this course, you are exposed to the foundational research in resilience, including protective factors such as mental agility and optimism. Several types of resilience interventions are explored including cognitive strategies; strategies to manage anxiety and increase positive emotions such as gratitude; and a critical relationship enhancement skill. Throughout the course, you will hear examples of individuals using resilience skills in their personal and professional lives. Suggested prerequisites: Positive Psychology: Martin E. P. Seligman’s Visionary Science, Positive Psychology: Applications and Interventions and Positive Psychology: Character, Grit & Research Methods....

Top reviews

NE

Apr 18, 2020

I truly felt like I was in a classroom learning all the material! I greatly appreciated all of the real-world applications and hearing all of the different perspectives throughout each week and topic!

ZM

Sep 23, 2018

Excellent! There was some common sense here, but plenty of new data and tools anyone can use in both their personal and professional life. A must for every human who wants to get the most out of life.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 713 Reviews for Positive Psychology: Resilience Skills

By Emilia D

Sep 21, 2022

Absolutely fantastic course! Made me more aware of myself, my key strengths, I learned a lot about the science of resilience, gratitude, optimism, and anxiety. I especially liked Module 2 where we learned about thinking traps and how to combat them and Module 4 where I learned how to make stronger relationships with people by being a "joy multiplier". Truly inspirational and life-changing content, thank you!

By Juan C M

Jul 15, 2020

Karen was engaging as a speaker -and her passion and authenticity with the subject and her life really drew me in, and gave me additional buy in to the value of this course and of her research and all of the amazing research being done around the scope of Resilience and Positive Psychology. I enjoyed how various mediums were brought it and the encouragement to interact with others. It was awesome!

By Mark P

Feb 12, 2020

This course was better than I had expected. The material dealing with interpersonal relationships gave me many insights about my personal communication style that I was not aware of. Naturally, improving personal relationships is an important component of increasing resilience. Dr. Reivich did a wonderful job of preparing and presenting this course. I'll add this course to my Gratitude Journal

By César A O

Oct 2, 2019

This is a very interesting and useful course. It makes you understand how our mind works and how it can be oriented to overcome adversity and also to have a more kind relationship without ourselves, the people around us and the world we live in to in the end live more joyful lives. It also teaches you strategies and gives you resources to keep you positive and to deal with stress successfully.

By Julie L

Aug 9, 2019

I really enjoyed being able to do this on line course from anywhere in the world and at my own pace - which was pretty quick as I am taking a break in Colorado and had this course as my learning goal for August :) I liked the blended approach of learning - content- case studies- reading , quizzes-worksheets-role play and to be able to go back to modules as and when I wanted. THANK YOU !

By Marcos M C

Jan 11, 2018

Excellent 100% +++, Karen has done an excellent job in sharing her knowledge through this course. And as she mentions, it is time to put into practice all these tools in daily life, personally and professionally. Being resilient is the basis of being able to become changes and be happy in life. Thanks, Karen we will stay in touch and be able to become my mentor in this Resilience skills.

By Nithya K

Jun 19, 2020

This course was amazing. I was interested in this field before this MOOC and now I feel even more energized by the teachings. It was amazing to learn about how we can take an active role in our lives through thoughtful self-reflection and by making conscious choices. This MOOC helped teach me specific and effective tools to develop our resilience and create more joy. Highly recommend!!

By Smruti M

Jan 7, 2019

I have studied resilience via other online courses and other means as well. However, this course outlines and elaborates on all different points of views related to resilience. Moreover, I found that the course not only delves into research-based arguments to prove a point, but also suggests actionable points for various set-ups like home, relationships, work-place, schools and others.

By Sarah P

May 11, 2022

Exceptional course! Loved the presentation, the way to save notes, the interaction. But most of all, I very much valued everything I absorbed from this course. You can use this in all moments and careers of your life. HIGHLY RECOMMEND especially if you are on that downward spiral of negativity and being upset all the time like I was beginning to embark upon.

By Betsy W M

Dec 12, 2017

This was an incredible course. Karen, bravo! You are an incredible voice on resilience, a fabulous speaker and should market resilience in a bottle. Your ability to teach is incredible. Of the many folks who appeared in the modules, each added value to this topic. I have walked away with much thought and hope to continue to do so. Thank you so much. Betsy Marple

By Alan P

Jun 30, 2017

Such a good course. I have found a great deal of benefit from completing this course. Dr Reivich is inspirational in her knowledge, intellect, wisdom and humility. Her ability to discuss evidence based research and to make the findings of this research real is exceptional. I hope one day to visit Penn and participate in the PRP. That would be exceptional.

By Briony L

Sep 3, 2017

Wonderfully presented - its so clear that Karen Reivich loves her subject and is a talented educator. I have learned so much that I can apply in my life as well as use to deepen my coaching practice.

Karen thank you for you work in putting together this MOOC. It's my first time studying anything on Coursera and this was an immensely positive experience!

By Ayesha K

Jul 7, 2019

Of all the positive psychology courses offered via Coursera, I think this one was my favorite. The information, the examples, the exercises, and the action suggestions were all interesting and really got me thinking about how I can better think, speak, and behave in a way that can improve my own life and have a more positive impact on those around me.

By Leow W

Dec 17, 2022

I like how Dr. Karen brought with her insights, experiences and knowledge to her teaching that made the learning so enjoyable and informative! Not forgetting her team of colleagues and her older son in the role play that made connections to the concepts much easier for understanding.

Great job, Dr. Karen and all involved in this meaningful project!

By Jonathan B

Oct 1, 2020

This was the third course in positive psychology I have taken. For myself, it was the most engaging, because of Karen's presentation and her ability to communicate in a personal way. I also loved The Science of Wellbeing, but as it was my first class, I was not really prepared to really commit to it in a serious way. I may very well take it again.

By Yamile O H

Feb 14, 2021

It was really a pleasure to take this course, we had already seen several of the topics in the previous moocs, however now they are much clearer, I loved all the examples and the interviews

I really take valuable tools for my professional training and to teach it to my students and also for my personal life, Karen is excellent !!! Many thanks!!!

By Osamu A

Oct 18, 2019

I enjoyed the interviews where people shared how they overcame adversities. Most memorable was a mother who was grieving the sudden death of her son. Hers was a powerful story of how ordinary people can manage even the extreme adversities. Her story put challenges I face into context and will help me find joy in overcoming future challenges.

By Christine P

Mar 11, 2022

Especially important for victims of Narcissistic Abuse that have suffered long term. Assists in the processes of healing and coping. Useful in the Domiestic Violence ARENA, teaches healthy interactions that are so needed and wanted. I highly suggest the Positive Psycology Courses for all those working within the emotional healing sectors.

By Xavier L

May 4, 2020

Positive Psychology: Resilience Skills integrates the theory behind flourishing into the application of scientifically-proven interventions that promote resilience. This course encourages you to broaden your perspectives of skills which inculcate resilience that you can leverage on in your personal and professional life.

By Sam R

Dec 17, 2017

Excellent course. Dr. Reivich provided a skillful balance of theory and practical application, which I found to be most important. Although I was familiar with some of the topics discussed, this presentation helped me "own" how to use the skills to improve my life and enhance important relationships. Highly recommend.

By Frank H

Dec 3, 2018

Excellent simple tools for anyone willing and open enough to incorporate more resilience in their life. Filled with relevant role plays and acted out examples as well as cameos from other guests, this course is essential learning for anyone serious about happier healthier relationships with themselves and the world.

By Tamara B M

Jul 19, 2018

From the four courses I have taken so far this one resonated with me and makes me thing that resilience training might be what my next career should be. Really enjoyed Karen Reivich. Related to her story and she was so honest and open about her own struggles and triumphs it was inspiring to be part of this course.

By Elizabeth J

Aug 17, 2019

This course was fantastic! I didn't think an online course would suit my learning style but the videos were truly engaging. The material was both helpful and interesting from a work and personal perspective and I encourage others to enrol. I am also encouraged to enrol in more of the courses after taking this one.

By Julia A

Oct 10, 2020

We can all improve on our resilience right now. This is an excellent course that has many masterful tactics as well as creating an awareness of how we can navigate the craziness of this pandemic as well as be a more active and constructive responder (ACR). ACR has the potential to improve all our relationships.

By HANNAH C C

Mar 30, 2020

Karen is a great facilitator! I'll be looking forward to more MOOC lead by her soon! I've learned so much about this course. It really exceeded my expectations. I just wish there's a Q&A portion or discussion... or am I just missing it? I'm in love with this course and so proud that I was able to finish it. :)