Chevron Left
Back to Positive Psychology: Resilience Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Positive Psychology: Resilience Skills by University of Pennsylvania

4.9
stars
2,076 ratings

About the Course

Learn how to incorporate resilience interventions into your personal and professional life with Dr. Karen Reivich. In this course, you are exposed to the foundational research in resilience, including protective factors such as mental agility and optimism. Several types of resilience interventions are explored including cognitive strategies; strategies to manage anxiety and increase positive emotions such as gratitude; and a critical relationship enhancement skill. Throughout the course, you will hear examples of individuals using resilience skills in their personal and professional lives. Suggested prerequisites: Positive Psychology: Martin E. P. Seligman’s Visionary Science, Positive Psychology: Applications and Interventions and Positive Psychology: Character, Grit & Research Methods....

Top reviews

ZM

Sep 23, 2018

Excellent! There was some common sense here, but plenty of new data and tools anyone can use in both their personal and professional life. A must for every human who wants to get the most out of life.

NE

Apr 18, 2020

I truly felt like I was in a classroom learning all the material! I greatly appreciated all of the real-world applications and hearing all of the different perspectives throughout each week and topic!

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 713 Reviews for Positive Psychology: Resilience Skills

By Dr S J V I

Apr 2, 2022

It was an extremely enriching course which was very articulately presented. With frequent discussion prompts & peer assignemnts it made the whole course very interesting. Really looking to apply all the learnings from this course. Aslo it has personally benifitted me and i have learnt so many personal skills.

By S H N

Dec 23, 2022

The instructor is doing her very best to make this course relevant,interesting and practical.

Have learn some very important lessons,for example,active constructive response,gratitude practice etc

These lessons have allowed me to do deeper reflections and deepen my understanding about resilience and gratitude

By Jeanette H

Jun 23, 2018

Fantastic MOOC, teaches powerful skills to help increase optimism, build positive emotions and manage negative emotions, using different ways of thinking to improve one's capacity for overcoming setbacks, no previous knowledge of psychology assumed or required. Excellent personal development opportunity.

By Daniela I

Mar 10, 2018

Loved the clarity and format of the course, with many short videos rather longer ones. The exercises were helpful and the fact that the material is evidence based, gives it credibility which is especially important as I plan to coach physicians who are more likely to use material that is evidence based

By Marisa B

Jul 6, 2020

Excellent course that feels extremely relevant. It is a nice balance of personal anecdotes, scientific studies and recreated scenarios. The information was delivered clearly and the engagement was fun! I appreciate the opportunity to have taken this class and hope that others get the same fulfillment!

By Anne V

Sep 14, 2018

Loved this class. I learned a lot and I still try to remember the 5 ways of thinking when I am upset with something. I go back to this class over and over. Hard for me to move on with other specializations because I keep going back to classes I have already taken. :) Thank you for a great class.

By Zhao W

Sep 11, 2018

This is my favorite course in this certificate program. The examples the instructors demonstrated are so helpful for the learners to understand the concept and the practicality. so we can have a better understanding of what many concepts in positive psychology mean and how to apply in real life.

By Angelica C

Jun 16, 2020

So grateful for this course which formalises and gives structure to a way of thinking and living that is so simple and yet so easily forgotten. Thank you Dr. Seligman and Team for your life's work in human flourishing. I look forward to using what I have learnt to benefit my clients and students.

By Isabella S

Mar 24, 2023

I would like to thank Dr. Reivich for the course on Resilience skills. She shared many skills which are very applicable. I appreciate the role-play in the different scenarios to bring across the meaning of the different ACR. Overall, I enjoyed the course tremendously. Kudos to you and your team.

By Edmund W

Mar 26, 2019

Videos were well done, approachable, and a great complement to the reading material. My challenge (dealing with a family medical crisis during the middle of the course) was a test in resilience, and my ability to cope was certainly aided by some of what I learned early in the course. Thank you!

By Smith S

Aug 9, 2018

This course has been quite helpful in looking at the broader picture of life. I learnt a lot of skills that may appear small but have large impact on life. Practice of Gratitude, Active Constructive Responding, Focusing on Optimism are few of the things that i will continue to apply in my life.

By JJ

Oct 17, 2021

This course has mixed the best of the academic research on, and the practical applications of, positive psychology. Allow me to express my sincere gratitude to the researchers who have dedicated themselves to this area of psychology. Thank you, my life is better for having taken this course!

By Caroline S

Jun 16, 2023

Excellent curriculum - fascinating - timing and pace was on point . Learned a ton of practical applications that I've also been able to teach and coach my clients with, as well. And I truly loved and appreciated Karen Reivich's teaching style and personality, as well as her vulnerability.

By Amarilis O

Jan 5, 2020

The Complexity of life demands from us flexibility. Social skills are critical for daily life interactions, physical and emotional health, and for nurturing and growth of our most treasured relationships. Dr. Reivich does a great job at teaching all of these abilities.

By Srihari B

Sep 13, 2017

This Course is so apt for the times that we are living when there is so much of a focus on negativity if you will. As the saying goes be the change you want to see, by doing this course i can sense a change in the way i look at things.Hopefully i am able to radiate that positivity with all

By Tiara D

Apr 5, 2019

I have participated in a few live resilience classes. This has been the most relevant class, and by far, the best. I appreciate hearing the evidence based rationale through the videos and the self reflection exercises did not feel forced. I wish you the best as you evolve the program.

By Paul D P D

Jun 11, 2020

This course didn't just teach you operational definitions and applications, it will teach you about the essence of your mental health and how it directly affects your body and behavior. I love it, this is my first course, very insightful and helpful in my career path as a psychiatrist.

By Yashowardhan C

Oct 7, 2017

I am loving the course. The elements mentioned are so applicable and practicable in day-to-day life.

I liked the 'Thinking Traps', their recognition and methods of resolution.

Am already a big fan of Barbara Fredrickson's - whose theory is getting covered.

All in all - brilliant course.

By Dr K R N

Mar 20, 2020

Excellent course

The concepts are well explained and can be applied for real time personal and professional situations

The overall structure and activities added to present base of knowledge will be constructive for me to better facilitate my teaching, training and coaching practice

By Clara M

Nov 11, 2022

I have learnt so much during this Course on Resilience, anxiety, relationships, strengths and much more, it was really interesting! I found it also really helpful in my personal and professional life and I will use many of the tools taught in this course in the future! Thank you!

By Priscilla E

Feb 1, 2021

An excellent course that has actually helped me in being more resilient , managing my anxiety better and using my signature character strengths to better handle my challenges . The Karen Reivich presented the program in a very simple and engaging manner . Worth every second of it

By N K

Jul 6, 2019

This was another interesting course, but what I found most enjoyable was the ease with which I found myself making progress and taking the lectures. When I slept, I would wake with the desire to know more, and continue learning more about resilience. 10/10 and highly recommended.

By Abigail A

Apr 30, 2020

So, totally loved everything about class! Especially, all the hot guys and rad chics! I mean, what happens at UPenn stays at UPenn. Know what I mean? Here is a song: Thompson Twins, Wish You Were Here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=po2ahzuziEw&list=RDpo2ahzuziEw&start_radio=1

By Diana C

Apr 20, 2020

Karen is so warm and easy to follow! This was my first completed course online, I believe the way it is designed made it very interesting and motivating, allowing me to follow with sure enthusiasm. I'm glad I've choosen this one, and in this particular time of my life. THANKS!!!

By Rati R

Jun 30, 2019

Fantastic pedagogy...Brilliant professor...Relevant examples...doable action items... Would look to refer this to other friends as this is a very relevant topic.

Would love to get connected with the Professor to explore avenues of bringing this great work / workshop to India ...