Chevron Left
Back to Foundations of Project Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Foundations of Project Management by Google

4.9
stars
81,889 ratings

About the Course

This course is the first in a series of six to equip you with the skills you need to apply to introductory-level roles in project management. Project managers play a key role in leading, planning and implementing critical projects to help their organizations succeed. In this course, you’ll discover foundational project management terminology and gain a deeper understanding of the role and responsibilities of a project manager. We’ll also introduce you to the kinds of jobs you might pursue after completing this program. Throughout the program, you’ll learn from current Google project managers, who can provide you with a multi-dimensional educational experience that will help you build your skills for on-the-job application. Learners who complete this program should be equipped to apply for introductory-level jobs as project managers. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Define project management and describe what constitutes a project. - Explore project management roles and responsibilities across a variety of industries. - Detail the core skills that help a project manager be successful. - Describe the life cycle of a project and explain the significance of each phase. - Compare different program management methodologies and approaches and determine which is most effective for a given project. - Define organizational structure and culture and explain how it impacts project management. - Define change management and describe the role of the project manager in the process....

Top reviews

MP

Invalid date

All over course 1 of Foundations Of Project Managerement was a great overlook the of world of PM and insight on how to propare for the role as an PM. I learned a lot and ready to contiue my role to PM

LL

Invalid date

Very informative and thorough! I've finished this course with so much knowledge that can be applied to the workforce. Everything is laid out in easy to follow and efficient steps. Couldn't be happier!

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 10,000 Reviews for Foundations of Project Management

By Guvanch G

Jun 24, 2023

Very informative and practical

By Małgorzata P

Feb 3, 2022

Good basic knowladge to start

By Colton F

Mar 2, 2023

The main presenter started off a bit rough, a little unwelcoming in his mannerisms. However, he keeps a solid composure, and he presents the material VERY clearly (which is the important part). After week 1 or so, he seemed to have polished his skills, and he became a better presenter whom I learned the most from. The activities are nice to do. The drag and drop is useful and interesting. The wording of tests can overlap and cause confusion in the "select all" answers in which they want nearly verbatim answers from the miles of text you read. They should really label "how many" need to be selected per answer when the 3rd or 4th answer isn't inevitably incorrect. The downloadable reading is really nice and helps supplement the content. I like that they repeat and reiterate things because this develops memorization of it. The worst parts of this are the peer interactions which aren't forced, but feel completely useless. If it were highly trained peers in similar levels of knowledge, critique would be useful. In this case, not really. I suppose if you're lonely, it is beneficial. I didn't feel a whole lot of energy going around when I did skim the commentary. Most people didn't even seem to understand the questions or implications desired. Also, at least half of the very quick videos of employees as examples in day-to-day life were absolutely useless, and I felt I got nothing from it except filler time. I don't mind filler time when working toward a requirement though. However, most of them couldn't present half as well as the main guy, didn't seem to be professional at all, and they really didn't strike me as anything near a leader or manager. That being said, I'm ready for part 2. I'm excited for more hands on experience, and I am looking forward to getting better teachers.

By LG

Jan 13, 2022

It was a good course. Good enough for me to want to continue to the next course.

The tests and examples were great and easy to follow, no changes there.

For someone who is extremely organized, the videos where challenging to outline. For someone else with a different personality, it was probably perfect.

The platform is a bit challenging to follow, for example, I am unable to find the course I just completed on the 'Completed' tab.

It was very repetitive and had a bit too much fluff. The course could have been much shorter and save us some time.

By Awais A B

Jun 18, 2021

For me it's 50 50 half understand half not but trying hard to fully understand it

By Martin P

May 1, 2021

More practical knowledge

By krishna j

Apr 24, 2021

Should be more practical

By Ilaria C

Apr 1, 2021

Too repetitive sometimes

By Diana S

Mar 8, 2023

Layout is great, idea too, however if you are here hoping to get the certificate within the 7 day free trial I got bad news for you. I tried - it didn't work. Course is designed by smart people predicting that you will try this. Also if you believe that doing this course will really make you stand out amongst other applicants with degrees in project management, again Iam afraid to dissapoint you. Yet, this course is really informative, and very well designed, assigments are made nicely so you actually have to think twice and at every atempt questions change. Its a goot suplimentary course or a way to lern something new.

By Marco D R

Sep 16, 2023

This course should be called "do you like to be a project manager? and how to find a job in project management" It has very little actual information about project management, and most of the concepts could have easily been explained in a few pages, instead they make you spend hours vaguely talking about tangential topics. I do not have a lot of time available, if I take a course online about a specific topic I want to improve, I want concrete and efficient information that will help me actually do the task I am learning.

By Cristina R V

Apr 28, 2022

I appreciate the effort and resources put to create this course, it's very well organised, but I feel that the content is too basic. I found that there's so much material and you need to spend so many hours just for an introduction. I'd prefer to summarise more this content and put more focus and dedicate more time to the tools that project managers should use in their everyday.

By ed

Mar 14, 2022

It's informative, but there's a lot of fluff built into this course. There's too much review of covered material. Concepts are repeated over and over again. The course video/reading could probably be cut by 10-20% if they would introduce a topic, and just go over it ONCE

By Muhammad F

Dec 22, 2021

Certificate should be free for this basic course.

By Aaron M

Jul 15, 2023

Terrible execution. There is no depth to the course at all. They just throw a bunch of terms out and expect you to be able to then use your life experience to fill in the gaps that they won't cover as opposed to actually training you on methodologies. This has the feeling of a self help program but without the help and there is little to no value in anything that they actually cover. It basically just gives a bunch of project management buzz words and expects you to understand how everything works together.

By Kyaw K

Jul 19, 2023

The content of the course is good but the task and assignments design for foundational class is not inclusive for all. When I try to take assignments, it says to take in computer; but I have only Ipad. If the course design covered for all devices, it would be more effective and productive for all.

By Soy M

Oct 26, 2021

Pense que el mismo podria estar en espanol y no estaba asi, espero que puedan subir la version en espanol para tomarlo.

By Khatir M

Feb 10, 2022

forcing ppl upload personal info like id and pics of them for the course that they paid is basically stealing !

By Rich K

May 1, 2023

First class is not mobile friendly. Fail. (Quizzes count. Zero stars not available or I'd mark that in 2023.)

By Hitesh K

Jun 10, 2023

I submitted my Passport, but while facial recognition it is not accepting. Please let me know what to do.

By Milli A

Jan 4, 2024

I don’t advocate personal failed experiences in life as a kick starter to advocate a program

By Boris S

Jan 17, 2024

couldn't verify my face with me uploading my ID in a good lighting from a good PC camera

By TASHIMA S

Sep 19, 2023

I provided several pictures and two different ids, and your software would not work

By Hrishikesh M

Apr 21, 2022

its absolutely not worth the amount i have paid, would request for a refund. thanks

By Bolanle A I

Sep 16, 2023

why is my name not

in the certificate

why will you just write Coursera

learner

By Gregorio C

Jul 2, 2023

This is only for people who dont even know what project management means.