Chevron Left
Back to Foundations of Project Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Foundations of Project Management by Google

4.9
stars
60,540 ratings

About the Course

This course is the first in a series of six to equip you with the skills you need to apply to introductory-level roles in project management. Project managers play a key role in leading, planning and implementing critical projects to help their organizations succeed. In this course, you’ll discover foundational project management terminology and gain a deeper understanding of the role and responsibilities of a project manager. We’ll also introduce you to the kinds of jobs you might pursue after completing this program. Throughout the program, you’ll learn from current Google project managers, who can provide you with a multi-dimensional educational experience that will help you build your skills for on-the-job application. Learners who complete this program should be equipped to apply for introductory-level jobs as project managers. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Define project management and describe what constitutes a project. - Explore project management roles and responsibilities across a variety of industries. - Detail the core skills that help a project manager be successful. - Describe the life cycle of a project and explain the significance of each phase. - Compare different program management methodologies and approaches and determine which is most effective for a given project. - Define organizational structure and culture and explain how it impacts project management. - Define change management and describe the role of the project manager in the process....

Top reviews

LD

Aug 11, 2021

I loved this course. It was so informative. I took a lot of notes and hope to implement everything I've learned in real-life instances. I look forward to advancing professionally as a project manager.

SS

Nov 10, 2022

It was a fantastic learning experience with a knowledge of project management information. The team as a whole did a fantastic job of demonstrating their individual perspectives on project management.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 10,000 Reviews for Foundations of Project Management

By Joana Y

Jul 16, 2022

The trainer is pleasant to view , his tone of voice is just so encouraging that you want move on to the next topic. The topic covers more than about 'knowing', it includes the 'how to get started with the new career'. I appreciate the testimony videos from PMs of Google. It gave me a glimpse of the world of PM and that it is worth undertaking. I love it that you have included the topic on how to search for PM roles because for someone who wants to venture into this new career, I find it challenging to search for entry level positions and it is only now that I knew the key words to search on job posting to find openings that I can apply to get started with the new career.

By Karl H K

Jun 6, 2022

The Foundations of P:roject management course provides an insight on: intiate, planning, overeeeing, impletmenting, and closing a project. This course is gearer to a myraid types of projects, and cross numerous industries. Ranging from: social, space exploration, and personal use as well. After taking this course will not look at a project the way again! Found interacting with fellow students a great way to expand not only seeking employment, and finding ways to seek solutions to, for numerous problems. Discovered the videos speak to the student, and can relate, and connect on a transending level. Enjoy this course, so will other student-learners.

By P D

Jul 1, 2021

As someone new to a certificate program, I am glad to say my expectations of this course have been superseded beyond what I imagined. The instructor and all of his associates offered a great touch in the learning process. Incorporating the videos really helped me stay engaged. Something that was unexpected is the teaching on how to apply for employment opportunities and the path to success on this. I am so fortunate to have learned this, as this has been one of my biggest obstacles in achieving my new career goals. Because I understand the diversity of this field, I am excited to discover any/every role project management has to offer. Thanks so much!

By Ervin D

Dec 29, 2022

We are all PM in our life , but with this course personally i take a new perspective & concept for PM mindset and organization change because now I'm ready to be also "Change Agent" . Project manager is a professional in the field of project management. Project managers have the responsibility of the planning, procurement and execution of a project, in any undertaking that has a defined scope, defined start and a defined finish; regardless of industry so now i have an strong upgrade on transferable skill to use in my next steps . Thank you for the opportunity because I'm implementing new way not only in professional life but also in personal life ...

By Harsh S S

Aug 27, 2022

First of all, I would like to thank Google for putting together this incredible course! I received a lot of valuable insights through the completion of this course. I was introduced to various concepts and methodologies like Waterfall, Agile, Lean, and Six Sigma. I would definitely like to deep dive into these concepts and learn more about them. The responsibility of the Project Manager that stands out the most from my perspective is how to work collaboratively with interdisciplinary teams and involve numerous stakeholders in the process to successfully deliver and deploy the project through the implementation of the above-stated methodologies.

By Michael O M

Oct 3, 2022

The Foundations of Project Management course was a brilliant idea and it was executed splendidly. Each stage of the 4-week course was explained in good detail and the questions make you think about and review what you've learned prior. During the course, I almost felt as though I had been learning and practicing project management for years as it related greatly to what most of us do daily, like when planning events, great or small. I would recommend using this course for those interested in finding a role within project management, speaking as a building services engineer who had no prior idea or information about what the role entailed.

By Jennifer K

Oct 11, 2022

Thank you to Emilio and all the guest speakers throughout this course. Project management is a vital part of any plan's success and I really appreciated how Emilio took the time to make these connections with practices we complete every day! It was also beneficial to learn about the importance of understanding organizational culture along with key features of managing a project such as change management! How many times have I been a part of a changing process where it felt like no one ever considered how we were all supposed to adapt! Thank you again for such a wonderful and comprehensive approach to project management foundations.

By Sk M H

Feb 16, 2022

Initially I want to thankyou coursera for giving me this opportunity to complete this course. This is my first course ever on Coursera. The knowledge that i gain from this course is unbelievable. I already interested on learnig project managements so i read many articles on internet but when I found this course on coursera I realize that this may be my best experience ever.

Finally I want to thank my instructuctor Emilio sir whose videos help me to understand each and every details cleary. I also want to thankyou coursera's hardworking team on making a the best educational platform of the world.

Thankyou

Yours Sincerely

SK MOBASSARUL

By Rizwan W

Dec 26, 2022

The course was great learning experience. I want to highlight few points which I liked the most about this course:

1. The course is very well organized i.e., every content is linked in a sequence very well

2. Trainer has great insight and very simple & easy style of delivering valuable concepts

3. The course is not just based on MCQs or listening, it is full time engagement. For example it has assignments, it has reading, listening & comments

4. The course is light weight so that easy to grasp and understand

5. Real life experiences from Google Program managers /Project Managers is very insightful & motivates

Really liked this course

By Ali H

Dec 15, 2021

This course literally enlightened me with some crucial aspects of Project Management. Also, helped me in finding out what kind of a role I should be looking for as a Project Manager. And how to make sure one carries out all the necessary details when embarking on that particular role. Thank you so much for providing such a detailed course on where to start, how to do it and what to look out for in Project Management. Special thanks to all the instructors who took the time in telling us about their own experience and giving some useful tips that helped them throughout their career journey. Hoping to start the next course soon!

By Rebecca R

Jun 11, 2021

The instructor used relative examples that are well understood in various personal and business aspects. He himself was relatable to users, and so were the "guest speakers". Everything was broken down in well organized and timed sections that delivered information in a well paced manner. I believe someone taking this course that was completely new to Project Management would succeed. The use of video, with text that is highlighted along with the presenters speech was highly useful for me as someone with a photographic memory. Hearing someone speak, while being able to read and follow along greatly helped my type of learning.

By Lyshel S P

Feb 8, 2023

If you're looking for a project management roadmap as a beginner, this course is just right for you because you're not going to be alone in your learning phase in project management. This course is jampacked with all the necessary things you need to in your learning phase! You'll be having an accountability coach who will guide you in understanding different project management methodologies and concepts; resources, where you can save and go back to whenever you want to re-visit and refresh your mind with the different project management methodologies and concepts; and lastly, you'll find out soon as you try this course!

By Shubham S

Jun 8, 2022

It was an exciting journey. Starting from the scratch to

understanding what is project management

various job titltes and skills set required to be successful project manager

understanding the phases of project management

Various management methodologies includong Waterfall and Agile

Understanding the organisational structure and culture and change management.

This course provides the basic understanding and fundamentals of project management. The best thing about this course is that there's a lot of activities and discussion forums which help you grow even more into this field. I am looking forward to upcoming courses.

By Maria S J

Dec 14, 2021

I have no background in project management and took the course out of a mild curiosity. I learned more than I expected to learn. Some of the things I learned were things I already knew from work experience. (Indeed, I would expect that most people who have worked in a corporate environment would generally know these things.) However, the framework in which the material was presented was very clear and engaging. I would recommend this class for anyone working in a corporate environment even if they do not have an interest in being a project manager because of the overview it provides about projects.

By Motunrayo A

Jun 21, 2022

This course has been an excellent refresher on project management for me. The course content is very detailed and its presented in an easy to understand format, the videos helped me to learn about the non-traditional paths to becoming a project manager from some of the program managers at Google, the questions and quizzes tested my knowledge of the concepts I have learnt, and the discussion boards provided a way to engage and share with other participants. I would highly recommend this course to beginners to the field of project management or those looking to refresh your project management knowledge.

By Elena C

Nov 2, 2021

It's a very well done course, I really enjoy the way it's structured. I like how videos, readings and testing of knowledge are alternated, which helps remaining focused since it never gets boring.

It's also good that sometimes there are self-reflection questions that can be shared publicly. I think this boosts motivation and helps people understand that they're not alone in this journey.

Since I've started this course, I have had so many ideas on what I could have done better to improve past projects and new ideas about future ones. It really motivates me to move forward to the next course objectives.

By Nancy S

Aug 8, 2022

There was so much information packed into this course, and it was presented in a clear way, without being overwhelming. I learned that I was indeed already doing project management in my last job; I just didn't know it! This foundations course helped me discern what I already know about project management, and the correct terminology for the roles and duties. It also introduced me to the aspects of the work with which I have had no experience, so I know what concepts and skills I will need to focus on and learn to be a better project manager. I'm looking forward to the next course in the series!

By Aleksei M

Jan 30, 2023

The course is so engaging and professionally structured that it is as inspiring as possible to follow: video lessons are interspersed with text documents, supplemented by practical examples and interesting assignments.  A regular quiz on each individual block helps you internalise the knowledge you've gained. The course will be useful for the beginner - there is a lot of new information to be learned. The course will also help experienced professionals - it perfectly structures the knowledge they have previously acquired and gives a new boost of professional motivation.Translated with DeepL

By JOSIAH M

Feb 21, 2022

THIS IS A PROFESSIONAL COURSE . IT IS GRAED TO PREPARE STUDENTS TO FUNCTION IN PUBLIC AND PRIVATE INDUSTRIE AND JOBS. THE TRAINING IS REACHED WITH INFORMATIONS, PRACTICAL DEMONSTRATIONS, APPLICATION OF PERSONAL EXPERIENCES, LECTURES FROM FIELD EXPERIENCE PROFESSIONALS .THIS COURSE PROVIDE TOP NOTCH TRAINING TO STUDENTS . I AM GLAD TO HAVE TAKEN THE PROJECT MANAGEMENT COURSES. I LEARNED NEW THINGS , ACQUIRED LOTS OF KNOWLEDGE IN PROJECT MANAGEMENT. I AM NOW EQUIPPED FOR PROJECT MANAGEMENT POSITION IN ANY JOB JOB . I RECOMMEND THIS COURSE TO ANY ONE WHO WANTS INPROVE HIS/HER JOB OPPORTUNITY.

By Jacqueline T

Dec 12, 2021

I absolutely love these courses, because it offers ample opportunity to learn a new skill that is applicable to real life. Knowledge, is a Powerful tool that will help me get ahead in the employment arena. I am so very appreciative that the courses were affordable too, which contributed to my motivation to take advantage of this golden opportunity to learn something new and useful. Thank You Google, & The Coursera staff, for thinking of folks like myself, and providing a platform that encourages educational growth! And not charging an arm and a leg for it. This is to me, is a win/win.

By Marina Ć

Oct 19, 2022

The instructor is excellent and he really followed course material from the beginning to the end. It was so pleasant listening to him and he explained everything in detail, often using real-life examples and situations that he had encountered. This course is a terrific introduction to Project Management and I am certain that both beginners and established Project Managers could benefit from listening to this program, because even though someone is a Project Manager, maybe they have missed some of the foundations mentioned in this course. I am very pleased and happy to continue my journey.

By Paulette P

Feb 9, 2022

The course material was simple to follow and comprehend. Throughout the several presentations, the presenters were absolutely very clear. I had previously taken an online project management course, and doing so with Coursera has only added to my knowledge. In addition, this course taught me about some new project management methodologies and approaches, which I greatly appreciate. True, we live our lives in the same way that we manage daily projects, big and small. The fees are low, reasonable, and affordable, and I will enthusiastically recommend this course to others who are interested.

By Bernice N

Jun 1, 2021

This was a wonderful course. I enjoyed the overall formatting of the course with equal parts videos, readings and quizzes I could do on my laptop and phone via the app. All the topics were very interesting. It was great to hear the real world/Google experiences of actual Project Managers and see how excited they are about where they work and what they do.

I will continue and complete the certification and I hope to change my career into a meaningful and enjoyable career. I also hope to be able to find a mentor and mentor others in the near future as a Project Manager. Thank you!

By Georgina M M

Jun 20, 2022

I enjoyed the mixed methods in learning, which greatly improves distance learning away from just reading content. I also like learning checks and quizzes, with references to follow up on for wrong answers. The only thing I wasn't thrilled about is the lack of student discussions and collaboration. Student responses are optional and it seems students don't interact or respond when you reply to their responses. I think there's a missed opportunity here. I was reviewed and graded on my interation with other students for my BA and MA, which were both distance learning courses.

By Chisunum E F

Mar 7, 2023

I am so impressed with various styles used in passing on the course content; It was fun and engaging. Completing this course gave me great insight on understanding the core roles, responsibilities, skills and values a project manager brings to the team for successful project delivery. This course equipped me with the different project management approaches with which to effectively deliver various project of varied nature and requirements. Also learning of organizational structure and culture gives that edge to easily align with team and stakeholders for project success.