Chevron Left
Back to Foundations of Project Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Foundations of Project Management by Google

4.9
stars
81,615 ratings

About the Course

This course is the first in a series of six to equip you with the skills you need to apply to introductory-level roles in project management. Project managers play a key role in leading, planning and implementing critical projects to help their organizations succeed. In this course, you’ll discover foundational project management terminology and gain a deeper understanding of the role and responsibilities of a project manager. We’ll also introduce you to the kinds of jobs you might pursue after completing this program. Throughout the program, you’ll learn from current Google project managers, who can provide you with a multi-dimensional educational experience that will help you build your skills for on-the-job application. Learners who complete this program should be equipped to apply for introductory-level jobs as project managers. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Define project management and describe what constitutes a project. - Explore project management roles and responsibilities across a variety of industries. - Detail the core skills that help a project manager be successful. - Describe the life cycle of a project and explain the significance of each phase. - Compare different program management methodologies and approaches and determine which is most effective for a given project. - Define organizational structure and culture and explain how it impacts project management. - Define change management and describe the role of the project manager in the process....

Top reviews

BC

Invalid date

This course is very helpful for those who want to kick start their career in project management field. It is highly interactive and covers basics of project management thoroughly. I really enjoyed it.

LL

Invalid date

Very informative and thorough! I've finished this course with so much knowledge that can be applied to the workforce. Everything is laid out in easy to follow and efficient steps. Couldn't be happier!

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 10,000 Reviews for Foundations of Project Management

By Veronica M

Jul 23, 2023

This course section is extremely informative and interactive. I loved and appreciated the different methods of teaching and learning since everyone learns differently. It kept my attention and was not too hard to understand the teachings at all. Even when things seemed overwhelming as it is a lot of new information at once, they build upon it and explain everything very well. The quizzes throughout the course each week were extremely helpful as an extra method of studying and learning. The only thing I wish it had was the correct answers for the graded quizzes so you can see what you got wrong, but if you take proper notes you should be able to double check the work after the fact. The work load and the time "required" to complete each week was fair.

By Muhammad A

Sep 25, 2023

Project management can teach you several important skills, including: Organization: Effective project management requires meticulous planning and organization to ensure tasks are completed on time and within budget. Communication: Project managers must excel in conveying information clearly to team members, stakeholders, and clients, fostering collaboration and understanding. Time Management: Learning to prioritize tasks and manage deadlines is crucial for successful project delivery. Problem Solving: Project managers often encounter unexpected challenges, honing their ability to identify issues and devise creative solutions. Leadership: Managing a team and guiding them towards a common goal enhances leadership and team-building skills.

By Hanna B

Jul 6, 2022

The speakers , course structure , materials, tests were really brilliant. I also highly appreciate all people  in course forum for sharing their views, work history and mindsets.

I got inspired by so many of them. Which is really great.

My biggest takeaway, however, from this course is that I’ve already possess a lot of previous job experiences and qualifications which will help me to move forward in this career.

I’ve definitely received more profound and more systematic extra knowledges  on methodologies and project governance and got some useful tips which will help me to move forward in learning strategy and boost my career prospects by getting the needed skill sets.

Thank you to Google and Coursera Teams for this wonderful PM Course.

By Ihsan H

Sep 2, 2021

This course is amazing, great presenter and the way it delivered its really understandable. To be honest, I am really really afraid when I enroll this course because my English is not really good enough. I am really really scared that I will not finish the course on time and just waste my money. But after follow the course , i do falling in love with this course. I even learn some new vocabularies during the course.

So many things i have learned from this course from the day 1 I join the Foundations of Project Management until the last course Capstone : Applying Project Management in The Real World. Thank you very much for Google and Coursera Teams for bring this course. Hope to see you in the next course. Keep up the good work!!!

By Bartosz R

Nov 18, 2022

I believe that the course is very well prepared for people who are just starting their adventure with PM. The chronology of introducing new concepts and content is perfectly adjusted. I definitely want to learn about Agile methodology and how to apply it to organizational structures.

I learned a lot from this first part of the course, I think most of these topics were new to me. This knowledge is very interesting and useful.

The responsibilities of the project manager that speak to me more than others are:

- Excellent organization, time management, communication, and presentation skills

- Strong problem solving and critical thinking skills

- Deliver projects within the budget and scope

I look forward to the next stages of the training

By Albert D

Feb 15, 2023

I recently completed Google's Foundations of Project Management Certificate course on Coursera and I was thoroughly impressed with the quality and content of the course. The course was well organized and the lectures were presented in an easy-to-understand manner, which made it easier to understand the concepts and apply them to real-world scenarios. The instructors were knowledgeable and provided a lot of helpful tips and techniques for project management. Additionally, the course was supplemented with real-world examples, which helped me gain a better understanding of the concepts. Overall, I would highly recommend this course to anyone looking to enhance their project management skills and gain certification from Google.

By Tariq S A

Jul 20, 2022

لقد كانت دورة جميلة أخذ موضوع إدارة المشاريع بالحصول على اهتمام الباحثين على مر السنين، إذ كانت المشاريع تستخدم كوسيلة وسطى للقيام بالمشاريع و تحقيق األهداف. ويستمر حقل إدارة المشاريع بالتطور كاستجابة لتغير الرؤى في مجتمع اإلدارات و الطلبات المتنامية على المجاالت الجديدة من تطبيقات إدارة األعمال. تكشف هذه الورقة البحثية اتجاهات التركيز في أدبيات إدارة داً األعمال في الفترة الماضية ، و ذلك بتحليل المقاالت والدراسات المتعلقة بموضوع الدراسة وبمفهوم إدارة المشاريع تحدي ، الستعراض االتجاهات السابقة حول هذا المفهوم والتعرف على مفهوم إدارة المشاريع وتصنيفاته وخصائصه وغيرها من العناصر االساسية القادرة على تكوين صورة عامة حول مصطلح إدارة المشاريع. الكلمات المفتاحية: المشاريع ، إدارة المشاريع ، إدارة األعمال ، اا نت

By Gianina P

Apr 26, 2022

It was a great course. I indeed learnt about different aspects related to Project Management, core aspects about project life cycle, and another very interesting issues as organizational culture. But also it was useful to understand I already have some skills and I already do tasks related to the formation. So it was also was empowering.

Another good aspect is the way the course is arranged, the perfect timing for videos and lectures to keep your attention alive, and teachers/speakers seemed kind and clear.

Perhaps one aspect to bear in mind for future learners, you better reserve a little more time for videos, because sometimes at some points you will need to stop and go back and take notes.

Greetings!

By Elena G

May 1, 2022

The foundation of a successful bussiness management acoording your experience and eager to learn anything.According to your skills nice planning budgetting and flexibility.And to choose a good teammate and share with their own opinion.You need big amount of money materilas how much cost they need and what qualiy.And you need to show your planning book like wedding.First venue decoration,music,chairs,flowers,make up artist,clothes,ring ,priest,food,invitation,how many guest,arrangement,what introduction,before start the wedding,photographer,video.And before we set everything you tell how much it cost.Before we start the we need the approved and signal when the start time and finish the project

By Alaa Q

Aug 2, 2021

This course made me aware of what project management is really about! This realization brings me comfort and relief that what I am currently doing in my work is not a waste of time. We all have some skills in project management .. highlighting that and reading more about each of the PM components is very helpful for me as a person and in my work!! Can't wait to take the other courses and strengthen my skills for each phase of the project lifecycle. I love the content and the variety between using the short videos, readings, real stories and infographics!! so helpful to grasp the meanings of each lesson. Thank you so much for creating such an amazing project course!! Thanks Coursera and Google!!

By Fakhar I

Mar 9, 2023

An amazing learning experience

Suggested Improvement that I came across during the experience was this one place:

"Week 4 > Understanding change management > Participating in Change Management (Video) @ 4:25 onwards"

My teacher (Emilio) is giving an example of how the change management process would take place from higher authorities and he (my teacher) mentions "CEO" as a female "She may have someone in her team..." and to support the narration there is this graphical animation (I love it) but the picture for "CEO" here is a 50+ male, you might want to replace that to a female CEO.

Overall the course is fantastic, keep up the good work IDs, I am trying too!

Thank you

Regards,

Fakhar Imam

By Anis E

Jul 3, 2023

I recently completed the Foundations of Project Management course, a precious learning experience. The system provided a solid foundation in project management concepts, methodologies, and stakeholder management. The content was well-structured, and the explanations were clear and concise. Learning about different project management approaches was eye-opening, and the emphasis on stakeholder management was particularly insightful. The instructors were knowledgeable and supportive, creating a positive learning environment. I highly recommend this course to anyone looking to enhance their project management skills and embark on a successful career. I can't wait to start Course 2!

By dkar

Nov 28, 2021

Coming from a theoretical background, this course helped me transition smoothly to a formerly unknown world, where people don't speak about Socrates & Plato, but about business and strategies. To my pleasant surprise the way the new material was presented was clear and coherent. Moving from one logical concept to the next created a chain of reasoning that made the learning procedure interesting and solid. Interchanging between videos, readings, interacting through discussions (not my favourite part I admit, but that's just me), small exercises, assignments, practice tests offered variety and ensured that this way or the other the foundations of project management will be laid.

By Z. M

Jun 24, 2022

So far so good. I am really excited to do a few courses so that I can change careers and make more money, honestly. and this course for Project management is really already in my wheelhouse, I need to get all the terminology down.

I am excited to learn the other courses to obtain a certificate. I do feel like the course is too short. It should be grouped to where it doesnt cost so much. people are in desparate need of higher paying jobs. getting things done without having to repeat material is better.

I do like how all the sections are bite size. I need financial aid for all courses. Solo mom, the care of my kids comes first above everything. The money isnt there to do both.

By Joana Y

Jul 16, 2022

The trainer is pleasant to view , his tone of voice is just so encouraging that you want move on to the next topic. The topic covers more than about 'knowing', it includes the 'how to get started with the new career'. I appreciate the testimony videos from PMs of Google. It gave me a glimpse of the world of PM and that it is worth undertaking. I love it that you have included the topic on how to search for PM roles because for someone who wants to venture into this new career, I find it challenging to search for entry level positions and it is only now that I knew the key words to search on job posting to find openings that I can apply to get started with the new career.

By Teo K

Mar 21, 2024

Well structured course. The instructors are great and knowledgeable. The video lectures are short, but well-filmed in an engaging way. This is not just some AI voice reading from a powerpoint presentation, it's actual people speaking about actual experiences. The videos are dispersed between clear and concise reading materials, and useful graded and ungraded quizzes. The quizzes are not "trick questions", and the learner should be able to answer them if they paid attention during the lectures and the readings. All in all, I had no prior formal knowledge in project management, and this course gave me exactly the introduction to PM that I was looking for. Recommended!

By Nicole

Jan 8, 2024

The Foundations of Project Management course was extremely helpful and valuable in gaining knowledge, practical skills, measurement, and assessment of concepts needed to know and understand what project management involves; how project management is structured, and why it is valuable to organizations. It was also integrated with career skills insight, job search preparation, and various aspects of learning activities to keep you engaged in the course content. I am looking forward to the next course in this series. I recommend to anyone looking to strengthen their knowledge, deepen their expertise, and practical know-how of this valuable job skill and career field.

By Roshan M

Apr 11, 2023

I will be honest - I was a bit skeptical at first when I started this course. I have over 12 years of QA/Testing experiences in Life Sciences and so I thought "what will this course teach me?" But, right from the start, the way the lessons are structured and tail-off of each other, the combination of videos + readings and timely quizzes, and knowledge-checks, I found this course better than an actual for-credit college course. I wish college courses were structured like this - would make learning fun, beneficial and it would actually stick (as in, the mind). I'm pumped to go all the way and complete the remaining 5 courses and get a CAPM certification from PMI.

By KARL K

Jun 6, 2022

The Foundations of P:roject management course provides an insight on: intiate, planning, overeeeing, impletmenting, and closing a project. This course is gearer to a myraid types of projects, and cross numerous industries. Ranging from: social, space exploration, and personal use as well. After taking this course will not look at a project the way again! Found interacting with fellow students a great way to expand not only seeking employment, and finding ways to seek solutions to, for numerous problems. Discovered the videos speak to the student, and can relate, and connect on a transending level. Enjoy this course, so will other student-learners.

By P D

Jul 1, 2021

As someone new to a certificate program, I am glad to say my expectations of this course have been superseded beyond what I imagined. The instructor and all of his associates offered a great touch in the learning process. Incorporating the videos really helped me stay engaged. Something that was unexpected is the teaching on how to apply for employment opportunities and the path to success on this. I am so fortunate to have learned this, as this has been one of my biggest obstacles in achieving my new career goals. Because I understand the diversity of this field, I am excited to discover any/every role project management has to offer. Thanks so much!

By Ervin D

Dec 29, 2022

We are all PM in our life , but with this course personally i take a new perspective & concept for PM mindset and organization change because now I'm ready to be also "Change Agent" . Project manager is a professional in the field of project management. Project managers have the responsibility of the planning, procurement and execution of a project, in any undertaking that has a defined scope, defined start and a defined finish; regardless of industry so now i have an strong upgrade on transferable skill to use in my next steps . Thank you for the opportunity because I'm implementing new way not only in professional life but also in personal life ...

By Harsh S S

Aug 27, 2022

First of all, I would like to thank Google for putting together this incredible course! I received a lot of valuable insights through the completion of this course. I was introduced to various concepts and methodologies like Waterfall, Agile, Lean, and Six Sigma. I would definitely like to deep dive into these concepts and learn more about them. The responsibility of the Project Manager that stands out the most from my perspective is how to work collaboratively with interdisciplinary teams and involve numerous stakeholders in the process to successfully deliver and deploy the project through the implementation of the above-stated methodologies.

By Hugo L

Apr 22, 2023

Google's Project Management course on Coursera is an excellent resource for anyone looking to gain a solid foundation in project management. The material is comprehensive and well-structured. The instructor is engaging and knowledgeable, making the content easy to follow and understand. The course's activities are enjoyable and interactive, allowing learners to apply their newly acquired skills in real-world scenarios. Moreover, the course is highly relevant and up-to-date, with the latest industry best practices and trends. Overall, this course is a must for anyone seeking to enhance their project management skills and advance their career.

By Michael O M

Oct 3, 2022

The Foundations of Project Management course was a brilliant idea and it was executed splendidly. Each stage of the 4-week course was explained in good detail and the questions make you think about and review what you've learned prior. During the course, I almost felt as though I had been learning and practicing project management for years as it related greatly to what most of us do daily, like when planning events, great or small. I would recommend using this course for those interested in finding a role within project management, speaking as a building services engineer who had no prior idea or information about what the role entailed.

By Jennifer K

Oct 11, 2022

Thank you to Emilio and all the guest speakers throughout this course. Project management is a vital part of any plan's success and I really appreciated how Emilio took the time to make these connections with practices we complete every day! It was also beneficial to learn about the importance of understanding organizational culture along with key features of managing a project such as change management! How many times have I been a part of a changing process where it felt like no one ever considered how we were all supposed to adapt! Thank you again for such a wonderful and comprehensive approach to project management foundations.