Chevron Left
Back to Foundations of Project Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Foundations of Project Management by Google

4.9
stars
81,889 ratings

About the Course

This course is the first in a series of six to equip you with the skills you need to apply to introductory-level roles in project management. Project managers play a key role in leading, planning and implementing critical projects to help their organizations succeed. In this course, you’ll discover foundational project management terminology and gain a deeper understanding of the role and responsibilities of a project manager. We’ll also introduce you to the kinds of jobs you might pursue after completing this program. Throughout the program, you’ll learn from current Google project managers, who can provide you with a multi-dimensional educational experience that will help you build your skills for on-the-job application. Learners who complete this program should be equipped to apply for introductory-level jobs as project managers. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Define project management and describe what constitutes a project. - Explore project management roles and responsibilities across a variety of industries. - Detail the core skills that help a project manager be successful. - Describe the life cycle of a project and explain the significance of each phase. - Compare different program management methodologies and approaches and determine which is most effective for a given project. - Define organizational structure and culture and explain how it impacts project management. - Define change management and describe the role of the project manager in the process....

Top reviews

MP

Invalid date

All over course 1 of Foundations Of Project Managerement was a great overlook the of world of PM and insight on how to propare for the role as an PM. I learned a lot and ready to contiue my role to PM

LL

Invalid date

Very informative and thorough! I've finished this course with so much knowledge that can be applied to the workforce. Everything is laid out in easy to follow and efficient steps. Couldn't be happier!

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 10,000 Reviews for Foundations of Project Management

By Alson C

Aug 31, 2022

First, Emilio is fantastic! I liked the way he presented the information—very friendly, engaging, reassuring, and clear. Secondly, I love the way the course was laid out. It was really foolproof. The mix of short videos, readings, reflecitons, and activities along with being self-paced made the course accessible, flexible, and practial. I had expected the course might be focused on how to use Google's applications and products for project management, but it wasn't. It was all about understanding the roles and responsibilites of project managers and learning the methodologies and tools commonly used. Finally, I liked the emphasis on job searching. I already have a job and did not enroll in the course to seek a new one, but I think it's very student-centered of Google to keep drawing attention to how the skills and concepts discussed in the course can make you marketable. I have quite a bit of experience training live and creating online trainings, and this course incorporates all the best practices. And again, Emilio's delivery was exceptional.

By Tania M

Sep 20, 2022

I have 20+ years of experience in Office Management, HR/Benefits, Administration and more, and I took this course planning to complete the full certificate. I am 65% through the second course and I have realized that Project Management is not something that I want to pursue. I love being ON projects, but don't want to manage them on a large scale. That being said, I feel that getting this certificate would ABSOLUTELY help anyone who thinks they want to enter this field, or is already in the field but wants to move into a position with more responsibility. The course material is very relevant and you will get lots of templates, etc. that you will be able to use. Also, in this first course, they have you ask yourself some questions about what kind of person you are/whether you like to organize things, etc. that may help you decide if it may be a good fit for you. As someone who is in a hiring position, if I saw this certificate listed on someone's resume, I would be more likely to pursue them as a candidate for a Project Manager position.

By Juan V

Jan 19, 2024

The course has been an invaluable journey that provided me with a solid foundation in project management. The content was well-structured, covering essential concepts from project life cycles to organizational influences. The course not only equipped me with the necessary theoretical frameworks but also encouraged a proactive mindset, emphasizing the importance of adaptability and effective communication in project management. The inclusion of topics like organizational culture and change management added a comprehensive dimension to the understanding of project dynamics. Overall, I feel more confident in my ability to approach project management tasks, thanks to the knowledge gained in this course. The combination of theoretical principles and practical applications has been instrumental in preparing me for the challenges and responsibilities associated with the role of a project manager. I look forward to applying these learnings in real-world scenarios and continuing my journey in project management.

By Kanokphorn P

Jul 4, 2021

I do appreciate what I have studied and leant from this course. It is very helpful, understandable and practical. I gained more than just knowledge, I discover my skills that I overlooked. I found myself to be more confidence and smarter than I ever thought I was. Moreover, I found out that even just a simple sentence the speaker encourages about the job or course but it is even more touched and healed me when I am very depressed during this period. I found that one simple sentence helped encouraging and releasing out the heaviness in my heart to believe that tomorrow will be better days and yes don't give up yet. Lastly, I have been being happy and eager to learn because of the precise, straightforward, short, sharp lessons, plus the tone of voices of the speak really encourage me to be very active to learn more. As far as I have been lecturing, your voice and intonation is very comfortable and easily understand. Thank you for letting me know myself more and getting me more than just knowledge. <3

By Abdullahi A

Jan 5, 2023

I have to say, it was an excellent learning experience. The course was well structured and provided a thorough overview of the fundamentals of project management.

The lectures were engaging and easy to follow, and the instructor did an excellent job of explaining complex concepts in a clear and concise manner. The course material was also well-organized and provided a good balance of theoretical and practical information.

One of the things I appreciated most about the course was the wide range of real-world examples and case studies that were used to illustrate key concepts. These really helped to bring the material to life and made it much easier to understand how the principles of project management are applied in practice.

Overall, I would highly recommend this course to anyone interested in learning about the basics of project management. Whether you're a beginner looking to get started in the field or an experienced professional looking to refresh your knowledge, this course is a great resource.

By Fer C

Jul 10, 2023

I am delighted to announce the successful completion of the "Foundations of Project Management" course offered by Google.

In my capacity as a people management professional overseeing the entire Customer Service and operations departments, I have recognized the pivotal role that project management plays in my responsibilities. Consequently, I proactively sought to enhance my knowledge in this domain.

Undoubtedly, Google's course has been transformative, equipping me with invaluable insights and skills to effectively oversee projects. The interactive and engaging nature of the learning experience amplified its overall value.

I eagerly anticipate employing my newfound project management expertise within my role, propelling my team towards heightened success. I extend my gratitude to Google for their commitment to empowering professionals and fostering excellence within our respective fields.

I am eagerly looking forward to commencing the next course, "Project Initiation: Starting a Successful Project."

By Ismael M

Jun 19, 2023

I think this course is a great opportunity for anyone who is interested in learning more about project management. The course covers a wide range of topics, from the basics of project management to more advanced concepts like change management. I also like that the course is taught by current Google project managers, which means that you will be learning from people who have a lot of experience in the field.

I think the course would be especially beneficial for people who are looking to start a career in project management. The course will give you the skills and knowledge you need to apply for introductory-level project management roles. Even if you don't have any previous experience, I think you would be able to learn a lot from this course and be well-prepared for a career in project management.

Overall, I think this course sounds like a great investment in your future. If you are interested in learning more about project management, I highly recommend checking out this course.

By Prashant V

Apr 23, 2024

I wanted to take a moment to express my sincere appreciation for the online course that I recently completed. The experience has been immensely valuable, and I wanted to share some positive feedback with you. First and foremost, your expertise and passion for the subject matter were truly evident throughout the course. Your thorough explanations, engaging presentations, and real-world examples made complex concepts much more accessible and understandable. I particularly enjoyed the content and the way it has been summarized, which I found exceptionally well-structured and insightful. Moreover, I appreciated the interactive elements of the course, such as the quizzes, discussions, and assignments. These not only reinforced my learning but also encouraged active participation and critical thinking. The feedback and guidance provided on assignments were constructive and helped me improve my understanding and application of the course material. Best Regards Prashant Verma

By Arbab N K

Apr 30, 2023

The "Foundations of Project Management" course on Coursera surpassed all my expectations. It provided a comprehensive and practical understanding of project management principles, with real-life examples and diverse perspectives shared by experienced project managers from Google. The emphasis on project management methodology and change governance was particularly valuable, fueling my curiosity and passion for growth. The course fostered a supportive learning environment, allowing for engagement with fellow learners. This course has equipped me with the tools, knowledge, and confidence to excel as a project manager. I highly recommend it to professionals seeking a solid foundation or looking to enhance their project management skills. Thank you to the instructors and Coursera for this enriching experience, and I look forward to applying my newfound knowledge in future projects and also continuing my learning towards getting the speclialization of the this course. Love it

By Zola M

Dec 24, 2022

I recently completed the "Foundations of Project Management" course on Coursera.org and I am very satisfied with the overall quality and content of the course. The lectures were well-organized and easy to follow, and the instructor was knowledgeable and provided valuable insights and examples.

One of the things I appreciated most about the course was the practical focus on real-world applications. The course covered a range of topics, including project planning, risk management, and project control, and I feel that I gained valuable skills and knowledge that I can apply to my work as a civil engineer.

I am grateful to have had the opportunity to take this course, as it has helped me to better understand the foundations of project management and how to effectively plan and execute projects. Overall, I would highly recommend the "Foundations of Project Management" course to anyone looking to learn more about project management in the construction industry.

By Najeeb M

Dec 28, 2022

I recently completed the Foundations of Project Management course and I have to say, it was a great learning experience.

The course was well-structured and provided a thorough overview of the project management process. The lectures were engaging and the course materials were easy to follow.

One of the things I appreciated most about the course was the focus on practical application. The course not only provided a solid foundation in project management principles, but also included hands-on exercises and real-world examples to help me apply what I was learning to my own projects.

The instructors were knowledgeable and approachable, and were always available to answer any questions I had.

Overall, I highly recommend this course to anyone looking to gain a solid understanding of project management principles and techniques. It was a valuable learning experience and I feel much more equipped to tackle projects in the future.

By Nitesh S

Aug 24, 2023

"Foundations of Project Management" is an excellent course that provides a comprehensive introduction to the fundamental principles and practices of project management.

The course covers a wide range of topics, starting from the basics of project management, including defining project goals, creating project plans, and managing project schedules. It also dives into more advanced concepts such as risk management, resource allocation, and project quality management. Each topic is presented in a clear and organized manner, making it easy to follow and understand.

"Foundations of Project Management" is a highly recommended course for anyone who wants to gain a solid understanding of project management principles and practices. Whether you are a beginner or have some experience in managing projects, this course will provide you with the necessary tools and knowledge to be successful in your role as a project manager.

By Chrystian C

Oct 26, 2022

You know when you enter a new job and some senior show you the place, walking through all the departments and explaining what each one do, and from start to finish you have that big smile excitement all the time? Thats what I fell while studying "Foundations of Project Management"!

Its a big walk around through everything PM, giving us all the basic knowledge on all the concepts of the area, but leaving complex stuff for later. This is a great way to start since we can see if we like the area and what sector that we most identify with. And later on, it will be easer to see how each little piece we learn fit in the whole puzze.

I myself, from just this first module could learn and reflect how things are done in management at job, its was cool to understand how they what they did wrong and right, but for now I still dont know how those things went wrong or right. Guess its time to go for the next course!

By Eldin A

Feb 18, 2024

Google's "Foundations of Project Management" course provides valuable insights into the core principles of project management, shedding light on the crucial role and significance of a project manager. Participants will navigate through the entire lifecycle of a project, gaining an understanding of the multitude of tasks involved in steering a project from its initiation to its completion. Furthermore, participants will explore various project management methodologies and receive guidance on selecting the most suitable approach tailored to their specific project requirements. Additionally, they will recognize the paramount importance of fostering seamless team connections, as these connections have a significant impact on the success of a project. Lastly, participants will develop an understanding of how organizational structure and culture can influence the trajectory and outcomes of a project.

By Nancy T

May 28, 2024

The Foundations of Project Management course is an exemplary program that delivers an in-depth and practical understanding of project management. The curriculum is meticulously structured, covering essential areas such as project initiation, planning, execution, monitoring, and closing. Led by experienced industry professionals, the course combines theoretical knowledge and real-world applications, ensuring that learners can immediately apply what they have learned. Interactive elements such as case studies, simulations, and online group discussions enhance engagement and deepen comprehension. Additionally, the course offers flexible learning options, accommodating diverse schedules, and providing ample support and resources. This comprehensive approach makes the course an invaluable asset for anyone looking to excel in the field of project management.

By Humayun M T

Dec 19, 2023

It was a wonderful course, and I thoroughly enjoyed the content. To be honest, it exceeded my expectations in every aspect. The comprehensive coverage of each component and topic was impressive, but 1) I particularly recognize the need for further development in budgeting and cost control. 2) The course surprised me with its consistently valuable content, making every bit of it remarkably useful. 3) While every aspect intrigued me, I find myself drawn to change management, and I'm eager to delve deeper into this area to enhance my understanding and skills. 4) I would like to explore more about agile project management methodologies, such as Scrum and Kanban, as they are widely used in various industries. 5) Moreover, I would be interested in learning about advanced project risk management techniques and strategies for managing complex projects.

By Hossam E A (

Aug 31, 2023

It was a comprehensive course for all the foundations of project management. In it, I learned a lot about the foundations of project management and what is related to it, from the role of the project manager and his responsibilities and influence on it and the team members, how to overcome difficulties and act in them, project methodologies, tasks, how to use them, what is appropriate for your current legislator, the structures and culture of the organization, and everything related to project management in general. I enjoyed the instruction, and found enough to understand and know through featured videos, presentations, and small exercises that test your understanding of the lesson. It was really a very enjoyable learning process, and I will continue the rest of the courses for more skills to gain professional certification in the field.

By Maria L N

Nov 18, 2022

This is a great course and I had fun taking and at the same time learning a lot. As this course was discussed thoroughly, one of the portions I would like to learn more about is related to the change management. I saw a big opportunity in growing to that field and making a great impact not just in the team I will be working with but also to the whole organization in general. In addition, since I learned my project management skills by experience, I do not have structured knowledge and foundation on the other processes I need to consider before, during, and even after the completion of the project, so this whole course gave me a surprising experience. It made me realize I really have a lot of learnings to do to call myself a Project Manager. So, thank you, Google, for creating this course. Looking forward to its Course 2!

By RUNDE B

Mar 19, 2023

Anyone wishing to work in the field of project management has to have a solid understanding of its fundamentals. Project planning, scheduling, budgeting, risk management, quality control, and stakeholder involvement are just a few of the main topics and principles covered in this course. Important subjects covered in the course include project governance, leadership, communication, and team management, as well as organizational culture and structure.

This course's emphasis on practical project management applications is one of its advantages. Examples are used throughout the course to assist students to understand how project management ideas and principles are used in various situations and sectors. Using project management approaches like Waterfall, Agile, and Hybrid is also emphasized in the training.

By Mateusz R W

Feb 27, 2023

Very comprehensive introduction to project management with a basic overview of all you need to know. It provides the learner with all the necessary information to better understand the bigger picture, before diving into the specifics covered in the subsequent modules within this course. The material is very engaging, with a wide range of learning methods, including end-of-week quizzes, drag-and-drop/categorisation activities, discussion prompts and in-video MCQs which check your understanding as you watch (my personal favourite!). The instructor is excellent and very engaging, without making it sound cringe. On top of that, there are many short video stories from Google project management specialists sharing their career journeys. All in all, a very good introduction to the world of project management.

By Rufus F R j

May 7, 2022

Emilio, [the instructor/presenter for this course] (was) is outstanding. The course is very well organized, and the content covered many subject areas. The videos are interesting and entertaining. All of the project assignments are useful. The course provided many tools to help learners. The required tests were at times thought provoking while being good learning tools in and of themselves. The featured Google employees all had fascinating stories to tell, and they gave many words of encouragement and good advice. Many resources are available to learners also. I really enjoyed this course, and I am looking forware to course 2. In closing, I wish to thank Google and Coursera for offering this course to learners who wish to better their lives. THANK YOU GOOGLE! THANK YOU COURSERA!

By MOHAMAD Z A B M A

Mar 19, 2024

The best online courses ever. I have managed to learnt so many new things about how to initiate and manage the project till its closed. The instructor, Emilio was so helpful and so caliber as he always managed on explaining some of the complex concept very easily and managed to make me have more understanding regarding the topics. He also made me reflected on my past maaging the project which was a nice touch. Also, cannnot forget how the entire google team in this courses was so dedicated in teaching through this courses and it made me feel appreciative and motivated to learn even more. It was such a valuable experience for me and make my curiosity for learning new knowledge regarding project management just keep getting bigger. Thank you so much Google Project Management Team

By Rabih E H

May 30, 2023

I took this course with the aim of advancing my IT career and taking on more responsibility in project management. I wanted to gain the knowledge and skills necessary to lead and manage projects in my current company and future organizations.

The introductory course provided a perfect foundation for me, as it covered all the essential terminologies and roles of a project manager. It has given me a clear understanding of what steps I need to take to specialize in this field. I thoroughly enjoyed all the modules of the course, and the quizzes were particularly challenging but rewarding. They required me to focus and put in extra effort to pass, which was a great learning experience.

I want to express my gratitude for the course and the valuable insights it has provided.

By Nicolas L

Apr 14, 2022

First of all, thank you to the course's intructor for his clear explainations , his smile and the energy he shares during each one of the course's videos! That was a great part of why I engaged and kept the momentum during the course.

Then, the concepts and different inputs of the course are very valuable when it comes to project management and are a very good introduction to whoever is willing to know more about it!

Learnt a lot but most of all, I now feel more confident about skills I have regarding project management I didn't know about before taking the course.

Great content (I would say starting week 2 though as week 1 is the introduction of the introduction ;)) and the mix between videos and lectures are just perfect to learn the way you feel more confortable with.

By Ibsen G

Feb 29, 2024

This Project Management course provided a comprehensive and insightful journey through the key aspects of project initiation. The content was well-structured, covering essential concepts such as project goals, documentation, key roles, and tools. The scenarios and practical exercises were particularly effective in applying theoretical knowledge to real-world situations. The emphasis on understanding the role of a project manager and the tools available for successful project execution was enlightening. The course not only equipped me with valuable skills but also sparked an interest in exploring more advanced project management methodologies. Overall, a well-crafted and engaging course that lays a strong foundation for anyone aspiring to excel in project management.