Chevron Left
Back to Foundations of Project Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Foundations of Project Management by Google

4.9
stars
81,615 ratings

About the Course

This course is the first in a series of six to equip you with the skills you need to apply to introductory-level roles in project management. Project managers play a key role in leading, planning and implementing critical projects to help their organizations succeed. In this course, you’ll discover foundational project management terminology and gain a deeper understanding of the role and responsibilities of a project manager. We’ll also introduce you to the kinds of jobs you might pursue after completing this program. Throughout the program, you’ll learn from current Google project managers, who can provide you with a multi-dimensional educational experience that will help you build your skills for on-the-job application. Learners who complete this program should be equipped to apply for introductory-level jobs as project managers. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Define project management and describe what constitutes a project. - Explore project management roles and responsibilities across a variety of industries. - Detail the core skills that help a project manager be successful. - Describe the life cycle of a project and explain the significance of each phase. - Compare different program management methodologies and approaches and determine which is most effective for a given project. - Define organizational structure and culture and explain how it impacts project management. - Define change management and describe the role of the project manager in the process....

Top reviews

BC

Invalid date

This course is very helpful for those who want to kick start their career in project management field. It is highly interactive and covers basics of project management thoroughly. I really enjoyed it.

LL

Invalid date

Very informative and thorough! I've finished this course with so much knowledge that can be applied to the workforce. Everything is laid out in easy to follow and efficient steps. Couldn't be happier!

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 10,000 Reviews for Foundations of Project Management

By Edyta K

Sep 19, 2021

This course was not only too easy (which might be understandable as the Foundation of PM) but there was no creativity possible with answering the questions (typical test approach here you have to stick to the definitions in your responses) and the whole course is based mainly on "talking", which is not the best option for PM principles. I also observed quite limited interest of other participants in optional activities.

By Isabella V

Apr 12, 2021

Too video-heavy needs more visuals, charts & diagrams to supplement the videos, making the course more engaging and easier to take in.

By Mari L

Nov 23, 2021

Completely waste of $40. Information of this course could be in 1 video, since it is basis. Of course they enlarge it for 4 weeks to say that it is a course and get your money. Most of information is like "nice to know", but not applicable for the real job. So, you can get this info for free or buy cheaper course which will be more useful for your career. The only good point of that course is a certificate of completion. It will work for your CV, HRs like "Google" certificates and other stuff like that.

By YASR A K

Jan 6, 2022

The contents is good but the system accessing is very unstable. When I need a support, it's never can contact them. They have no email or phone no. to contact except the help center which is no way to access when you have problem with accessing.

By Charlie M

Nov 4, 2021

This is a joke. You can pass the entire course without listening to or reading any of the course materials because this is all common knowledge or easily figured out just with a basic level of common intelligence.

By Mohamed Y

Sep 10, 2023

very bad, they just add many words and stupid questions without any practical learning, it is really waste of time. i prefer udemy much better than this course. they focus on practical teaching.

By Jordan G

Jul 5, 2022

The title of the course is self-explanatory as it truly consists of the foundations of project management. If you have any routine experience working with Agile-Scrum, Waterfall, or Lean Six Sigma, this will be a piece of cake for you, though you may learn more nuanced and interpersonal qualities required in project management and may still find the real-life application job search, keyword use, and interview-style sections of information useful. If the Agile, Waterfall, or Lean Six Sigma methodologies are unfamiliar to you, this will be an excellent place for you to start.

The course is simple and easy to understand and follow. The quizzes are not difficult if you consume the course material as it's designed. The course includes a handy digital note-taking feature, but I preferred to take notes by hand for retention.

To answer a common question: Yes, you can complete the first course in less time than it says it will take. While the course claims to take 4 weeks, someone who's unemployed, not in school, doesn't have kids, and isn't a caregiver can probably complete the entire first course in 11-16 hours. You can earn the first course's certificate (not the Professional Certificate) as soon as you finish the final quiz, at your own pace.

***IMPORTANT FOR THOSE APPLYING FOR FINANCIAL AID*** If you apply for financial aid to take this Foundations of Project Management course and want financial aid for the other 5 courses in this 6-course Professional Certificate program, know that you will have to separately apply for financial aid for each of the other 5 courses in this 6-course Professional Certificate program. The financial aid application does not umbrella apply to all 6 courses. If you know that you want to take all six and you believe you'll be able to take them quickly in succession, I recommend applying for each of the six courses on the same day or in the same week so that you can progress through all six courses without delay. Otherwise, you have to apply for financial aid for the second course and wait another two weeks after you finish the first course to hear back about your application, and so on. The six courses are listed on the Google Project Management Professional Certificate page about halfway down. Open each one and click on the Financial Aid link to apply to each one separately.

By Faruk A J

Apr 4, 2023

The project management course covered essential skills, roles, and career paths for project managers. It also provided insights into project lifecycles and different approaches to managing projects. While some concepts were familiar, others were entirely new and insightful. The critical role of project governance and change management was also highlighted, which impacts project success. The course content helped me to identify project management responsibilities that appeal more to me than others. Overall, the course has been an informative and engaging learning experience.

By Chisunum E F

Mar 7, 2023

I am so impressed with various styles used in passing on the course content; It was fun and engaging. Completing this course gave me great insight on understanding the core roles, responsibilities, skills and values a project manager brings to the team for successful project delivery. This course equipped me with the different project management approaches with which to effectively deliver various project of varied nature and requirements. Also learning of organizational structure and culture gives that edge to easily align with team and stakeholders for project success.

By Omnia S

May 26, 2022

This course was great. I loved the content, although in the first 2 weeks there were repeated information but in general it was JUST WHAT I NEEDED to manage the project I was working on.

The amount of content was just right. There were videos where google employees spoke about project management which were one of my favourite parts, it was a good break.

The quizzes were perfect and I love the correcting criteria.

I totally recommend it. You will have so much fun learning.

I am so excited to start course 2 of the program.

By Amir A - H

Mar 25, 2023

The Foundations of Project Management course by Google provides a comprehensive introduction to the fundamental skills, roles, and career paths in project management. The course covers various aspects of project management, such as the project lifecycle, different approaches to managing projects (e.g., Agile, Waterfall), stakeholder management, risk identification and mitigation, and the importance of understanding organizational culture and structure.

By Michelle B

May 21, 2021

Excellent course. Really enjoyed the content from start to finish. I initially had thought it would take me about three weeks to finish as I'm doing two other certificate programs as well plus working as a freelancer and studying for graduate school exams but I ended up finishing it in only a week as the material was so enjoyable I decided to put aside more time and finish it a lot quicker. Looking forward to course two and beyond!

By Michael B

Aug 9, 2021

I managed to complete this in about a week. The class structure is very well thought out and I love how it is. There are short videos along with short reading lessons. The quizzes are also short. I find it works best, for me, to take about a week's worth of courses a day. Any more than that and I start losing focus and start failing the quizzes, so don't overdo yourself. The instructor and guests are amazing. Great job!

By Sucilla H

Aug 3, 2023

Exceptionally desifgned and delivered program that open doors to possibilities in project management. Difficulty level phases are well designed and concepts are well scaffolded as they gradually allowed the learner to experience progressive learning.

An opportunity for improvement exists at times, in how questions are structured and anwers are articulated.Overall - excellent and highly recommend for beginners to PM

By David O O

Jun 6, 2022

Overall, the intro is well balanced and informative. I feel like I have the required knowledge to proceed to course #2. My only criticism would be that some of the test questions were worded poorly, in that it was difficult to understand the question. It would be awesome if there was a way to click on the question for an alternative wording or a more in depth explanation. Thank you so much for these courses!

By Ramón L M

Apr 11, 2021

This course has been a rush for me. I've loved every minute of it, and I've learned so much! I started this journey with almost no knowlege about project management, neither I knew if it would be of any interest for me. Now I find myself ansious to keep going and learn more! The course is impecable, the teachers are amazing, it's full of useful infographics and the challenges are fun! Totally recomended!

By Viorica C

Mar 19, 2021

The course is informative, easy to navigate, the videos and the real-stories are a pleasure to watch. The quizzes helped review what part of the material should be re-watched or read again. Discussion forums help connect with other people and read insights from others. The glossary comes in handy as well for definitions. Thanks a lot for all the hard work that was put behind building this amazing course!

By Jason Z

Aug 26, 2022

Easy to understand, but packed with really valuable information, especially if you have any background in management. As an outsource manager, I've been looking for ways to broaden my professional horizons, and project management correlates nicely with outsource management. So far, I have began to piece together the overlap of these 2 career paths, and I'm excited to learn more and apply this knowledge.

By Tanya P

Aug 17, 2022

This journey into Learning Project Management through Google has been such a wonderful and beginner friendly introduction! It's facisinating to be able to relate and implement my own experiences into what I am learning with my experiences with my current company, and I loved the stories and the diverse background of the Googlers that gave their time to talking to us in the course. See you in Course 2!

By Anibrata B

Jun 23, 2023

Very comprehensively designed course. The content was good. Materials presented were systematic and organized to retain one's attention and interest. Transition from one section to another was also very smooth; overall layout of the modules and presentation was catchy. Had my interest throughout!

By Tabitha P

Jun 24, 2023

Great course. Gives you A LOT of information (none of which was unnecessary). I'm really glad I decided to take this course.

By VIshnu V

Dec 5, 2022

This course is making me more confident for applying new roles that lead to field of project management

By Syed S A

May 26, 2022

This course perfectly covers the main ingredients that helps make a PM successful in his field.

By Ajinkya P

Jun 5, 2022

Very thoughtful course really appriciated for the great information.

By Apurv G

Sep 9, 2023

GOOD COURSE NEED MORE TIME SUBSCRIPTION IS HIGH