Chevron Left
Back to Foundations of Project Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Foundations of Project Management by Google

4.9
stars
80,635 ratings

About the Course

This course is the first in a series of six to equip you with the skills you need to apply to introductory-level roles in project management. Project managers play a key role in leading, planning and implementing critical projects to help their organizations succeed. In this course, you’ll discover foundational project management terminology and gain a deeper understanding of the role and responsibilities of a project manager. We’ll also introduce you to the kinds of jobs you might pursue after completing this program. Throughout the program, you’ll learn from current Google project managers, who can provide you with a multi-dimensional educational experience that will help you build your skills for on-the-job application. Learners who complete this program should be equipped to apply for introductory-level jobs as project managers. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Define project management and describe what constitutes a project. - Explore project management roles and responsibilities across a variety of industries. - Detail the core skills that help a project manager be successful. - Describe the life cycle of a project and explain the significance of each phase. - Compare different program management methodologies and approaches and determine which is most effective for a given project. - Define organizational structure and culture and explain how it impacts project management. - Define change management and describe the role of the project manager in the process....

Top reviews

DT

Jul 23, 2023

The course is well design and very interactive. I don't have prior experience of Project Management. But Course help me to understand various jargon associated with Project management in a simple way.

LD

Aug 11, 2021

I loved this course. It was so informative. I took a lot of notes and hope to implement everything I've learned in real-life instances. I look forward to advancing professionally as a project manager.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 10,000 Reviews for Foundations of Project Management

By Nicholas L

Sep 2, 2021

Great material, unfortunately "at your own pace" is false advertising. The course will lock assignments to prevent you from finishing the course quickly seemingly to assure they can collect your monthly charge over the span of multiple months.

By Astrogildo G

Mar 28, 2021

Hi Google Team,

At the conclusion of the 1st course of the series, allow me to share some relevante thoughts.

All in all, I found the course contente very instructive and pretty well delivered . However, I was quite astonished (and, confess, rather disappointed) with the fact that the course does not follow the established and commonly accepted industry standards as outlined in sources such as PMI's PMBOK.

For example, the project life cycle was described as composed of 4 phases instead of 5, as the commonly accepted in the industry (by including Monitoring and Controlling). Besides, the course identifies only 2 types of organizational structures instead of 3 the commonly accepted, omitting the Projectized Structure; besides, the Matrix structure was not clearly defined by correctly breaking it down into its 3 types (weak matrix, balanced matrix and strong matrix).

I regard those omissions and inaccuracies too severe to be present in course with the extent/scope and deepness of this one and the overall certificate program.

Aside from those failures, the content and the presentation were very good.

Keep up the good work Instructor Emílio and Google Team!

Kind regards,

Astro

By Tan S Y D I

Mar 23, 2021

I kid you not if you are serious about starting in Project Management, this is a solid course that will put a paid course I took to shame. It's possible to clear all 4 weeks in 5 days within the free trial. Material every week is impeccably well put together, primed with videos, quizzes, bite-sized information detail. Simply put, this course is for budding Project Managers by experienced Project Managers. You won't be short-changed if you decided to give it a try, in fact, I feel like I ripped them off with so much knowledge I'm getting!

By Mahidur R

Nov 28, 2021

Learned a lot such as Agile, C-Suite, Change management, Corporate governance, Culture mapping, DMAIC, Kanban, Lean, Lean Six Sigma, Linear, Matrix structure, Reporting chart, Six Sigma etc. Thank you

By Bhanupriya C

Dec 27, 2021

This course is very helpful for those who want to kick start their career in project management field. It is highly interactive and covers basics of project management thoroughly. I really enjoyed it.

By Jean K

Oct 6, 2021

Very informative and thorough! I've finished this course with so much knowledge that can be applied to the workforce. Everything is laid out in easy to follow and efficient steps. Couldn't be happier!

By Lissa D

Aug 12, 2021

I loved this course. It was so informative. I took a lot of notes and hope to implement everything I've learned in real-life instances. I look forward to advancing professionally as a project manager.

By Lance A

Apr 27, 2021

Gives a solid background understanding to starting with project management and explains concepts such as organizational culture/structure and project management practices such as agile and waterfall.

By Logeshwari.k

Jan 19, 2022

Very informative and thorough! I've finished this course with so much knowledge that can be applied to the workforce. Everything is laid out in easy to follow and efficient steps. Couldn't be happier!

By S O

Apr 12, 2022

So much information was packaged in this course but it was so well organized and delivered that I was compelled to complete every segment. Well timed quizzes helped to ensure my comprehension as well.

By Shadae H

Jun 12, 2021

Very well put together and interactive, I love the team incorporated pop up questions in the videos this really helped with the learning process. I'm also impressed at how accurate the transcript it.

By Daniella D

Apr 6, 2021

Love the use of video and text simultaneously which are then elaborated on in the readings. I appreciate the practice quizzes as optional so you can skip content you already know. Very flexible!!

By Eric S

Mar 12, 2021

Excellent. As someone who has a project management credential (PMP) and has been involved with PMI for years, I think the Google team has done an excellent job of creating solid introductory content. I found the course fun and informative.

By Sarah G

May 29, 2022

The information is great, the platform is terrible. I loved learning from Google PM's, I love the practice activities, and the scinarios the teachers used, but I hated the peer reviewd documents. I have ben an educator for 12 years prior to my career move and everything I know to be true about assessment was ignored in this entire 6 course program.

Peer reviews are incredably frustrating. One peer accesses your work and give you great marks with awesome feedback. The next person has trouble opening your document so they give you all 0's and you have to start again. This occured for most of my work in this program. I spent the last week of my "learning" begging my peers to review my work in the discussion boards. On average, I would say that I had to resubmit each one of my peer reviewd assignments 3 times. Then there was the posting in the discussion board and "returning the favor" by grading even more of my peer's work. This is not a system that works. With the course fee being what it is, I'd prefer to have my work graded by instructors.

Lastly, when I did finish a course I was prompted by Coursera to "verify my ID." I've been verifying my ID for completed coursrses for weeks now, every time I log in, and the promt never goes away. So I figured when I did complete the course, it would be a surprise what name appeared on my certificate. I've completed and I'm being prompted now to "purchase certificate." Clicking on that button, again, does nothing. I've been doing this for 3 days. I don't know how much the purchase is, who's name (if any) will be on it, or how long it will take to get it.

I begin a new career in July and I thought starting this course in late April would be enough time to complete it and provide my new employer with certification. I worked really hard to get the classwork done quickly, little did I know that the hardest and most time consuming part of the process was just getting Coursera to work. Also, don't count on the moble app to be any help. As long as you have the work posted, it shows you have completed 100%. This is great until you log into the website and it says 97% and tells you that you failed 3 more of your peer reviewed assignments (with feedback saying "I can't access your PDF or Google Doc." Then the cycle continues: re-posting, begging for help in the discussion board, returning the favor of grading MORE of your peers work, praying people who can't access your work don't fail you (and just skip past yours). It is infuriating!

I am a Google Certified Educator and I loved that program. I learned so much! I was really hopeful that this learning would be of the same quality. Sadly, it was not.

By Immad M K

May 4, 2021

It was reall good to learn from such nice professionals. The course is well designed and it keeps your interest alive till last minute. Really learned a lot from this. Thank you Google and Coursera.

By Reynally C

Dec 21, 2022

This course 1 is so clear that I can even apply it to my daily routine! I want to explore more about Project Management. Thank you, Google: Coursera for making this happen to those who lack knowledge.

By Tamara C

Mar 15, 2021

I enjoyed the course overall, but wish there was a way to create/save notes in other areas besides the videos. It would be helpful to highlight or bookmark content from the readings or case studies.

By Victor A D l R

Aug 11, 2023

Great introductory course to Project Mangement. Easy to digest and retain information. Lessons are easily applied in real life leadership and project management roles.

By Michael B

Mar 23, 2021

This course delivers what it promises! It is an excellent introduction to the foundations of project management: Waterfall, Agile, PMI, Scrum, Lean Six Sigma, teams, tools, resources, psychology, culture and more - all covered in a beginner friendly, well paced course.

Emilio is a knowledgeable instructor and an excellent presenter, a pleasure to listen to and learn from in video after video. I wouldn't be surprised to see him on TV one day.

Highly recommended for anyone looking for an introduction to modern project management best practices.

By Sharon C

Oct 11, 2022

Very informative. Did not realize there was more in order to get the certificate. Need to be more transparent with the actual course agenda and allow for a less controlled way to get thru the courses.

By SUMALATA C

Nov 11, 2022

It was a fantastic learning experience with a knowledge of project management information. The team as a whole did a fantastic job of demonstrating their individual perspectives on project management.

By Yaman B

Mar 25, 2021

I will be very honest, at first I thought the course would be a replica of the material being provided by the PMI for their PMP exam. However, and while there is a clear connection, the material and they way it is being presented in the Course is truly creative and complete set out a new standard of project management education. I really thank everyone who help preparing this course as I added a lot for me and I look forward to complete the next courses in the specialization.

By Mayank K

Sep 11, 2021

Gives a solid background understanding to starting with project management and explains concepts such as organizational culture/structure and project management practices such as agile and waterfall.

By Hitesh L

Apr 18, 2021

In this course I learnt so many things related to Project Management. Study contents are very conceptual clarity and very valuable information I get. I want to learn more about Project Management.

By Thomas S

Mar 16, 2021

This course provided me with the information that I needed to know if this career is something that I would be interested in. It also gave me a quick look into the world of project management.