Chevron Left
Back to Python Programming Essentials

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Programming Essentials by Rice University

4.8
stars
2,993 ratings
748 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce you to the wonderful world of Python programming! We'll learn about the essential elements of programming and how to construct basic Python programs. We will cover expressions, variables, functions, logic, and conditionals, which are foundational concepts in computer programming. We will also teach you how to use Python modules, which enable you to benefit from the vast array of functionality that is already a part of the Python language. These concepts and skills will help you to begin to think like a computer programmer and to understand how to go about writing Python programs. By the end of the course, you will be able to write short Python programs that are able to accomplish real, practical tasks. This course is the foundation for building expertise in Python programming. As the first course in a specialization, it provides the necessary building blocks for you to succeed at learning to write more complex Python programs. This course uses Python 3. While many Python programs continue to use Python 2, Python 3 is the future of the Python programming language. This first course will use a Python 3 version of the CodeSkulptor development environment, which is specifically designed to help beginning programmers learn quickly. CodeSkulptor runs within any modern web browser and does not require you to install any software, allowing you to start writing and running small programs immediately. In the later courses in this specialization, we will help you to move to more sophisticated desktop development environments....

Top reviews

RS
Apr 27, 2021

A really good course good material and lectures. However, I find that sometimes that too much guidance given, and it has sort of made the course less challanging. nevertheless a good foundation course

HR
Jul 3, 2020

This course is such a wonder!! In spite of being an unenthusiastic Computer Science undergraduate, it was this course that cultivated the interest in me. Both the instructors were too good. Thanks :0

Filter by:

726 - 749 of 749 Reviews for Python Programming Essentials

By Chan C M

May 22, 2021

I hope there is a Jupiter notebook inside the course. If the course actually force you to complete the programming exercises with test cases provided it will be better.

By Jash S

Apr 16, 2020

The course was really great and the instructors are really cool!

The only problem being the over-stubborn and strict style of final assessment.

By Madhubalini V

Sep 17, 2020

the course needs more practices in the learning session but its straightaway leading to large projects and its very difficult for a beginner.

By Priyesh

Jan 24, 2018

It was a pretty good course, I think I learnt well.. but I don't think the OwlTest on the final assignment didn't need to be so strict.

By Shahrzad M

Dec 14, 2020

The course didn't cover all of the essentials for python programming in my opinion. Missing for loops, lists, etc.

By Junwei

Mar 21, 2019

A fairly good course for the beginners of python but I think there is more to teach for a beginner.

By Christian B

Oct 2, 2019

i appreciated the exercises. The explanations were too long and redundant, especially the talking.

By Shouvik P

Sep 12, 2020

It was good but many topics are not covered like while loop,try,except statements etc.

By Manoj S

Nov 5, 2019

course content is good but the quiz questions are not clear to understand

By 谢雨敖

Feb 12, 2020

I cannot open the marking system of the final project.

By emad t

Jul 17, 2020

Thank you, and forward.

By Moiz L

Jan 5, 2018

Good practice materials

By Heiko H

Jul 13, 2018

to basic

By Weerachai Y

Jun 23, 2020

thanks

By Taraksa R

Jun 27, 2020

good

By rahul j u

Oct 7, 2021

bounder by courses

By Analog t

Aug 16, 2021

decent course until the final project. that was a case where you need to know one or two syntax related things found nowhere on hte internet and just have to end up trying a trillion different things by guessing until something ends up working

By Susan C R

May 21, 2018

There was insufficient instruction in order to do the project. When I asked for help, I was given examples that didn't work. I was not guided to any additional reading amterial. I read all the material provided and watched all the videos.

By Ngomo-Ngomo K

Jun 9, 2020

I would like to drop this class I barely understand , forcing myself but unfortunately I am not getting there . The training is not hands on

By Olga G

Apr 23, 2018

The course did not cover all the information needed to complete the final

By Manjegowda H

Sep 22, 2020

Verification process is big issue for getting certificate

By SRI V K

Jul 14, 2019

Not a bit of scripting taught in the entire course

By Goarang K

Jun 5, 2020

due to lack of providing practical knoledge