Chevron Left
Back to Python Data Representations

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Data Representations by Rice University

4.7
stars
1,063 ratings
180 reviews

About the Course

This course will continue the introduction to Python programming that started with Python Programming Essentials. We'll learn about different data representations, including strings, lists, and tuples, that form the core of all Python programs. We will also teach you how to access files, which will allow you to store and retrieve data within your programs. These concepts and skills will help you to manipulate data and write more complex Python programs. By the end of the course, you will be able to write Python programs that can manipulate data stored in files. This will extend your Python programming expertise, enabling you to write a wide range of scripts using Python This course uses Python 3. While most Python programs continue to use Python 2, Python 3 is the future of the Python programming language. This course introduces basic desktop Python development environments, allowing you to run Python programs directly on your computer. This choice enables a smooth transition from online development environments....

Top reviews

LF

Sep 10, 2020

Exceptional course, well guided with very good examples and very accurate tips for how to code. This course is a bit challenging but when you finish it. You feel so realized, don't be afraid to try.

JA

Aug 1, 2019

This course is really fantastic for beginners and those who want to start learning python. Instructors teach the essentials and principles of the python language patiently and fun.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 182 Reviews for Python Data Representations

By ram m

Jun 27, 2020

It's a good course for those who want to know the basic concepts of python programming

By sameer

Oct 23, 2018

Tougher than 1st part of the series, that's why i am giving 3 stars:) Just kidding.

By Jorge A S H

Jul 10, 2019

Es un buen curso, pero falta abordar sin fin de temas, diccionarios, por ejemplo

By S V G R

Jul 29, 2021

quiz questions are good and tricky. Assignment is also thoughtful...Thank you

By Ashokraj B

May 27, 2020

very informative and constructively material prepared for python

By Amit C

Aug 26, 2020

Good course that teaches how to read and write from files.

By KRISHNA A V N

Jan 12, 2018

Excellent course! with challenging assignments.

By Peter

Apr 4, 2019

The programming project is very interesting !

By disha g

Dec 13, 2019

it is a basic course. good for beginners.

By valmir b

Dec 23, 2017

I liked the projects quite a bit!

By Belén T

Dec 9, 2020

Typing errors in the documents.

By Mary A H

Jun 25, 2018

Too easy, but comprehensive.

By Sebastián R B

Jul 4, 2020

really good!

By Rohit K C

May 29, 2020

good course

By Dibyendu b b

Apr 20, 2020

thank you

By Manoj S

Nov 7, 2019

good one

By Carl M

Apr 19, 2018

Weeks up to the capstone project were good. The last week has issues in my opinion. The projects' documentation isn't what I would expect if you were teaching beginners. It lacks key examples that would help explain some of the items you are to complete. It may be just me, but I had to read the projects several times and even then I may not have gotten the concept. In other words, it isn't plain English. I finally gave up and asked in the discussion forum. Save yourself some time, if you don't understand use the forum.

By Erik F

Dec 29, 2021

Decent overview of the fundamentals of strings, lists, and tuples in Python, and how to manipulate them. The course doesn't do a good job of spanning the gap from the fundamentals shown in lectures/readings and more complex programs / algorithmic thinking required for some quiz questions and the project (this is evident from other reviews/discussion forum). The discussion forum also seems to be mostly dead, limiting its usefulness for active learning.

By Robert B

Jul 9, 2018

I feel the instructors tried to jam too much into this course. Some of the videos should have been longer with better explanations. They were talking so fast to force it into a short video, that I actually had to slow the replay down, and also pause, so that they would talk normally and not jump to the next topic too quick.

By Juan A

Dec 22, 2021

In the final project, it was tough to understand what was needed for multiline_diff function without proper unit tests for my machine. I think it would be worth giving students a practice problem that is like that function. Simply reading the text it gets confusing.

By Ali S

Apr 1, 2020

Nice course with interesting material but the final project is waaaaay too dofficult for what is taught in the course. There is no chance anyone could answer the questions without massive help after just taking the first two courses of this series.

By Kristoffer H

Mar 26, 2018

Lacks the modern functionality of Coursera courses made by University of Michigan which incorporates Jupyter notebooks into the course making homework assignments more awkward than they need to be.

By Sinem A

Mar 3, 2020

up until final project, course was very good, well explanatory. But the level of final project on week 4 was too high for a beginner who took only python Programming essentials and this course.

By Pratyush A

Sep 6, 2020

The course starts off easy. The professors are very nice and teach us the basics but the final assignment is extremely tough. Hard to complete it.

By Matthew W

Jul 15, 2018

Projects could have been a little better explained and more straight forward. Learned a lot of problem-solving skills, however.