Chevron Left
Back to Python and Statistics for Financial Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python and Statistics for Financial Analysis by The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

4.4
stars
2,051 ratings
456 reviews

About the Course

Course Overview: https://youtu.be/JgFV5qzAYno Python is now becoming the number 1 programming language for data science. Due to python’s simplicity and high readability, it is gaining its importance in the financial industry. The course combines both python coding and statistical concepts and applies into analyzing financial data, such as stock data. By the end of the course, you can achieve the following using python: - Import, pre-process, save and visualize financial data into pandas Dataframe - Manipulate the existing financial data by generating new variables using multiple columns - Recall and apply the important statistical concepts (random variable, frequency, distribution, population and sample, confidence interval, linear regression, etc. ) into financial contexts - Build a trading model using multiple linear regression model - Evaluate the performance of the trading model using different investment indicators Jupyter Notebook environment is configured in the course platform for practicing python coding without installing any client applications....

Top reviews

EJ

Aug 04, 2019

Great course! Very didatic explanations about financial and statistical concepts also with some interesting practical Python for Finance! Looking forward for new courses from same Univ. and prof.!

LH

Mar 24, 2020

A very good introduction course to python programming and it has a perfect combination with statistics, which makes financial analysis more interesting and refresh my mind on it, thanks.

Filter by:

426 - 450 of 452 Reviews for Python and Statistics for Financial Analysis

By Hriju S

Jul 27, 2020

its a good learning experience for me

By dhruvi

Sep 26, 2020

the content is amazing but outdated

By DAWN M 1

Apr 13, 2020

It was a bit hard to follow

By Chutian Z

Feb 10, 2020

The topics are interesting and some basic statistics/finance knowledge are required for the learner. The cons of this course is there are no coding practices or homework. The Jupyter Notebook included after each lesson basically asks you to copy and paste the syntax provided. The student's knowledge base is evaluated only through simple quizzes, which I found absolutely insufficient. Only when the hands get dirty can a student actually master the coding skills. I won't recommend this course.

需要一些基本的统计学和金融知识,但没有作业自己不用输代码,coding skill得不到训练,不推荐。

By Volodymyr M

May 20, 2020

I really cannot recommend this course. Course tries to touch two major topics: Financial Risk Management and Statistics. In both disciplines course is only scratching surface of the subject without going into any details. Just for quantitive estimation, FRM is 100+ hours of material, Statistics - another 200+ hours. Whole course contains definitely less than 4 hours of lectures.

On the other hand - course is some sort of source of topics you need to find yourself over Internet and learn yourself.

By Daniel

Jul 03, 2020

Part of the code doesn't work. To fix it it is needed to go to Python documentation and do research

A lot of statistics concept are not quite well explained. The course should include more detailed explanations or at lease some links where the this information can be studied

The results of the trading system implemented in the curse are not the one that you will obtain

By Nico M

Nov 25, 2019

Too many mistakes in the use of English throughout the course made it hard for me to follow the course properly without getting annoyed. The instructor's English was terrible as well, just too many mistakes, which made it impossible to follow without subtitles. The content was good though which is why it deserves two points.

By Victor M

Nov 06, 2019

I was hoping for a little more from this course. While it effectively combines statistics, finance and python, it does not go into great detail in any of the three. There are spelling mistakes and the audio quality is not great. For me the most useful part was learning the python functions and syntax.

By Lale N

May 28, 2020

i am happy with subject and course syllabus but if the data that the lecturer worked on them, was available the course would be much more useful,

without the data, it was just some code that we were watching.

thank you coursera :)

By Nicolas P

Sep 01, 2019

I would change the title. It has little practical content on trade, and explains more statistical methods.I would call it "how to use and graph statistics in python, with some trade samples".

By Mohini J

Mar 21, 2020

The course tried to cover a lot but wasn't really helpful for those who didn't have basic knowledge of either Python or Statistics

By Panguluri B T

Jul 10, 2020

Poor Explanation of topics, was in a very hurry to complete than in explaining the concepts in depth. Did not reach expectations.

By HIMANSHU V

Aug 13, 2019

Lectures are not very informative. Things are said directly and not explained well. Sadly I paid $50 for this.

By Danny w

May 06, 2020

The teacher need to learn better pronunciation and slower pacing

By Eliad H

Mar 12, 2019

very basic,

not improving python skills

By Lubie W

Aug 10, 2020

This course teaches statistics more than Python coding. The codes are not well explained or even not explained by the instructor. The instructor spent more time on statistics concepts than going through the Python coding. I learned very little about Python in this course.

By Liem J L

Nov 15, 2019

Should be better explained. Could not get past the first few lines in the practical. Looked at the discussion board and people were saying it was because the course is outdated and the code he explained might not even work with the version we were using

By Rhoit A

Jun 08, 2020

Only Suitable if you Have already learned Finance and Statistics, more focus is towards Statistics. What I don't like unnecessary and misuse use of Pandas and statsmodels which could have kept the exercise simpler.

By Abu S M A

Aug 13, 2020

Worst Course, This course makes my interest of learning down when I start to continue it. The language is wired and boring. Topics seem not effective and interesting. I unenroll it in after 2 weeks.

By Nitish S

May 17, 2020

For an Intermediate level course, it was not at all challenging. The course was too short, and I felt a lot more content could have been added. Also, need challenging assignments!

By Jack M

Apr 26, 2020

Horribly worded questions. Difficult to understand the lecturer. Week 1 was good to practice python. Week 2 was awful.

By Sean S

Nov 26, 2019

The code examples and quizzes have not been properly reviewed and there were multiple mistakes in them.

By Marshall T

May 26, 2020

codes are not updated to python 3. Also little opportunity to apply codes in IDLE/Anacdona yourself.

By Avnish A

Mar 26, 2020

very vague and non detailed explanations from week 2. almost impossible to catch up.

week 1 was good

By Ohad s

Oct 02, 2020

the instructor is not understandable and don't really explain the material