Chevron Left
Back to Data Science in Real Life

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Science in Real Life by Johns Hopkins University

4.4
1,494 ratings
175 reviews

About the Course

Have you ever had the perfect data science experience? The data pull went perfectly. There were no merging errors or missing data. Hypotheses were clearly defined prior to analyses. Randomization was performed for the treatment of interest. The analytic plan was outlined prior to analysis and followed exactly. The conclusions were clear and actionable decisions were obvious. Has that every happened to you? Of course not. Data analysis in real life is messy. How does one manage a team facing real data analyses? In this one-week course, we contrast the ideal with what happens in real life. By contrasting the ideal, you will learn key concepts that will help you manage real life analyses. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on doing data science in real life. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know how to: 1, Describe the “perfect” data science experience 2. Identify strengths and weaknesses in experimental designs 3. Describe possible pitfalls when pulling / assembling data and learn solutions for managing data pulls. 4. Challenge statistical modeling assumptions and drive feedback to data analysts 5. Describe common pitfalls in communicating data analyses 6. Get a glimpse into a day in the life of a data analysis manager. The course will be taught at a conceptual level for active managers of data scientists and statisticians. Some key concepts being discussed include: 1. Experimental design, randomization, A/B testing 2. Causal inference, counterfactuals, 3. Strategies for managing data quality. 4. Bias and confounding 5. Contrasting machine learning versus classical statistical inference Course promo: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9BIYmw5wnBI Course cover image by Jonathan Gross. Creative Commons BY-ND https://flic.kr/p/q1vudb...
Highlights
Statistics review
(44 Reviews)

Top reviews

SM

Aug 20, 2017

A very good and concise course that helps to understand the basics of the Data Science and its applications. The examples are very relevant and helps to understand the topic easily.

ES

Nov 12, 2017

Highly educational course on the realities of data analysis. Many good tips for your own analyses as well as for managing others responsible for coherent and accurate analyses.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 183 Reviews for Data Science in Real Life

By Liping L

Jan 29, 2019

This is a recommended course where you understand what are the requirements for a data engineer, data manager and data scientis

By Michail C

Jul 17, 2019

This course is an excellent effort to document the issues faced in real-life data science. However, the flow of the videos seems to be a bit confusing and some of the content is explained in a weird manner.

By Aline N O

Jul 17, 2019

This course for me was the most difficult to understand. Using as example situations with health area was hard to understand how I can apply in my case. But in general, the other courses were very nice for me.

By Paulo B M d S

Jul 08, 2019

The authors really present real situation and challenges that data scientists face in their daily activities. Very good.

By Manuel E

Jul 08, 2019

Good review of everything that can go wrong… and eventually will.

By Fayez A S

Jul 07, 2019

It opened new understanding for me. Loved every bit of it.

By Carlos A H

Jun 30, 2019

Excellent overview of implementing practical data science; however, an area of improvement is emphasizing machine learning as a practical solution for finding answers especially with large and complex data sets.

By Mauricio L

Jun 22, 2019

Great course. It delivers a fantastic framework to assess the process of successful Data Science.

By jose c

Jun 11, 2019

Claridad del contenido entregado del curso

By Yonathan M P

Jun 08, 2019

Great course!!!!! Tons of useful insights!

By Omid F

May 10, 2019

Thank you very much for your excellent course.

Best Regards

Omid Faseli

By Georgios P

May 06, 2019

Very good introductory topics!

By Priyanka F P

Apr 14, 2019

Excellent technical information!

By Gustavo V

Apr 14, 2019

Help me understand what can I expect from a real data science project.

By pietbartolo

Apr 12, 2019

Very useful course! I really enjoyed the technical not so much the statistical part of the course.

By Angelina

Apr 02, 2019

The material is too long and boring.

By Alberto M B

Mar 20, 2019

It wasn't as focus on Managing Data Scientists as I was expecting, but rather focus on tips for Data Scientist.

By Jason G

Mar 18, 2019

Very informative and a good introduction into the aspects faced while doing Data Science!

By Hector R C C

Mar 17, 2019

thanks!

By BAHAR A

Feb 24, 2019

It is a helpful course about a statistical area. I recommend it.

By Jean-Michel M

Feb 22, 2019

I would drop some of the cartoons. They are funny but they seem to distract Bryan and overall it's distracting for us students too.

By Neil N

Feb 17, 2019

Good overview of the reality of the challenges in data science. A glaring miss from my perspective was any real focus on the challenges of ML/AI based analysis. This module was really focused on traditional statistical modeling

By Ng T C

Jan 27, 2019

Good learning

By Alzum S M

Jan 20, 2019

It's an excellent course. I have learnt a lot.

By Shafeeq S

Jan 08, 2019

Not that engaging content.Too much theoretical approach.