Chevron Left
Back to Driving business towards the Sustainable Development Goals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Driving business towards the Sustainable Development Goals by Erasmus University Rotterdam

4.8
stars
500 ratings
137 reviews

About the Course

Extreme weather events, wars, famine and environmental destruction are just a few of the wicked problems faced by humanity. That’s why in 2015 the United Nations adopted the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development. This agenda includes 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) that target the big challenges such as how to eliminate poverty, how to protect the environment and how to bring about peace. Every member state committed to achieving these goals by 2030. What can businesses do to counter climate change and create a sustainable business culture? Why is this relevant for business anyway? Explore how business can contribute to a better future for people AND the planet without giving up profits. This course has been developed by Rotterdam School of Management at Erasmus University (RSM). It focuses on the role of businesses in achieving the SDGs. You will gain insights from leaders of international companies and academics in business and management who will guide you through the issue of how businesses can contribute to the SDGs. The course received a 'MOOC Award of Excellence' by the Sustainable Development Solutions Network and the SDG Academy in September 2019 (https://www.unsdsn.org/2019-sdsn-awards-of-excellence-winners-announced) After completing this course you will: • know what the SDGs are, why they are important and how each individual can be an agent for positive change in the world; • understand the role of business in the transition to sustainable development to create a prosperous future for all; • be able to identify interconnectedness of the SDGs and the challenges behind solving them; • know how management insights can contribute to the SDGs; • be able to evaluate the effectiveness of current business strategies in contributing to the SDGs; • develop a positive, critical, aware and courageous attitude towards the SDGs. The course consists of seven units, each focusing on several aspects of sustainable development and taking one week to complete. You will study by watching videos, reading literature and by engaging in other activities such as weekly challenges. Assignments will consist of quizzes, discussions with your fellow students, and challenges to implement in your daily life. Are you ready to find out how you can be an agent for positive change? Register now!...

Top reviews

MD
Nov 30, 2020

This course is superb! I was able to understand thoroughly the SDGs, its purpose and impact to make each businesses sustainable. The wonderful part also it ables you to identify your purpose

WA
Oct 19, 2020

Great review for the SDGs, completely comprehensive, easily understandable.\n\nThe warmest gratitude for Erasmus University Rotterdam.\n\nIt was indeed the greatest of pleasures.\n\nThanks

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 136 Reviews for Driving business towards the Sustainable Development Goals

By Glen A d C

Feb 2, 2020

This is a very helpful course in trying to understand the relationships of problems and potential solutions in today's world. It provides a sort of mental framework on how to look at things and how they are interconnected.

By Khalisah S

Dec 30, 2019

This course gave me the learning tools and foundational knowledge to transition into a career in green industries. As an outside I felt helpless in the climate crisis but now I feel ready to tackle the challenge.

By Muhammad i

Dec 22, 2019

i am Mr.Muhammad Idrees. i am very happy because this course give me very useful information about the SDGs goals and much information about the other strageties.

thanks for all instructors.

idreesiub7@gmail.com

By Roelof J

Aug 24, 2020

Gives a good overview of the way businesses can integrate the SDG's in their plans and actions. Has been designed in a smart way with short video's and fun exercises. May well serve as content for students.

By Ka L L

Sep 3, 2019

The best course on coursera! Interactive curriculum with scholars and corporate leaders sharing life experience and deep insights on why and how to support the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals!

By Domenica R

Jun 28, 2020

Amazing content, the challenges presented each week made me realize the impact of several actions in my daily life and how changing them can contribute to a better, sustainable society. 100% recommended,

By Sigit H

Dec 27, 2020

“I love these courses, the professors and the experts and businesses that describe clearly in every subject. Excellent course for all those who will forever have a dream for better life in the planet.”

By Marie J D

Dec 1, 2020

This course is superb! I was able to understand thoroughly the SDGs, its purpose and impact to make each businesses sustainable. The wonderful part also it ables you to identify your purpose

By Nicole O

Jul 14, 2020

it was a great course and a perfect way to get introduced to the SDG's and to see the connections between them. The set up was nice and had enough varietion. Never a dull moment!

By Wissam A

Oct 20, 2020

Great review for the SDGs, completely comprehensive, easily understandable.

The warmest gratitude for Erasmus University Rotterdam.

It was indeed the greatest of pleasures.

Thanks

By Alex N K

Sep 24, 2019

The MOOC was very information and brought a new understand of the Goals of SDGs. Also it has opened my mind towards SDGs and business world connection in the benefit of both.

By Amable

Nov 17, 2020

Awareness is the first step towards a more sustainable world and way of living. I encourage everyone interested in making a better world to start here and take this course.

By Jeenal

Sep 8, 2020

Very well designed. The content is very well structured and taught. Variety of people teaching their topics and short videos help in focusing and learning to the optimum

By Niels G N

May 18, 2020

A relatively easy and well-paced course with interesting case studies. Encourages you to take action towards sustainable development through its Hummingbird Challenges.

By Daniela P

Oct 25, 2020

I loved the strong link to not only studies and theories, but the many videos from business and business owners. These examples inspire and made an impact. Thanks

By Abdul Q

Jun 5, 2020

This is one of the best course available online, to have basic understanding how a business can be part of the global moment for sustainability and agenda 2030.

By Katharina B

Apr 15, 2020

A very interesting course, that not only give examples from different industries, but helps you to understand, what you as an individual can do.

By paul k

Jul 17, 2020

NB I assume yellow star on the right means highest rating. Course was quite informative. very resourceful and look forward for more courses

By Tabea L H

Jun 28, 2020

Extremely inspiring and down to earth MOOC with practical tipps and engagement throughout all seven weeks! Really happy to have participated!

By C V

Aug 2, 2020

Great course on the SDGs giving an overview, making the goals more understandable and also providing awareness on who is already doing it.

By Dr. M S

Mar 28, 2021

This course was well structured and very informative. The instructors were well-versed in the aspects of the SDGs that they lectured on.

By Oleksandr A

May 2, 2020

The videos an materials are fresh and alive, interesting and easy to follow. The speakers are generally good and pleasant to listen to.

By Marion P

May 10, 2020

I am very grateful for the opportunity to acquire so much knowledge and learn so well under such easy-to-use online teaching methods.

By Marina G

Feb 5, 2021

Fantastic course. I am impressed by the number of lecturers and professionals who took part in this course and the case studies.