Chevron Left
Back to Foundations of strategic business analytics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Foundations of strategic business analytics by ESSEC Business School

4.4
stars
554 ratings
129 reviews

About the Course

Who is this course for? This course is designed for students, business analysts, and data scientists who want to apply statistical knowledge and techniques to business contexts. For example, it may be suited to experienced statisticians, analysts, engineers who want to move more into a business role. You will find this course exciting and rewarding if you already have a background in statistics, can use R or another programming language and are familiar with databases and data analysis techniques such as regression, classification, and clustering. However, it contains a number of recitals and R Studio tutorials which will consolidate your competences, enable you to play more freely with data and explore new features and statistical functions in R. With this course, you’ll have a first overview on Strategic Business Analytics topics. We’ll discuss a wide variety of applications of Business Analytics. From Marketing to Supply Chain or Credit Scoring and HR Analytics, etc. We’ll cover many different data analytics techniques, each time explaining how to be relevant for your business. We’ll pay special attention to how you can produce convincing, actionable, and efficient insights. We'll also present you with different data analytics tools to be applied to different types of issues. By doing so, we’ll help you develop four sets of skills needed to leverage value from data: Analytics, IT, Business and Communication. By the end of this MOOC, you should be able to approach a business issue using Analytics by (1) qualifying the issue at hand in quantitative terms, (2) conducting relevant data analyses, and (3) presenting your conclusions and recommendations in a business-oriented, actionable and efficient way. Prerequisites : 1/ Be able to use R or to program 2/ To know the fundamentals of databases, data analysis (regression, classification, clustering) We give credit to Pauline Glikman, Albane Gaubert, Elias Abou Khalil-Lanvin (Students at ESSEC BUSINESS SCHOOL) for their contribution to this course design....

Top reviews

PT

Oct 13, 2015

This course is excellent when it provides the citations very fit to theory. And I learned it in well organized structure of knowledge. Thank Prof. Glady and his team very much.

CG

May 01, 2020

The course contains the in-depth knowledge which helps to learn more about the business analytics. The assignments will test your presentation skills and creativity skills

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 125 Reviews for Foundations of strategic business analytics

By SUBHASHREE P

Sep 24, 2018

Very informative videos

By Phan T B

Sep 18, 2016

Nice and helpful course

By Ivy R

May 11, 2020

I like this course.

By Jose L

Oct 16, 2015

They do it easy

By Tarun B

Aug 01, 2018

Overall good.

By PRABHAT K

Nov 17, 2017

Excellent

By Hugo C T

Dec 21, 2015

Excelent!

By William F

Apr 13, 2016

Ok

By R. C H

Jun 15, 2020

The R code examples provided were the most useful part of this course. The lecture material was so high level that I found it difficult to watch and walk away with a clear sense of what was learned. To be frank: I would have quit this class if not for the recitation material. Even the capstone assignment was framed in such a strange way that I had to walk away for a week to figure out what to do with it. And the number of course participants was quite low, which may for a stressful time getting the last assignment graded. And since the grade was based on peer review of highly subjective assessments of a single slide presentation, it also made the final grade appear haphazard.

By Patric O

Mar 08, 2018

This first course is good, but it unfortunately reminds me of the courses back at the tech.uni. I graduated from. The professor has a terrible accent, the assistants doing the calculation exercises are far from inspiring, and the exam's instructions are vague to say the least. And feedback about this seems of lesser interest, like I'm just a student and cannot know better than the professor.

But take this first course and get it over with, because after it comes course 2 that is so much better. The lecturer is top notch and he does his recitals himself with lots of additional info as he goes through them. It's one of the best online courses I've had on the subject.

By Alan E A

Jun 22, 2017

I think it would be good to have an introduction to R Studio. The course was short and informal from my point of view. Instead of watching a lecture and then a demonstration a single video with both the lecture and demonstration would be better.

By ang s

Aug 15, 2016

Lectures and Recitals were good, easy to understand. Discussion forum was a deserted place with little sharing. Would be nice to have a more open community. Overall, pretty good. Looking forward to the next courses.

By Andreas S

Apr 13, 2017

Arguments brought up are shallow

By Yuduan L

Oct 15, 2015

Not very like this course... especially those videos are introduced by female speaker....we dont have this kind of software, can't understand and practice it....

By amyliangzi

Nov 23, 2015

Poor presentation. Unclear points. Not a detailed walk through about the specific tool.

By Alena M

Jul 06, 2020

Good concept, but requires a lot more content. The course clearly mentioned that it is applicable for the students of all levels, whereas it is tailored to managers with significant statistical background. It was unclear why we choose some type of analyses vs another one (neither during videos nor during recitals). Good concept, but requires a lot more content

By Daniel T

Jan 27, 2017

It does allow the purchase of a specific course within the specialization, the student has to subscribe to the all specialization even if they are only interested in one course only. Secondly the owner of this course should have allowed at the assignment to be submitted, because some people purchase a course only right after they have completed it.

By Mahdi S

Jun 07, 2016

Started in middle of everything, its course covers 5 to 7 factor samples, in the final exam the minimum factors is 70 or more!

You not will learn R, not really business insights, but you learn some specific cases.

I think you will learn lots of betters course in this site.

By Johannes A

Apr 14, 2016

Much trivial content, but advertised as an expert course. Further, the assignments did not work properly at the beginning and there is no timely response of staff. I would not waste money on that course again and will probably try to get refund in time.

By sara

Sep 30, 2017

Simple, methodology is not enough, not practical, more focus on statistical tool data processing instead of insight analysis, not recommended to professionals.

By Jennifer D

Jan 04, 2016

I wish this course was for free with the assignments!

By Swapnil S

May 18, 2019

Couldn't comprehend the lessons taught. I apologize.

By Yannis G

Feb 04, 2016

English is horrible, and I am french...

By yassmine M

May 03, 2020

i didn't like this course

By PRATIK B

Jul 15, 2019

faltu not good at all