Chevron Left
Back to Business Strategy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Business Strategy by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.8
stars
939 ratings
198 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn how organizations create, capture, and maintain value, and how it is fundamental for sustainable competitive advantage. You will be able to better understand value creation and capture, and learn the tools to analyze both competition and cooperation from a variety of perspectives, including the industry level (e.g., five forces analysis), and the firm level (e.g., business models and strategic positioning). • Understand how managers coordinate different functional areas, resources, and systems inside a company and align them with the external environment to enhance overall performance • Knowledge of strategic management tools and frameworks, and apply them to real business contexts Process diverse business and industry information to diagnose strategic issues, evaluate strategic alternatives, and formulate a coherent and actionable strategic plan • How to think like a CEO, entrepreneur, or general manager. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top reviews

HL

Aug 26, 2018

I am really honored to review this course. The course and the Professor was really having a high practical approach. 4th Module was little bit confusion although it was a great time doing the course.

TW

Aug 11, 2016

I really enjoyed the case studies in this course and the education on various frameworks felt like I could immediately use the material in real world scenarios. Highly recommended course materials.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 196 Reviews for Business Strategy

By Jyh-Bong B L

Nov 18, 2017

The professor is very clear in explaining the concepts, and the writing assignments really help in learning how to apply the concepts to real life cases. I had a very good experience and learned a lot from this course.

By Tanmay S

May 18, 2020

For aspiring entrepreneurs like me, it was a a good guide to set the rules for business before starting it. It is like a guide to how you can overcome various problems like competition, customer satisfaction etc.

By Koutchoukali A

May 14, 2020

I highly recommand this course ! it was a real pleasure listening to the video courses as well as the lectures. The assignements were really fun to do since all cases were about real business giants ! THANK YOU

By Hamza L

Aug 26, 2018

I am really honored to review this course. The course and the Professor was really having a high practical approach. 4th Module was little bit confusion although it was a great time doing the course.

By Robin A

May 21, 2020

Very informative and used excellent examples to clarify concepts. I have a Doctoral degree but needed marketing for a new venue, this did the trick. Professor Deepak is excellent as well.

By Antonio S

Jan 03, 2020

A very interesting, detailed and well explained overview on different topics.

Now a lot of internal strategies taken from my Senior Management are more and more clear.

Very useful :)

By Brian D

Jun 11, 2018

Professor Somaya was great at presenting and teaching complex topics utilizing great case studies and relevant examples. I learned a lot that I can put into practice immediately.

By Daniel O

Jan 16, 2020

Very impressive and highly beneficial course. Prior to taken the course, I had very limited knowledge in Business Strategy but after the course, it has really been an eye opener

By Jai P

Aug 12, 2018

The course was very well produced. The Executive Interviews were insightful. The case studies were though provoking and very interesting. Thank you Professor Deepak Somaya!

By Rajashree

Jan 06, 2018

The course tries to help the reader analyse the business models and help to identify the strategic fit for the organization. Very useful for a strategy and business analyst

By Tal L

Mar 19, 2020

Excellent course , really touch various subjects related to what business strategy is comprised of,

also loved the case studies and learning about many different companies.

By Juan T

Nov 10, 2017

Great course. Best conductor so far in the specialization. Lecture, materials, evaluations are all where and how they are suppose to be. Kuddos Professor Deepak Somaya!!

By EM

Oct 09, 2018

Enjoyed this course and the presentation of it. The writing assignments did get a bit cumbersome at times, but did fortify retention of the information presented for me.

By Sohrob N G

Jul 30, 2019

Thanks for offering a useful course with lots of supporting videos, presentations, pdf files, and materials to test my comprehension level. Would definitely recommend.

By Sumanta p

Sep 09, 2019

Good platform to learn the core ideas of Business strategies with supporting case studies..this helps me a lot to understand the attributes to follow in real biz world

By Ajay C S

Sep 08, 2019

This is an excellent course, well-packaged and drives straight to the point of how strategy is necessary for a sustained competitive advantage to any organization.

By Raul N C G

Nov 02, 2018

Excellent course! Well-thought of and prepared. Very appealing selection of case study and the soccer examples are solid choices with a rather broad appeal.

By Romain V

Jun 06, 2016

Great insight on business strategy which will enable me to conduct better analysis in my daily work. I highly recommend this course and this specializat

By Pierre L

Jun 17, 2018

One of the best course I took on Coursera (and in University): Informative, well explained, with a lot of content and a very knowledgeable professor.

By Rajveer

Dec 24, 2019

One of the best course and best professor ever I came across, excellent learning on various business strategy concepts with live cases and examples

By MUSA A

Mar 06, 2018

I enjoyed this course. I learnt how to design and choose strategies for any business towards achieving overall growth and success of the company

By Maher

Jun 21, 2018

I have really enjoyed this course. The style of learning and assignments are designed to maximize learining experince .. it is ighly recomended

By Jay N P

May 17, 2020

The course was amazing and very well explained. The case study thus attached gave more detailed and practical experience of the learning.

By Neil M

Dec 30, 2019

This module requires dedication. The lecturer was thorough and well organized. Highly recommended and I look forward to the next module.

By Neha J

Oct 30, 2018

Porf. Deepak is simply outstanding. I would be taking more of his courses as his style and method of explaining the concepts is superb