Chevron Left
Back to New Models of Business in Society

Learner Reviews & Feedback for New Models of Business in Society by University of Virginia

4.7
stars
3,811 ratings
1,085 reviews

About the Course

In this course, developed at the Darden School of Business at the University of Virginia and taught by top-ranked faculty, we will be discussing the emergence of a new story about business. This new story locates business within a societal framework. Almost every business creates or destroys value for customers, suppliers, employees, communities and society, in addition to shareholders and other financiers. A number of new models of business can be built on this idea such as corporate responsibility, philanthropy, shared value and sustainability. Profits and stakeholder value go together, and this course explains how. The final session explores the idea of how to become a stakeholder entrepreneur and create a business that makes money and makes the world a better place....

Top reviews

YL
May 4, 2020

Nice Course..The way of delivering and passion of the professor for inspiring students is excellence..\n\nit helps me to think in a better way about business & Got lot of Insights ...Thank u Professor

PS
May 7, 2020

It was nice to know different ways through which a potential entrepreneur can contribute to the society. I really liked the way Prof. Edward Freeman explained by giving numerous examples. Thank you!

Filter by:

951 - 975 of 1,079 Reviews for New Models of Business in Society

By Ajay K Y

May 1, 2018

The content was decent and interviews were a great motivation. Some more lectures with more interviews from the sustainable business leaders would be a great addition to the course.

By Alex V

Oct 27, 2015

Very nice course. Provides inspiration than actual knowldge, but this was the professor's aim in the first place.

I highly recomend this course to everyone, entrepreneur or not.

By Thea B

May 13, 2020

Thank you Professor for sharing new insights. It's very interesting to learn about the old and new business model and how we can play our role in making our society better.

By Catalin L P

Sep 11, 2015

Great and inspirational course. Thank you Prof Freeman for your approach that is making us think, reflect and question the current models of businesses in our societies!

By Mauricio G

Sep 9, 2015

The content shown in the video lectures is a very nice overview of the subject but it feels somehow superficial, some more depth would be really appreciated.

By Marta S

Mar 20, 2017

New Models of Business in Society is a very good way to understand what is coming now in business and why and how we can achieve it. Thanks prof. Freeman!

By junaid E

Jun 18, 2020

Very well designed. The way he presents is simple and easy to understand. Bringing other business persons to the tutorials makes it interesting as well.

By Eugene T Y C

Jun 2, 2020

East to understand, very well delivered with insights from the industry. The teacher is interesting and has good pace and content delivery. Thank you!

By Wayan S

Jun 30, 2020

Good course especially for who want study/work in financial institution. But the example of the theory mostly related just in US not other country.

By Rodolfo J H

May 4, 2020

This course will open your mind to new ideas, instead of following the idea of maximizing profits and the trade off between labor and capital.

By Maaz A K

Jun 5, 2020

A very good course for some one who need to become a responsible entrepreneur and one who need some positive change in the society

By Jenny N

May 12, 2020

informative information. Video talking is a bit slow but happy there is a transcript so I can read through quicker and take notes.

By Deleted A

Jun 9, 2020

This serves as an encouragement and at the same time eye-opener in the business world today. Pretty much relevant and satisfying.

By Javier T G

Nov 9, 2015

It's inspiring necause defines how business should be donde now days not as an utopia but us a reality that everyone must apply.

By Subhadip D

Jul 25, 2020

Should have included case studies and peer graded essays. Though the experience was top notch as expected from Univ of Virginia

By Alejandro L V

Nov 5, 2015

Entretenido, fácil de entender y una forma magnífica de acercarse al mundo de la ética empresarial y la responsabilidad social.

By Garvit r

Jun 14, 2020

It help me lot to understand what business really means ,business is not only money making process but it includes many things

By Olakunle T

Apr 23, 2020

A good course to enroll for, learnt a new way of looking at business and it's role in the development of the society at large

By Eric D R F

Jun 15, 2020

Muy buen curso para comprender los modelos de negocio y como lograr darle mas valor a los negocios, al ser mas inclusivos.

By SURESH G

May 2, 2020

The Central idea that one can learn is the importance of stakeholder capitalism for the businesses of the 21 st century.

By GONDI S Y P E D E C

Jul 9, 2020

This course gives new perspective about the businesses and the way they ought to be built giving real time examples.

By Antonio E

Jul 4, 2020

Great course, thoroughly explained and good for those wanting to have a fair idea of learning how business operates

By Maryam E

Sep 4, 2015

my idea about business really changed

the way of teaching is so cool

there are a lot of creative ideas in the course

By Awa U O

Aug 26, 2020

The course was very insightful and afforded me the opportunity to learn the New Models of Business in Society.

By Fady A

Sep 23, 2020

Very inspiring ideas, however I'm a bit skeptic of how feasible they are in the real world we live in now.