Chevron Left
Back to New Models of Business in Society

Learner Reviews & Feedback for New Models of Business in Society by University of Virginia

4.7
stars
3,877 ratings
1,104 reviews

About the Course

In this course, developed at the Darden School of Business at the University of Virginia and taught by top-ranked faculty, we will be discussing the emergence of a new story about business. This new story locates business within a societal framework. Almost every business creates or destroys value for customers, suppliers, employees, communities and society, in addition to shareholders and other financiers. A number of new models of business can be built on this idea such as corporate responsibility, philanthropy, shared value and sustainability. Profits and stakeholder value go together, and this course explains how. The final session explores the idea of how to become a stakeholder entrepreneur and create a business that makes money and makes the world a better place....

Top reviews

YL
May 4, 2020

Nice Course..The way of delivering and passion of the professor for inspiring students is excellence..\n\nit helps me to think in a better way about business & Got lot of Insights ...Thank u Professor

PS
May 7, 2020

It was nice to know different ways through which a potential entrepreneur can contribute to the society. I really liked the way Prof. Edward Freeman explained by giving numerous examples. Thank you!

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 1,098 Reviews for New Models of Business in Society

By Adeniji B

Apr 18, 2020

This is a validation of my feeling that businesses are major parts of building a better society. This course offered me a great insight on how it can be achieved and through the well researched, practical illustrations, and the incredible passion of the facilitator, am well positioned to speed up this process in my current role.

By Lisandro E A

Apr 30, 2020

An incredible course. Ita has helped me to be motivated about setting up business that will change the world and make it a better place. It has shifted my vision of business, which, at the begginingof the course, what that businesses were just to make money, or that creating value for the society was a secondary result. Thanks!

By Rachel M

Jul 21, 2019

One student, person, customer, employee, citizen, stakeholder can make a difference. This course covers the concepts, examples, and inspiration to learn, observe, and practice bringing social & stakeholder entrepreneurship to the world we live in. We must bring this value creation in our lives and in our business. Thank you!

By Angela P

May 16, 2020

O curso desenvolve sua mente para a ampla capacidade de se moldar os conceitos atuais sobre como guiar e desenvolver um negócio de maneira saudável a todos os envolvidos, incluindo comunidade e meio ambiente como fatores principais de uma escala sustentável, e como isso tem um impacto altamente positivo numa esfera global.

By MOHD A

Jul 14, 2020

I met with the course content as I expected. Course content and syllabus is more helpful for getting new knowledge and enhancing new skills in business world, teaching methods is really too good and satisfied. I am fully satisfied with the flexibility of the course. Thank you Coursera for giving us this prodigious course.

By Sriram B

Jun 15, 2020

In the world of capitalism based businesses. The new and sustainable models of business in society would actually give a new meaning and image about businesses and entrepreneurship . Thus is substantially makes a business to work for its meaning of value, service, solution and profits rather that working for only profits.

By Andreea R T

May 2, 2020

I am very grateful that I had the chance to take part in this course. Coming from Romania, an entrepreneur's story is not always as bright and exciting as it should be, but learning about these new models of business and focusing on social entrepreneurship gave me the courage I need to think of starting my own business.

By Kaustubh J

Apr 8, 2020

Gives a really good insight with respect to traditional business models, perceptions of running a business and a new way to look at establishing a business. Good quality study material in terms of the tutor's interaction through video as well as reference videos linked throughout the certificate course. Recommended.

By Ashwani M

May 18, 2020

Amazing and really interesting way to motivate the generation into doing something amazing for themselves and the society as a whole. Professor Freeman is really one hell of a teacher. I have literally started thinking about the ways I can make an impact in real life and I am going to name it "The 1% Contribution"

By krishna k k

Jul 10, 2020

Wonderful course, defined the purpose and it’s implications in the new business models along with Corporate strategies and ways of working like Philantrophy,social responsibility and Environment .

Impressed with content and the examples and interviews that are chosen from industry leaders

Thanks

Krishna Kuchibhotla

By joi

Jun 26, 2020

I really enjoyed this course especially the videos in Week 4, I felt that as a student I could relate more to the topic. It was a wholesome experience and I am very inspired by all the speakers involved in the course. You could say I feel a lot of "purpose" after this course. Thank you for this amazing course.

By Seun O

Jun 29, 2020

This course has changed my perspective about business. I have come to realize that about 98% of businesses in my community still operates on the old model of businesses which is profit seeking only. Going forward, I will start advocating for stakeholder business model to MSME businesses I have contact with.

By Ana M V G

Mar 24, 2019

El curso brinda un panorama general sobre las tipologías de nuevos negocios, complementado con entrevistas a los actores involucrados en esta nueva narrativa empresarial que ayudan a comprender el cambio de paradigma de la generación de valor para los acciones a la generación de valor para los stakeholders.

By Samuel D

Jun 26, 2020

If you actually want to make money and make the world a better place at the same time. this course is for you! To be honest i was not as enthusiastic as i am now when i started the course, but as I completed it my whole idea of business and entrepreneurship changed. Thank You. I will forever be grateful!!

By Yogesh J D

Jul 4, 2020

Such a wonderful experience. I learned some new principles of business that we need to implement in our today's world. This course will help you to understand the different parameters that are essential for our society and business improvement. Also by hearing some successful CEO's I feel so motivated.

By Gautam M

Jun 22, 2020

The course is a good reinforcement of ways in which we can engage in business while still being conscious and considerate of society and the environment. The professor is highly motivating and enthusiastic about the material. It is short and sweet, and has ideas that we MUST carry forward in our lives.

By Kashish A

Jun 4, 2020

very nice course , it gives a new insight of understanding business , its economic aspect as well as social aspect, this particular course made us aware of the importance of entrepreneurship in emerging economies also how these businesses play vital role in empowering people from various strata

By Himanshu R

Jun 19, 2020

This Course was really amazing I learnt a lot about corporate ethics and what it means to be a good business man how thinking about society environment and shareholders developing a brand that can help everyone hope to be a good business man some day and follow the ethics of business Society

By Ernesto B

Nov 30, 2015

This course has given me a better perspective of the "Why" of the business purposes, have to be aligned and well communicated to all stakeholders in order to become not only a profitable business but also one that fulfills the entrepreneur vision and satisfies the customers' and society needs.

By Adeyinka D G

Apr 4, 2021

Professor Freeman really changed my perspective about how a business SHOULD and CAN operate in the real world. This new model of business will serve as an inspiration for people with strong ethics but who are unable to see how they can do business ethically in the real world. Thanks Prof.

By THITHIT A

Feb 17, 2016

Regarding to the course, I’m grateful to Prof. R. Edward Freeman for your kind of supporting to provide the opportunity for knowledge particularly how to consider and re-thinking about the new concept of business in society. It would be the advantage to reciprocate and emerge the mindset.

By Chyntia D

Aug 18, 2020

This course really broaden my knowledge about business. the professor gave me a wider point of view, where business is not all about profit, yet it is also about leadership, culture,environment, and how we engage with all of the stakeholders. Thank you so much for the brilliant insights!

By Anna M

Jun 8, 2020

A concentrated and clear description of conscious capitalism and conscious business, including the servant leadership as one of the pillars. Questions at the end of each session provide food for reflection of the world around and one's own actions towards making the world a better place.

By Ritesh k

May 23, 2020

Great initiative and insightful for me because I was also from India and state of Bihar where these sustainable social business design is helping underprivileged children and remote areas and I don't even heard about them till today so it's a good couse highly appreciated and recommended

By Kelebogile M

Mar 11, 2021

Great presentation by the lecturer, engaging examples in the form of interviews, and well set and less cluttered review questions. Great course, I learnt a lot and will definitely implement these models on my business / entrepreneurship pursuits. Thanks for the opportunity and platform.