Chevron Left
Back to New Models of Business in Society

Learner Reviews & Feedback for New Models of Business in Society by University of Virginia

4.7
stars
3,876 ratings
1,104 reviews

About the Course

In this course, developed at the Darden School of Business at the University of Virginia and taught by top-ranked faculty, we will be discussing the emergence of a new story about business. This new story locates business within a societal framework. Almost every business creates or destroys value for customers, suppliers, employees, communities and society, in addition to shareholders and other financiers. A number of new models of business can be built on this idea such as corporate responsibility, philanthropy, shared value and sustainability. Profits and stakeholder value go together, and this course explains how. The final session explores the idea of how to become a stakeholder entrepreneur and create a business that makes money and makes the world a better place....

Top reviews

YL
May 4, 2020

Nice Course..The way of delivering and passion of the professor for inspiring students is excellence..\n\nit helps me to think in a better way about business & Got lot of Insights ...Thank u Professor

PS
May 7, 2020

It was nice to know different ways through which a potential entrepreneur can contribute to the society. I really liked the way Prof. Edward Freeman explained by giving numerous examples. Thank you!

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 1,098 Reviews for New Models of Business in Society

By E B

May 16, 2020

I loved it! This gave me a more comprehensive view about different business models and how I can shape mine in order to make a positive impact in the community and hopefully, in the world!

By Thanasit V

Apr 8, 2020

I would like to thank you to the professor to gave me many ideas and view point about current business model. Also his carefulness to finding and adding precious many kinds of information.

By Anjali P

Jun 26, 2020

The course has put into perspective those aspects that are upbeat and well researched. The reference resources were excellent and I have thoroughly enjoyed as well as learnt a great deal.

By Humsi S

Jun 16, 2020

Wonderful course! hey way it is taught by R.Edward Freeman, is amazing. With all the engagement questions and case studies, I can surely improve myself and get ready for my own business!

By Disha S

Aug 31, 2020

Good insightful course. Interviews with CEOs were inspiring. Every topic was wonderfully explained by the professor.Thank you Professor, University of Virginia,Coursera & Class central.

By Tarun A

May 16, 2020

It's a very good course with reading material and some examples through youtube videos of some entrepreneurs with ideas that not lots of people think of.

So I suggest you try this course.

By Tushin M

Jul 13, 2020

Good concise course that captures the essentials of the relevant concepts. The professor is engaging and has done a good job in explaining the topics in a brief yet informative manner!

By Hương N

Apr 16, 2020

After the course, I'm more open-minded about many aspects of a business. Now I know to create values at my work not only to myself but my organization, the community, the environment.

By Siddhant B

Jul 5, 2020

Amazing Content... brilliant presentation...Iam from India and got to know about the entrepreruial practices 7 years ago that made it to course...glad that I came across your course.

By Aizirek D

Jun 26, 2020

When I started course I didn’t expect that this course will change my opinion about business I had an idea how can I help to environment Thank you Very much it was very useful for me

By Anandraj S

May 15, 2016

This course gives a deeper insight into the ethics of the new way of business through enriching discusssions. The professor's delivery is efficient and it promoted critical thinking.

By Matt M

Jun 11, 2016

The course gives a general and big-picture perspective to prepare individuals a positive and healthy mindset to together shape a better business and society for the next generation!

By Harsh N

May 31, 2020

The course is amazing and professor Edward has explained all the concepts with great depth. With the examples he has given it becomes very easy to understand and learn.

Thank you :)

By Senthil P

Apr 15, 2020

Excellent subject matter knowledge, industry views and practices on the subject. Prof Ed was excellent in pacing the subject so the concepts could be understood with love examples.

By Muhammad H

Jun 23, 2020

It provides different perspectives to look at businesses and and how to use them not just for profit but for the benefit of the communities and all stakeholder associated with it.

By Soman B A

Jun 15, 2020

this course helped me to understand various new models of business in society ,and i learned many things about Business due to professor R. Edward Freeman,thankyou so much sir....

By Priyam S

May 31, 2020

Really helpful in giving a whole new perspective to look at business and their purpose. This also helps in understanding how you can as entrepreneurs be purpose-driven from Day 1.

By Patricia M

Jul 15, 2020

Thank you for the insightful course! I finally realize that becoming an entrepreneur is not just about making profit for your business, but how you can impact others/ communities

By Andres S

Apr 15, 2020

Informative and easy to digest. Something to store in the back of your mind for future and applicable use. An inspiration to all who want to be involved in the world of business.

By Deivid G d S

Jul 10, 2020

There are new models of business in society emerging that are both making money and making the world a better place. This is an awesome course if you want to learn how to do so.

By Monika F

Jun 18, 2020

This course really helped me understand the new models of Business in society with environmental checks, conscious capitalism , philanthropy and corporate social responsibility.

By Lindolfo R

Dec 30, 2015

Uma visão aberta e diferente da relação do homem com o trabalho e a convivência em sociedade. Muito interessante. Professor e equipe bastante preparados e metodologia simpática.

By Muhammad U K

Jun 4, 2020

A very good course, even I don`t have a business background but concepts were explained in detail and the instructor seems very passionate about the course quality and content.

By Aagam M

May 12, 2020

Now i am able to see the business in different ways.Now i dont see the business only for profit and money but also as the tool for creating value for society. Thanks professor.

By Collabs C

Apr 21, 2020

I loved this course. It is one of the most engaging course I have ever done. These new models of business will definitely make the world better if applied. Thanks Prof Freeman.