Chevron Left
Back to Foundations of Business Strategy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Foundations of Business Strategy by University of Virginia

4.8
1,357 ratings
277 reviews

About the Course

Develop your ability to think strategically, analyze the competitive environment, and recommend firm positioning and value creation. In this course, we will explore the underlying theory and frameworks that provide the foundations of a successful business strategy and provide the tools you need to understand that strategy: SWOT, Competitor, Environmental, Five Forces, and Capabilities Analyses, as well as Strategy Maps. We'll apply these tools in case studies of industry leaders Google, Redhook, Piaggio and Apple....

Top reviews

VK

Jul 20, 2019

Great insight of the basic tools covering all important aspects, both professors have discussed fundamental needs of the topic around Business Strategy, keen to learn rest of the courses and excited.

TM

May 02, 2018

This course is very helpful. It emanates from the strategist' mind. The way this course empowers a person is phenomenal. I personally learnt a lot with this course and hope to learn further as well.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 269 Reviews for Foundations of Business Strategy

By Cecilia A V

Mar 15, 2019

Very complete and useful!!!!

By Luciano R

Dec 05, 2018

Awesome !

By FARHAN N

Nov 23, 2018

BEST HELPING MATERIAL FOR TRAINING AND UNDERSTANDABLE LECTURES

By PABLO S

Jan 07, 2019

Excellent introduction to business strategy...

By Mahdi G

Jan 07, 2019

This course was prepared and organized well

By David E

Feb 04, 2019

Very interesting course. Very clear structure and usability of the given tools. Nice case studies to train practice.

By Laís R

Jul 10, 2018

Excellent course! Thank you Course

By Aron S B

Sep 24, 2018

Very informative. The course gets moderately "heavier” as you study further. Assignments and quizes are very well set up.

By CARLOS J G C

Sep 27, 2018

Great Course! I learned meaningful information and practice to develop a strategic analysis for a company, very important step in the business strategy process.

By Andrew J

Sep 16, 2018

Thorough explanation of introductory level strategy components. Just the course that I was looking for to begin building my knowledge of strategy and strategic planning.

By Eduardo A d O

Oct 23, 2018

This course is very well planning and the professors are well prepared!

By Swapnil D

Nov 11, 2018

Excellent Course material. Great Professors.

By Jesús C

Nov 21, 2018

Very good methodology, teachers and content I recommend it.

By sohrab a

Nov 07, 2018

good course

find alot knowledge in easy way

By Eliran I

Nov 07, 2018

Great content, very informative, well-made and professional. Thanks!

By Kevin P P

Dec 14, 2015

Really enjoyed taking this course. The course material was well-explained in the videos, and the assignments and final case study did a stand-up job of covering all of the material.

Granted, I already have an undergraduate degree in business, but I found this course to be a fantastic refresher for the 3 strategy courses that had begun to fade from memory in the 3 years since I finished university.

A big 'thank you!' to the Darden School of Business - I've no doubt that I'll be looking for other courses of interest offered from your team, once returning to the office in the new-year.

Kevin

By Desyree J

Nov 14, 2015

Great basic course even for someone with no knowledge of business. I learned a lot. The concepts are very well explained and the examples are a huge help! Thank you!

By Pedro d P R

Oct 09, 2015

Very clear ideia about strategy and it so well design (and taught) that you think you are dealing and learning a basic and simple thing but as soon as you start doing the exercises you see how challenging are the questions and reasoning behind it.

By Brenda W

Oct 24, 2017

This has been a very informative and inspirational course I have taken. I have spoken to so many people regarding this course. It has given me so much insight into business and how it all starts fitting together. I can't wait to complete the rest. - Thank you Coursera and a big THANK YOU to the two wonderful lecturers from University of Virginia. You explanations and lecturers are wonderful.

By Malaquias E

Jul 28, 2017

This is a great introduction course to strategy. Professors Jareh and Mike have done a terrific job. Can't wait to go through the rest of the classes in the specialization.

By Jinde P

Feb 09, 2017

A great course to get an introduction to strategy.

By Francis M

Jun 02, 2016

Great introduction to strategy.

By Patrick O

Feb 11, 2016

Informative, Thought

By Michael T

Mar 03, 2018

Impressed with the balance of breadth and depth. Complex issues delivered in an accessible manner. Practical exercises that enable you to put what you've learned to use right away.

By ahmed h

Sep 29, 2015

Great Complete course from great University