Chevron Left
Back to Visual Elements of User Interface Design

Visual Elements of User Interface Design, California Institute of the Arts

4.8
504 ratings
115 reviews

About this Course

This design-centric course examines the broad question of what an interface is and what role a designer plays in creating a user interface. Learning how to design and articulate meaning using color, type, and imagery is essential to making interfaces function clearly and seamlessly. Through a series of lectures and visual exercises, you will focus on the many individual elements and components that make up the skillset of an interface designer. By the end of this course, you will be able to describe the key formal elements of clear, consistent, and intuitive UI design, and apply your learned skills to the design of a static screen-based interface. This is the first course in the UI/UX Design Specialization, which brings a design-centric approach to user interface (UI) and user experience (UX) design, and offers practical, skill-based instruction centered around a visual communications perspective, rather than on one focused on marketing or programming alone. These courses are ideal for anyone with some experience in graphic or visual design and who would like to build their skill set in UI or UX for app and web design. It would also be ideal for anyone with experience in front- or back-end web development or human-computer interaction and want to sharpen their visual design and analysis skills for UI or UX....

Top reviews

By JN

Nov 21, 2018

I never thought this is possible. I am very grateful to Coursera and Calarts. This is a starting milestone to changing my career life for better. I am ready to pursue more and more with your support.

By LC

Oct 19, 2018

This course is a good start for the beginner. I hope everyone in the class enjoyed it as I do. Thanks all of my classmates who have reviewed my peers. I look forward seeing you in the next course.

Filter by:

116 Reviews

By Sunhyeong Kim

May 25, 2019

FInally~! I finished it!

VERY SIMPLE EASY BUT STILL CONTAINING RICH INFORMATION and HELPFUL!

By Jon Smith

May 24, 2019

Awesome course to get you started

By Salman Hussain Gilani

May 21, 2019

A well-structured course devised with methodologies commonly practiced in the industry.

By Ashwin Ganvir

May 20, 2019

Michael Worthington taught me basic to advanced about visual elements of user interface design,

Exellent teaching love it !

By SangAh Lee

May 20, 2019

It is a good course to learn basic knowledge of user interface design. Creating a mood board and extracting concepts, themes were quite interesting. Designing the pattern library is also helpful to learn and prepare the real design process.

By Natalya Mikhaylova

May 19, 2019

I was brand new to the field of UI and this course helped me to do the first steps in a fun and easy way! Thank you so much!

By Santiago Paulós

May 16, 2019

Fantastic course as an introduction to UI. Very pleased.

By Kelly McCabe

May 16, 2019

Great introduction to UI design without complicating elements with UX.

By Muhammad Waqar Azeem

May 15, 2019

Really helpful course for me.

By Jafed Encinas

May 14, 2019

Able to concentrate and stay focused for periods of several hours, even when tasks are relatively mundane, and doesn't make mistakes. He has a high boredom threshold. Always assured and confident in demeanour and presentation of ideas without being aggressively over-confident. No absences without valid reason in 6 months. Reaches a decision rapidly after taking account of all likely outcomes and estimating the route most likely to bring success. The decisions almost always turn out to be good ones.

This Course always completes any assignment on time and to a high standard. This Course has outstanding artistic or craft skills, bringing creativity and originality to the task. Aiming for a top job in the organization. He sets very high standards, aware that this will bring attention and promotion. This Course pays great attention to detail. He always presented work properly checked and completely free of error.