Chevron Left
Back to Visual Elements of User Interface Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Visual Elements of User Interface Design by California Institute of the Arts

4.7
stars
4,986 ratings
1,223 reviews

About the Course

This design-centric course examines the broad question of what an interface is and what role a designer plays in creating a user interface. Learning how to design and articulate meaning using color, type, and imagery is essential to making interfaces function clearly and seamlessly. Through a series of lectures and visual exercises, you will focus on the many individual elements and components that make up the skillset of an interface designer. By the end of this course, you will be able to describe the key formal elements of clear, consistent, and intuitive UI design, and apply your learned skills to the design of a static screen-based interface. This is the first course in the UI/UX Design Specialization, which brings a design-centric approach to user interface (UI) and user experience (UX) design, and offers practical, skill-based instruction centered around a visual communications perspective, rather than on one focused on marketing or programming alone. These courses are ideal for anyone with some experience in graphic or visual design and who would like to build their skill set in UI or UX for app and web design. It would also be ideal for anyone with experience in front- or back-end web development or human-computer interaction and want to sharpen their visual design and analysis skills for UI or UX....

Top reviews

BB

Mar 31, 2020

This course is very useful for a beginner who is looking for the basics of UI/UX course.\n\nThis course will give you the basic idea of interface design which very important for its advanced studies.

TM

May 23, 2021

This course is very useful for a beginner who is looking for the basics of UI/UX course.\n\nThis course will give you the basic idea of interface design which very important for its advanced studies.

Filter by:

1226 - 1247 of 1,247 Reviews for Visual Elements of User Interface Design

By Pavel G K

Aug 21, 2021

A lot of water. The only plus is the ability to come up with your own application

By ARJUN R

Apr 13, 2020

Peer grading is inconsistent and time consuming.

By Mouhamd a

Oct 11, 2020

Very easy course

By Stephon W

Aug 7, 2020

This course needs a lot of work. It's a good run down of UI/UX but it needs more parameters letting everyone work on various different platforms is dumb. You'll have people completing work on Figma and some in illustrator at various skill levels making peer reviewing pointless. There should be requirement that you have to use illustrator and photoshop no exepction and give a discount code to people without it. There should be a level of standard to get this certification that doesn't seem so .. easy. I think creating a barrier of entry of completing other certificates of design could change the distance learning landscape forever but also allow people to really develop. Also the curriculum is also terribly lazy. Just my opinion though.

By Harsh S

Aug 26, 2020

The course mentions that this is an introductory course with no prerequisites, however, if you do not know how to use designing tools such as InDesign on Sketch, it's tough to complete the course. The course also relies on peer-reviewing assignments that I feel are the worst. The graders don't do their job properly and reduce points for no reason. When the TAs are asked about it, they have a standard response to these problems but no solution. Absolutely not worth the time and effort.

By Melissa Q

Jun 20, 2020

This course's lessons emphasize very abstract notions, without much specific guidance. I grew tired of hearing the instructor's videos rambling on and on without much substance. Instead, you get a lot of vague, entry-level ponderings, phrases such as "what you've got to think about is..." or "you have to make decisions about..." As much as this course likes to bill itself as "hands on" or project-based learning, you aren't going to get there through the instructional content.

By Ann N

Apr 13, 2021

The course description should be updated to include the software requirements.

I enrolled in this course so that I could make better screen mockups using the tool that I currently use. I didn't know from the course description that it requires the use of specific software, which is too expensive for someone not pursuing a full time career in UX design. I had no choice but to abandon the course without learning anything.

By Cande. F

Feb 22, 2021

The teachers do not correct your assignments at any time, they do not verify the comments of other students about you project and perhaps there are not even constructive comments of your work.

I feel very disappointed.

By Natalya G

May 13, 2022

Useless. If you're an experienced graphic designer, there's nothing you'll learn from this course, even if you've never done UI/UX design. I've wasted so much time waiting for a valuable content to come, but it didn't.

By Rae L

Mar 1, 2021

I was hoping to learn stronger foundational skills as a UI/UX designer that was not classically trained in this discipline, but I feel as though this course is almost *too* surface level.

By Gonzalo S F C

May 3, 2021

The course is great, but the students do not follow the criteria in order to put you a grade in your task. This was not only my problem but others too.

By NARESH G

Mar 28, 2022

I am not satisfied with the course and i want to un enroll the course because i am not able to understand the things they a bit complex to undestand.

By Przemek S

Sep 24, 2021

Some asian guys that even doesnt know english just smash "No" and type "Ok" under your peer review assignments and support doesnt care bout it

By Aya A

Jan 31, 2022

there is no technical program we learn on it >>we need to get some skills

By Mefaret A

Sep 21, 2020

this was one of the worst and the most inefficient courses I have taken.

By Deleted A

Aug 19, 2020

Borring way to present the course, i cannot continue with this.

By Carlos F C C

Sep 22, 2020

Dice estar en español, pero solo dispone de idioma ingles.

By Suraj K

Jul 10, 2021

tell me hoe to unenroll this course

By ABEYKOON G (

Sep 23, 2020

This is fake there is no ui/ux

By Maria M

Jan 4, 2021

BORING AND NOT USEFUL

By Dennis W

Jul 23, 2021

I want my money back

By 35-Romeo S

Jul 28, 2021

theory based course