Chevron Left
Back to Business Writing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Business Writing by University of Colorado Boulder

4.8
stars
3,043 ratings
946 reviews

About the Course

Writing well is one of the most important skills you can develop to be successful in the business world. Over seventy companies and thirty thousand students--from professional writers to new employees to non-native English speakers to seasoned executives--have used the techniques in Business Writing to power their ability to communicate and launch their ideas. This course will teach you how to apply the top ten principles of good business writing to your work, how to deploy simple tools to dramatically improve your writing, and how to execute organization, structure, and revision to communicate more masterfully than ever. From the very first lesson, you'll be able to apply your new learning immediately to your work and improve your writing today. Your ideas are powerful. Learn how to deliver them with the clarity and impact they deserve. "Thank you for giving me the knowledge I need in life. [Business Writing] was helpful, life changing, and has made a huge impact in my writing." -- Message from a Business Writing student The principles you'll learn in this course enable you to become a great business writer. They also provide the foundation for moving into Graphic Design and Successful Presentation, so that you can unleash your best professional self whenever--and however--you present your ideas in the workplace....

Top reviews

YS
Jun 11, 2017

It was an exceptional course with lots to take away from. It taught basic building blocks of business writing and then built upon it which provided a great way to self learn the content of the course.

MA
Nov 29, 2020

THIS COURSE IS VERY HELPFUL FOR EVERYONE\n\nWHO WANT TO LEARN HOW TO WRITE MEMO HOW TO DESIGN IT HOW TO ADD HEADING POINTS\n\nI LEARNED HERE EVERY SINGLE THINGS THAT HAPPEN IN REAL LIFE\n\nGOOD COURSE

Filter by:

801 - 825 of 941 Reviews for Business Writing

By James S E

Jul 16, 2020

Ok

By Ola I S

Nov 16, 2020

a

By Ese-Urhie K O

Aug 2, 2020

,

By Sangle D T

Jun 25, 2020

.

By Amit G

Jun 15, 2020

E

By lateefa a

Jun 1, 2020

t

By Ishara D W

May 28, 2020

h

By Zoqeen A

Jan 24, 2020

E

By Elmo M J

May 23, 2019

M

By Raushan K

Apr 18, 2019

V

By Fernando D

Oct 19, 2018

G

By Valeria A

Aug 2, 2018

I

By Wesley H

Jul 9, 2018

G

By ZHANG H

Jan 20, 2017

Thanks you very much for teaching this course!

You taught this course well. First, you introduced the vital principals of good writing. Second, you taught scaffolding, a useful tool to organise. Third, you taught techniques for revision. Lastly, you link course to design and presentation, a natural extension of writing in business world today (how i wish to go back to the old days when there are no presentations).

I found the videos slightly too brief to let the idea or technique to sink in. This can be augmented by additional reading material. Also, to allow techniques become second nature, it will be even better if there are more exercises. A option to do more exercises can be a good idea. You can consider putting this into a book!

by the way, my scaffold below lol

-principals

-scaffold

-techniques for revision

-it links to graphic design and presentation

-more examples and practices

By Thomas B

Jan 24, 2018

The business writing course is very good. Learning paths are clear, Videos and the tutors in it are excellent and the knowledge transfer worked brilliantly for me. I appreciated the quizzes and peer reviews to test my learnings and reflect how my writing changed to the better. Even everyone must pass the guidance-quiz on how to rate others, the number of words should be measured electronically. It's the highest rate and receiving these points is relevant to pass. Wrong ratings and thereby failings could be minimized.

By Liane

Nov 12, 2020

As a first-time online learner, I found it difficult to navigate until after a few sessions. I wanted to finish one more review to get honors, but the certificate was already made--I should have waiting to take the final exam.

A suggestion, also, is to explain acronyms used. I had to Google MOOC, and I still don't know what a "Panda" (used in the course) is.

I will definitely be taking additional courses and I enjoyed and learned a lot from this one. Thank you.

By Alexis L

Aug 19, 2020

Overall I found this course to be informative. There are some technical problems with the closed captions not matching on some of the videoes. So, if you need closed captions there will be two videos that you won't be able to watch. I liked the activities, I think they did a good job of reinforcing the lessons taught in the videos. I am only doing this class out of four so I cannot compare it to the others in the course, but I hope you find this review helpful.

By Michael K

Feb 10, 2020

I gave the overall course a 4 star rating due to the material presented. The content was laid out well, and presented at a good pace. I almost gave the course a 3 star based on constructive input on my writing. I was hoping there might have been a professional analysis of my writing at the beginning and end of the material. Also, I am not in favor of non-professionals evaluating my work.

Once again, I liked the course, but missed that personal feedback.

By Iman A

Aug 8, 2017

The course is great in terms of content and engaging lectures, but I wish some of the assignments weren't peer-graded only. It's always more useful to get feedback from a professional person, an expert at their field. However, I really appreciate the constructive critique I received from my peers. Other than that, The course is perfect! Thanks to Coursera and Dr. Quintin.

By Amy

Feb 17, 2020

Good techniques and tips. Weeks 1 and 4 helped me the most.

Videos needed more editing. Some lessons, especially the round table conversations, were too long and spent too much time advertising the other specialization courses. Watching at 1.25x/1.5x speed helped.

Would recommend - many people would benefit from following the course lessons.

By Joyce S

Oct 16, 2018

This course helped provide important, timeless principles for business writing. Quentin's teaching methods are so enjoyable, it felt like a breeze going through the material, until you come across the difficult assignments! Has just the nice amount of pre-quiz lessons and homework at appropriate difficulty levels.

By Nicole C

Nov 15, 2020

The course format made the lessons easy to comprehend and complete on time. The content is clear and actionable encouraging improvement in your writing immediately. The rubric training in the honors course was useful not just in the application of peer-review but also in improving editing skills.

By Sumit R K

May 14, 2020

This courses helped me to improve my formal writing to a great extent. This helped me to write and revise my own writing to the finest extent and spend my time to save my reader's time. I will be able to convey my thoughts to my reader with more clarity with the knowledge from this course.

By Megan C

May 28, 2017

Professor McAndrew is fantastic! She is very clear and informative as an instructor, but it wasn't a particularly challenging course for me personally. Needless to say, I appreciated being reintroduced to the fundamentals and learning a few things about the craft of business writing.

By Irangie N

Nov 19, 2019

It's a good course. I learnt quite a few techniques as well as relearned some areas of writing long forgotten. However if you are British educated you will notice in order to pass the tests/quiz within the course material you will have to follow the American english style.