Chevron Left
Back to Business Writing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Business Writing by University of Colorado Boulder

4.8
stars
3,904 ratings
1,153 reviews

About the Course

Writing well is one of the most important skills you can develop to be successful in the business world. Over seventy companies and thirty thousand students--from professional writers to new employees to non-native English speakers to seasoned executives--have used the techniques in Business Writing to power their ability to communicate and launch their ideas. This course will teach you how to apply the top ten principles of good business writing to your work, how to deploy simple tools to dramatically improve your writing, and how to execute organization, structure, and revision to communicate more masterfully than ever. From the very first lesson, you'll be able to apply your new learning immediately to your work and improve your writing today. Your ideas are powerful. Learn how to deliver them with the clarity and impact they deserve. "Thank you for giving me the knowledge I need in life. [Business Writing] was helpful, life changing, and has made a huge impact in my writing." -- Message from a Business Writing student The principles you'll learn in this course enable you to become a great business writer. They also provide the foundation for moving into Graphic Design and Successful Presentation, so that you can unleash your best professional self whenever--and however--you present your ideas in the workplace. This course can be taken for academic credit as part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Data Science (MS-DS) degree offered on the Coursera platform. The MS-DS is an interdisciplinary degree that brings together faculty from CU Boulder’s departments of Applied Mathematics, Computer Science, Information Science, and others. With performance-based admissions and no application process, the MS-DS is ideal for individuals with a broad range of undergraduate education and/or professional experience in computer science, information science, mathematics, and statistics. Learn more about the MS-DS program at https://www.coursera.org/degrees/master-of-science-data-science-boulder....

Top reviews

YS

Jun 11, 2017

It was an exceptional course with lots to take away from. It taught basic building blocks of business writing and then built upon it which provided a great way to self learn the content of the course.

MA

Nov 29, 2020

THIS COURSE IS VERY HELPFUL FOR EVERYONE\n\nWHO WANT TO LEARN HOW TO WRITE MEMO HOW TO DESIGN IT HOW TO ADD HEADING POINTS\n\nI LEARNED HERE EVERY SINGLE THINGS THAT HAPPEN IN REAL LIFE\n\nGOOD COURSE

Filter by:

1026 - 1050 of 1,156 Reviews for Business Writing

By ABHISHEK K

Sep 24, 2021

Well designed course...We know all the points but we did not try to incorporate these during writing. 10 points rule for better writing will remind me to be effective writer.

By Sahanya V M

Oct 8, 2020

This course was really useful. Everyone should participate in this course to develop writing skills. you will need those skills, especially when you are working at a place.

By Jazmin H

Nov 23, 2021

This is a wonderful course to improve writing and editing skills. Some questions and writing samples included mispellings, which distracted from the learning material.

By Akkari W

Sep 5, 2019

I liked the course, it contain a lot of usefull tips, and it makes me aware of mistakes that I used to do, it helped me to be more effective and to write more clearly.

By Jake Z

Aug 29, 2018

I really liked the course but after completing week three and the "honor" part of the course I received no peer reviews (I did not wait until the last day).

By Abegail T

Aug 25, 2019

Has definitely changed my presence in work environment. Has improved my confidence in writing . There has been a noticeable change in my work contribution

By Margaret B

Jan 14, 2021

This course has been very helpful in teaching me how to write clearly and concisely so as to keep my reader/manager engaged with what I have to say.

By Benjamin P

Dec 17, 2019

I found the course very clear, punctual and beneficial. Explanations and examples were interesting and provided great insight into better writing.

By Divya S

Apr 6, 2021

The course provides simple and effective measures to hone our writing. Excellent work by Dr. Quentin McAndrew. Glad to be a part of this session.

By Christabell O

Jan 20, 2021

Fun to follow and practical. But in-lessons (lessons/questions within each video) will help ensure students follow the course and understand it.

By Pavan S

Apr 3, 2020

A must do training for the business professional. It helped to highlight the lower focused errors from the emails, proposals and collateral.

By annu

Feb 14, 2020

that was a best course i have came across coursera, truly very helpful for my writing skills. looking forward for more courses like this.

By shveta s

Jul 19, 2017

A quick review of core concepts to add clarity. Just wish it had more practical assignments that enabled us to test our skills.

By Iosif G

Jul 26, 2021

R​eally good course. The assignments could have been more comprimised, since it was really challenging, but it was also good.

By Kouame K B M

Feb 5, 2021

I really liked this course ; Now i know how to convince my reader, i'm confident while writing and i go straight to the goal.

By k r

Nov 27, 2020

Overall very well designed course. I wish there would be one final assignment that would make me use everything I learned

By Zachary D

Apr 14, 2022

A detailed lesson that allows the student to enage in the lesson rather than just an onslaught of videos.

By Adam N

May 11, 2020

The course is very comprehensive and useful but I would like to suggest one lesson about writing emails.

By Venkat G

Jul 20, 2018

The course is great . More examples and exercises would have been helpful to master the writing skills.

By Todd B

Mar 5, 2019

I started learning valuable information from this class right away. Thanks for the course, Coursera.

By Abid B

Feb 13, 2021

It is a good course but it covers most of the basic only. I was expecting it to be a bit through.

By AMAL R

Jul 28, 2020

The course is really good and helpful, but I would suggest if it included more writing practices.

By Sheila A

Nov 18, 2020

this a simplified and easy-to-understand course that can aid anyone in improving their writing.

By Somtochukwu O

Aug 28, 2020

The course was very informative, I learnt a lot, however I think the quizzes were too frequent.

By MOHAMMAD R M

May 16, 2020

This course enhances your writing skills not only in business writing but all over our work.