Chevron Left
Back to Ask Questions to Make Data-Driven Decisions

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Ask Questions to Make Data-Driven Decisions by Google

4.7
stars
30,768 ratings

About the Course

This is the second course in the Google Data Analytics Certificate. You’ll build on your understanding of the topics that were introduced in the first course of this certificate program. The material will help you learn how to ask effective questions, make data-driven decisions, and meet stakeholders’ needs. Current Google data analysts will instruct and provide you with hands-on ways to accomplish common data analytics tasks. Learners who complete this certificate program will be equipped to apply for introductory-level jobs as data analysts. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, you will: - Learn about effective questioning techniques that can help guide analysis. - Gain an understanding of data-driven decision-making and how data analysts present findings. - Explore a variety of real-world business scenarios as an example of questioning and decision-making. - Discover how and why spreadsheets are an important tool for data analysts. - Examine the key ideas associated with structured thinking and how they can help analysts better understand problems and develop solutions. - Learn strategies for managing the expectations of stakeholders while establishing clear communication with a data analytics team to achieve business objectives....

Top reviews

GP

Oct 10, 2022

Información muy útil, es muy importante educarnos en cuanto a saber como comunicarnos ya que muchas veces es lo que mas se nos llega a complicar, saber como cuestionar y como presentar la información.

SO

May 30, 2022

The Skill of asking the right questions is usually very underrated and many people just overlook it. That's why I'm appreciative of google for teaching this core skill and making it super interesting.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 4,807 Reviews for Ask Questions to Make Data-Driven Decisions

By Efoli M E

Jun 18, 2021

Personally, I felt I was being lectured in some mistakes in the past relating with some clients who i freelanced for recemtly. So far so good, this is the best course I have taken on coursera

By J. E M

Mar 29, 2021

Some good hands on stuff, but a lot of review if you've done some stuff with spreadsheets already. Really it seems like it's naming and categorizing things I learned on my own.

By Lucas

Oct 6, 2021

This course, in my humble opinion, is a huge waste of time. Its name should be changed to "Common Sense and Introduction to Spreadsheets if You Never Used One before".

So far, I am very disappointed with this Google Data Analytics Certificate Course. I didn't leave a review in the first course because I thought it was just an introduction and that things would get deeper in the second one. Boy, I was wrong! All information presented is very basic and repetitive. The tests and challenges are very easy and predictable.

It seems this course was made for people who just finished high school and never had any professional experience.

I hope it gets better on course number 3.

By abhishek s

May 5, 2021

Everything was on point you didn't bring to much deep information about topics which is understandable because, I who is one of the participants is a student and I don't have a lots of experience about it to deeply understand it , but I still think that topic Metric should be given a bit more explanation otherwise everything was perfect for a beginner like me, Thankyou.

A.

By Chandra K D

May 3, 2021

I think subjective questions in this course has helped me in understanding the concepts clearly. It actually erase any assumption and concretize my understanding. This course has covered wide range of concepts including effective communication, role of stakeholders, structural thinking and also spreadsheet basics.

By Jonathan S

Jun 10, 2021

This can apply to both course #1 & #2. But they're both incredibly basic (I missed the cutoff to skip by 1 point) and that made it a real slog to get through. The readings are a bit lacking and the connection between Coursera and Qwiklabs is very hit or miss.

By Nicolás S

Jun 6, 2021

This is the most boring course I ever taken. Weeks wasted for learning a couple of basic Excel tricks. Filled with corporate jargon and 0 useful lessons. A waste of time.

By spandana k

Mar 31, 2021

Everything is explained well and in simple terms. Special thanks to the instructor for making the course lively, with interesting examples. Her enthusiasm is contagious.

By Tao C

May 12, 2021

Content that can easily be cut down to two weeks. Some stories are so blatantly advertisement-natured.

By Omotoso H O

Jun 19, 2021

This can be boring for someone with hands on background experience.

By James H

Jul 21, 2021

Not at all insightful

By Heidi I

Jun 28, 2021

Course is too easy

By Michele D

Sep 26, 2022

The instructor had a LOT of saliva clicks. It's really friggin annoying because once you hear them -- that's all you can focus on. Come on Google -- there are techniques to cut down on mouth clicks and saliva clicks. How did you miss that one -- just Google it!!

Now for the content. First - are you serious about teaching spreadsheets? Anyone who is doing a certificate for data analytics knows the basics of a spreadsheet. If they don't -- then link them to a course. The rest of the content could have been condensed into one medium PowerPoint presentation. Seriously, when are we getting to the actual content? This is all fluff. This is supposed to be a certificate about data analytics and the first two courses spent about 80% of the time focusing on "data analytics is great" and everything else surroundating data analytics. This is why I think these so-called professional certificates are a bit of a waste. If i took a college class in data analytics, I wouldn't have to wade through a shitload of fluff. I'd actually get some real content. Kinda regretting this whole thing...

By Elzbieta Z

Jun 22, 2021

Quite a disappointing and lackluster course, and the title is misleading. Only a small part focuses on asking question and even that part was one-dimensional and biased. Instead of showing different types of questions and angles one dataset can be looked at, we are getting cliche expressions like "data is everywhere". Different types of problems weren't properly defined, just illustrated with some random examples. How and if they apply to other industries is hard to say, because we don't even know what they are. This is a real quote from the course: "Categorizing things involves assigning items to categories. Identifying themes takes those categories a step further by grouping them into broader themes."

Suddenly, probably because they needed to fill the course with content, we move dfrom questions to spreadsheets. Even this part was a mix of basic functions like SUM with more complex IFERROR. I absolutely have no idea how did the creators define the target group. As a cherry on top, the QWIKLABS don't work. Bad job, Google,

By Jennifer T

Sep 1, 2021

I did not like having to wait 24 hours to re-take the quiz I clearly failed 3 times in a row. I had 24 hours to feel anxious, stressed, and felt my confidence levels plummet. It would be great to have the option to have an abbreviated pause after failing the quiz 3 times. Maybe if the student views all the videos and materials for the incorrect questions, they then are given access to another round of tries. I literally feel so overwhelmed and anxious now that my mometum was interrupted and I couldn't utilize the time block I reserved to do my classes today because I was locked out. Lastly, the questions on the quizzes didnt feel as clear as the precious 1 and 2 classes.

By Hunter D

Dec 30, 2021

Somewhat in awe that this course is so bad. The Google Data Certificate programe feels like it was made for 5th or 6th graders. It's completely preoccupied with basic vocab words. Examples and descriptions are incredibly vague and provide little insight. The pace is agonizingly slow. Videos and slides are underwhelming and are basically just a 'vlog' with no visualizations. I switched to the John Hopkin's Data Science course and after a week am already introduced to R. For comparison, the JH course feels like a Freshman college course (you just have to get past the robot voice).

By Pavel H

Dec 28, 2021

As I aim to finish the whole 8-part course, I already regret all the times wasted on watching talking head videos of Google employees sharing their stories from meetings and promoting Google Ads, compared to later parts where people with actual skill share this skill (such as in Analyze Data to Answer Questions). I had to spend hours and hours chewing through of filling, including some total nonsense stuff as how to organize meetings and who to email, instead of learning SQL functions or real BI.

By Glenn F

Nov 23, 2021

I'm only rating this way because I can't rate the entire Google Data Analytics Professional Certificate. I just wasted 6 months on this course with the promise I could get a job in data analysis. Well, I can crush data analysis! But my lack of background in math is proving to make me unhirable. I wish I'd known this before wasting time and money on this program. Now I'm 6 months behind training for another career.

By Bubíková K

Jun 20, 2021

A huge waste of time. This is a part of Google certificate for data analysis so I would expect working with data but no. I really don't get where all the 5-stars rating are coming from because this course is about nothing.

By Arjunsiva S

May 13, 2021

Too basic and of little of value to your time

By Irina

Apr 1, 2022

This course had a lot of great real-life examples which helped see actual applications of the concepts in this course - excellent intro to Excel formulas and functions, including errors and fixes!

I also loved the SMART framework for questions! In the past I have used the SMART framework for goals and it makes a lot of sense to use it for questions too.

The section on stakeholders provided additional insight and good advice (e.g., do not be afraid to say no, focus on the objective) although the course challenge questions on the primary vs. secondary stakeholders were a bit confusing. I also found the advice on teamwork, meetings and conflict resolution very useful.

Having the information broken into smaller chunks (e.g., 5-minute videos) was very helpful. The periodic short quizzes and flashcard exercises were very useful and helped the knowledge sink in.

Overall, very enjoyable and informative course!

By John G

Mar 20, 2021

The instructor was natural and enthusiastic, like most Google instructors. I think for the information presented, she was fine. As for the content of the course, I know that there was important information presented; however, it seemed like they didn't have enough content for this course, so they introduced a lot of other topics. They are important. I just think that most people are looking forward to learning specific skills with spreadsheets and databases and less soft skills. Like I said, though, the soft skills are important to. In sum, this is still just an introductory course and will probably be quite easy for most people.

By Antony J

May 6, 2021

After getting midway through the course that immediately follows this one, I decided to revise upwards my rating of the "Ask Questions to Make Data-Driven Decisions" course. Being an 'analytical' type, I found the course very focused on soft skills and quite difficult to absorb. However, the analytical pace does pick up and I can now better appreciate the value of this course.

By Paul M

Nov 11, 2021

Challenging at times because it introduced new concepts and explored others in more depth, this course has helped me push myself in areas I would never have dreamt of trying before! I particularly appreciated the fact that the concepts could be applied and used in the real world.

By Narayanacharyulu M

Jul 8, 2023

The course is designed in a systematic way with practical examples. "ASK" is primary thing expected from a Data Analyst to understand the customer's needs and his expectations. The chapter delved on the subject in a detailed manner. Thanks to the team for the material