Chevron Left
Back to Ask Questions to Make Data-Driven Decisions

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Ask Questions to Make Data-Driven Decisions by Google

4.7
stars
30,704 ratings

About the Course

This is the second course in the Google Data Analytics Certificate. You’ll build on your understanding of the topics that were introduced in the first course of this certificate program. The material will help you learn how to ask effective questions, make data-driven decisions, and meet stakeholders’ needs. Current Google data analysts will instruct and provide you with hands-on ways to accomplish common data analytics tasks. Learners who complete this certificate program will be equipped to apply for introductory-level jobs as data analysts. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, you will: - Learn about effective questioning techniques that can help guide analysis. - Gain an understanding of data-driven decision-making and how data analysts present findings. - Explore a variety of real-world business scenarios as an example of questioning and decision-making. - Discover how and why spreadsheets are an important tool for data analysts. - Examine the key ideas associated with structured thinking and how they can help analysts better understand problems and develop solutions. - Learn strategies for managing the expectations of stakeholders while establishing clear communication with a data analytics team to achieve business objectives....

Top reviews

MW

Mar 31, 2021

I just finished the 2nd Course in the Google Data Analyst course - even though I have experience in the field, this course reminded of areas that I should focus on and work to strengthen my skills in.

SO

May 30, 2022

The Skill of asking the right questions is usually very underrated and many people just overlook it. That's why I'm appreciative of google for teaching this core skill and making it super interesting.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 4,801 Reviews for Ask Questions to Make Data-Driven Decisions

By Di C

May 30, 2021

Very good course, there is a lot useful information how to work with spreadsheets, even the basic information, for example, about pivot tables or "Explore" can help to analyse data. Or explanation and practical example about SOW. Sure it's quite difficult some theoretical questions in tests, for example I was stuck about stakeholders types, but when I re-read again the topic (video) answer about stakeholders, I still din't understand the correct answers in test. So I was a little bit confused.

By S J

Mar 25, 2022

I enjoyed the course. I like how communication strategy was a main focus. I also appreciate the break down of how to ask questions, to glean insights and make better decisions. Ask as many contextual questions as possible, which can lead to even more questions, and valuable answers. Leave nothing on the table. I also like the continuous focus on structured, logical thinking. It's a running theme so learners can really feel the importance of the concept. Looking forward to course three.

By Kevin D

Dec 30, 2021

It was a good course with great insights into better professional communication. I did however see a typo in one of the course exam questions and don't know how to contact anyone. But in the job description for scenario 2 it has the following line under responsibilities,

Develop mastery of Patel Events Plus tools and metrics, which you will use to answer question sand solve problems

I can't highlight it here but it says question sand solve when it should say questions and solve. Thank you.

By Thessa D

Apr 23, 2022

I find it very interesting and enjoyed the basics of spreadsheets, visualizations, and SQL. What I learned, though limited, challenged me to learn and explore them more as I realized how important they would be in gathering information, organizing information and giving it context, and communicating to stakeholders and team members what data you have available and what data you need to get to make data-driven decisions.

Thank you, Ximena, for your help with learning videos!

By Diana C

May 1, 2021

This course and Course 1 have helped me NOW in my job. I've been studying a few hours per week and without noticing actively I've been implementing some of these best practices Google teaches in my day to day work. I wished I had this type of training when starting my first job over 13 years ago. I feel this that this course is preparing me to become a complete profesisonal and data analyst as well as a happy employee! I look forward to the next courses in this program.

By Pranta D

Apr 9, 2022

This course is really great way to learn how to ask questions to stakeholders . I understand why the ASK phase is fundamental step to start solving any data analysis problem . Not only that it helps us to know how to communicate with co workers and do great work together. From week 1 to week 4 each content is curated nicely by google and coursera team. I want to thank the instructor Ximena for such great delivery and understanding approach to clear all the topics.

By HAWAWU N

Jul 12, 2022

I enjoyed studying this course and i am poised for action to learn more about what data has to offer and how i can help businesses make data driven decisions. Asking the right questions surely provides a lot of insights in what the data one is working with has to offer. Using Structured thinking, effectively navigating through spreadsheets, putting up a Scope of work and effectively communicating with stakeholders and team make the work of a data analyst easier.

By EARL J M

May 7, 2023

I just wanted to express my appreciation for the incredible learning experience I had with the course instructors. Their detailed and step-by-step approach to teaching the material was impressive. The course structure was well-planned, with each lesson building on the previous one, making it easy to follow along and understand. The instructors were knowledgeable, patient, and supportive throughout the entire program. Thank you for a fantastic learning journey.

By Suyog P

Mar 14, 2022

This is extremely good module in Google Data Analytics . Google has designed course in such way that you can learn data analytics in detail.Through this module, we can learn about asking right question is extremely necessary to make data driven decision. Additionally, coomunication plays vital role in any decision making. So for go deep into Data Analytics systematics learning is extremely important & we are going in right direction by learning these modules.

By Kingsley L E

Feb 2, 2022

Asking quality , effective and all important questions is halfway to solving data related issues. So, this course has a broad scope of questions that a Data analyst should know firsthand. An indepth knowledge on how question-seeking data ought to be framed is a special skill which the course has revealed a lot. It also has shown that most of the decisions ever taken are done on the basis of data conclusions and are integral part of our daily routine. Okay!

By Eber E G C

Aug 21, 2022

This course leaves me with a lot of knowledge to process. Everything related to soft skills seemed very interesting to me, topics such as the SMART method, structured thinking, communication and how to approach a problem. On the other hand, the technical issues such as preparing a SOW, dashboard, spreadsheets were issues that were more complex for me but that were carried out smoothly. In both courses the content and instructors were of quality.

By manish K

Jul 12, 2021

Sometimes I Had problem in online courses because of sometimes the instructors voice are so soft that they sounds fuzzy and make me unable to listen clearly what words they had said , so I constantly look at the subtitles. But in this course, all instructors were loud and clear, and didn't created any confusion for me. And their way of teaching things with very simple and day to day real life situations made me understand concepts too quickly.

By Afu B

Nov 25, 2022

Thanks to everybody for each and every tears fro this course.

It was clear course with full of know how.

This course worked on me, I liked to learn it from this pattern.

I was excited about this course.

It clicked my mind and gave inspiration to me for my work.

This course also cleared my mind. I was so confusing about the path of Driven Decisions. But after this course, at least I can try to use those tools for my own journey which is about data.

By Harriet H

May 10, 2023

I enjoyed this course so much! It showed me the other part of data analytics outside spread sheets and analysis, by showing the importance of proper communication among colleagues and how that can help solve problems quicker and more efficiently.

I look forward to the other courses and I cannot wait to see what they have in store for me.

This was made so easy to understand by anyone and I have honestly understood so far and I'm truly excited.

By Luis G

Dec 29, 2021

Awesome course covering the right way to approach the first step of every data analytics project, which is asking effective questions to better understand expectation and be able to kick start successfully the project, without setbacks and miscommunication that can lead to a down spiral and get you off track. Also teaches the importance of effective communication and provides set of tips to tackle the right way expectations and conflicts.

By Kym L

Mar 7, 2022

I have enjoyed THIS course and my PREVIOUS course- (COURSE 1) immensely! The INSTRUCTORS, the materials, examples, and the presentaions were absolutely awesome from both presenters!!!! I am very excited on my new journey of being a Data Analyst & I want to Thank the Google Team for providing me a step in the direction with the awesome teachings and guidance!!!!! 10 STARS & KUDOS to the Google Team for the Awesome Presentations!!!

By Éric C

Jul 4, 2023

Stakeholders can sometimes be very difficult people to work with and making sure you understand how they tick and finding ways to communicate efficiently with them is a key skill you need to hold in most job positions.

As someone already working in BI, I appreciated the theoretical approach of the course as it allowed me to refresh myself on the terminology of some of the techniques I've been using naturally in my day-to-day work.

By Cat V H

Apr 4, 2022

What I appreciate the most when learning in this course is the SMART methodology to make effective questions for data analysis, and also effective communication with different stakeholders like team members, project managers, and executive officers to ensure the data analysis project is undergoing smoothly. These are just among many other skills that I find helpful as a team member in general, and as a data analyst in particular.

By Mauro C

Aug 6, 2022

Excelente didática e conteúdo, além da forma como mantém o aluno motivado. Também acho muito bom o foco do curso em promover o aprendizado, o tempo todo. Vejo muito isso na forma como os desafios são apresentados, e também nas questões que vão aparecendo ao longo do curso. Escrever, interagir e imaginar situações, talvez seja difícil para quem tem pouca experiência, mas o curso ajuda bem a romper essa barreira. Parabéns!

By Eduardo A S

Apr 6, 2022

Very well structured and paced. Expect plenty of information and terminology, the reading modules complement and reinforce the videos very neatly. In "Ask Questions to Make Data-Driven Decision" you will get all the tools required to make sure you deliver your Data Analysis Project effectively by asking the right questions which are aimed to pave the way for a successful outcome for you, your team, and the stakeholders.

By Nuel O

Aug 19, 2023

A solid 5 starts, i like so many things about the course so far, the excellent example the tutors gave, using real life illustrations and their personal experiences, made learning feel better.

I would definitely recommend this course to anyone who seriously wishes to have a future with Data Analytics, the junior entry role is perfect with the ideal teaching methods employed by the wonderful hands from Google.

Thank you.

By Kaung T S

Jun 9, 2022

Really fantastic course for the people who want to be data analysts. Identifying the business problem is the most important aspect of data analytics. In this course, I have learned the questioning techniques to identify or explore problems. How to communicate with team members and stakeholders is one of the best parts of this course. I strongly recommend this course for the people who are trying to get analytics jobs.

By Rohit T

May 5, 2022

I learnt a lot of things about what questions we need to ask to stakeholders before starting the project, so it will be clear what we are going to do with data and which kind of data we need to get success in the specific project. During this course I also leant how to work with spread sheets and introduction of databases. Very knowledgeable stuff and the instructor is very good thankyou for such a great course.

By Christian A O G

Feb 13, 2022

Was a great course, I have learned importans skill about Analist Data. I think it's an importan part of the Data Analist that i haven't considered before. Was great understood how we can formulate specific question about the business and how this question hep us to build a good analisis. There are many rols in this procesos, Analist, Data Ciences, Business expresst, stakeholders...etc...Thanks for your help

By Mian T

Jun 16, 2021

The Second course of the Google Data Analytics course is beyond normal courses. I understand alot of consepts in this course such as the Qualitative and Quantitative Data, Metrics, Spread Sheets etc. The instructor is friendly and used very simple laugauge that understandable very easily. I am very Thank ful to the Coursera to provide me such platform to learn in this panademic situtaion sitting in my home.