Chevron Left
Back to Ask Questions to Make Data-Driven Decisions

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Ask Questions to Make Data-Driven Decisions by Google

4.7
stars
30,768 ratings

About the Course

This is the second course in the Google Data Analytics Certificate. You’ll build on your understanding of the topics that were introduced in the first course of this certificate program. The material will help you learn how to ask effective questions, make data-driven decisions, and meet stakeholders’ needs. Current Google data analysts will instruct and provide you with hands-on ways to accomplish common data analytics tasks. Learners who complete this certificate program will be equipped to apply for introductory-level jobs as data analysts. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, you will: - Learn about effective questioning techniques that can help guide analysis. - Gain an understanding of data-driven decision-making and how data analysts present findings. - Explore a variety of real-world business scenarios as an example of questioning and decision-making. - Discover how and why spreadsheets are an important tool for data analysts. - Examine the key ideas associated with structured thinking and how they can help analysts better understand problems and develop solutions. - Learn strategies for managing the expectations of stakeholders while establishing clear communication with a data analytics team to achieve business objectives....

Top reviews

GP

Oct 10, 2022

Información muy útil, es muy importante educarnos en cuanto a saber como comunicarnos ya que muchas veces es lo que mas se nos llega a complicar, saber como cuestionar y como presentar la información.

SO

May 30, 2022

The Skill of asking the right questions is usually very underrated and many people just overlook it. That's why I'm appreciative of google for teaching this core skill and making it super interesting.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 4,807 Reviews for Ask Questions to Make Data-Driven Decisions

By Michelle L

Mar 24, 2021

This course is perfect for beginners who want to learn the fundamental skills required to become a data analyst! It was very enjoyable and the content is robust. I think learners will feel prepared to enter the workforce or up-skill!

By Casey J

Aug 16, 2022

As I am progressing through the materials, I am finding the teaching approach appropriately challenging and insightful. I am already able to apply what I have learned to my current work situation!

By Ahmed Z S

Jun 14, 2021

Week 3 was a bit dry. Would like to see more hands on work, one qwicklabs session didn't seem enough to practice spreadsheet basics. Enjoyed the content in general though. Would recommend

By Teresa O

May 28, 2021

It really brought home the importance of the first stage of the data analysis process. It's just as important as any other stage and should be given its due diligence in the process.

By Aakif A

May 31, 2021

It was truly remarkable

i would truly loving these courses offered by google

last but not the least i would like to thank google and coursera for providing these amazing courses

By Junghoon S

May 9, 2021

I loved how the instructor elaborated SMART objective setting. Instead of questioning why it happened only, I learned to focus on what I aim to do to understand why it happened.

By Pedro I S

Apr 7, 2021

O balanço entre teoria e prática é excelente. Ainda é, de certa forma, introdutório e teórico. No entanto, é possível utilizar as primeiras ferramentas que o google utiliza.

By Nitesh k

Jan 14, 2023

It was good but was more theoretical would like to have real world examples and bit more technical by including more practice exercises or datasets to get hands on

By Lisa D

Mar 15, 2023

This could have been half as long. It was repetitive and a slog.

By Osema S

Dec 21, 2022

Too basic

By Paco L M

May 16, 2021

Multiple times throughout the course I encounter a part that gives me the feeling "Now we're gonna get our hands dirty! We finally get to the meat of the course and get to practice data analysis!" Turns out, this course is just like the previous one: 80% conceptual. Even simple things like creating pie charts are done for us. This gives me the impression that the course was created and designed by googlers and data analysts but not tested by beginners. I take issue with the idea that Google is using us new students as the front loaders for a new and more successful version of the course. I paid for an excellent education and I'm not even gonna get the whole thing because I live outside of the USA.

Emotion aside, data analysis is a very rhythmic discipline. When performing analysis on a data set, there are subroutines and repeating actions you need to perform on any data set and I firmly believe the course should give us more than one repetition of how to perform these routines or else they'll produce graduates with spotty abilities and holes in their game. And please don't say "it's your responsibility to practice so and so out of our course" - we're frickin' paying for this course, it should get us at the very least to adequate, not barely-practiced but chock full of concepts. In fact, since this course has Google's backing, adequate seems like a low bar to clear.

Google's aim for this shouldn't just be to provide students with information, but to structure the course and educate such that their graduates will calmly and assertively navigate and process their first data set using things they learned from google.

To use a metaphor, when you see Mike Tyson box, all those movements are textbook movements drilled into him by Cus d'Amato - not a single step, twist, or punch from the boxer is anything but the moves drilled into him by his maestro. The mind of the teacher has been transplanted wholesale into that of the student and this informs their behavior and choices.

By Sirada P

Aug 10, 2023

Too easy. Didn't learn much

By Jason P

Aug 9, 2023

I liked the framework that the course gave to ask questions to clarify outcomes from a given task or project. The spreadsheet course work was very basic, I feel it was at a middle school level. Additionally I found the sections on communication and team meetings was not needed. I don't feel I'm paying to learn things like 'show up on time to a meeting' and 'reply to emails in a timely manner'. I would have liked to see the course challenge include actually doing something with the spreadsheets, but instead I was asked to identify a pie chart. I'm having a hard time seeing how the depth of information being presented is going to result in earning a data analyst job. I doubt Google would hire someone who had completed this course, I think they would find their skill set lacking. I hope that the depth of material will improve as I complete the additional courses.

By Mariya A

Apr 21, 2021

A little disappointed with this one. This seems to be geared very heavily to the type of mandatory HR homework you have to do when you're actually hired. I think it's harmful to teach this as a course, because each data analyst position and environment is different. Maybe this is the way it works at Google, but it certainly doesn't have to - it just seems incredibly basic and honestly kind of condescending. I was hoping that the "Ask Questions for Data-Driven Decisions" course would have a lot more case study work that actually makes us think of real world problems and how to approach them from the perspective of data research (not what is the appropriate email response to a supervisor who expected a report not to be late). Come one, Google, really?

By Nick Z

Jul 28, 2023

This course was pointless

By Colin K

Aug 6, 2023

Still pretty basic.

By Saurav S

May 28, 2021

I personally feel disheartened and let down by this course so far in which I have invested so much of time till now and all we are learning is how to open an excel and use functions! If this course was meant to be that basics and theoretical the team should have put up that information in the beginning. In the second course apart from asking the right questions no part of the rest of the course made a lot of sense. The team has to know that whole world organizations doesn't work the way Google does. Also, the lectures regarding meeting ethics and e-mail mannerism is completely out of context and are basics that is taught to students in schools at least I know about India. I had taken up the course of learning more tools and real analyst work than passing exams based on theoretical questions. Seriously disappointed!

By Kaung K

Mar 1, 2022

Too much theory and little technical: I know these courses are aimed at people with a wide range of skill levels and that the ideas behind the works are important. But, there are just too many repeated and bloated basic info and not enough technical "Data Analytics" skills to make good use of my time and prepare me for a real analytic job.

By Sameh E

Mar 30, 2021

Most of the content is theoretical in nature. The explanation of the clinical/practical part is not so good. I faced a lot of technical problems with QuickLab. The instructor speaks as if all audiences are fluent in English and can understand everything being said. In general, I did not enjoy this course at all.

By Philip M

Sep 23, 2021

Extremely poor.

I will not ever take another coursera course again.

It is too difficult to come back to the certificate you are working on. They need to instantly fire all their web developers and hire somebody that understands how busy people work. This is awful.

By Paras P

Dec 29, 2021

Wrong name has been detected in my certificate. I tried a lot to find the right link for get my name corrected but could not find any support for this. Unfortunately I've give this one rating so that someone could read my review and help me fix my name.

By Xu M

May 6, 2021

you told me I can do speed track, I did and I passed all test, I was supposed to get my certificate, why it shows that it is in progress ?????? Is this a JOKE ?

By Daniel O

Sep 20, 2021

If I'm honest not very useful/new stuff here. All seems a bit basic, a bit too basic for a course like this. All information can be found online for free

By Camilo A R

Mar 28, 2022

The content of the course was not as interesting as the first one. The approach was too theoretical and vague.

By Ganesh R

Jan 1, 2022

There is no option to mark the course complete when I finish auditing it.