Chevron Left
Back to Business Analytics for Decision Making

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Business Analytics for Decision Making by University of Colorado Boulder

4.6
stars
1,596 ratings
413 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn how to create models for decision making. We will start with cluster analysis, a technique for data reduction that is very useful in market segmentation. You will then learn the basics of Monte Carlo simulation that will help you model the uncertainty that is prevalent in many business decisions. A key element of decision making is to identify the best course of action. Since businesses problems often have too many alternative solutions, you will learn how optimization can help you identify the best option. What is really exciting about this course is that you won’t need to know a computer language or advanced statistics to learn about these predictive and prescriptive analytic models. The Analytic Solver Platform and basic knowledge of Excel is all you’ll need. Learners participating in assignments will be able to get free access to the Analytic Solver Platform....

Top reviews

SS
May 27, 2020

I would like to recommend this course to the business analyst aspirants. It is really intriguing and helps to develop analytical skills. The examples and assignments are perfect to train a beginner.

PA
Aug 11, 2020

I think this is a practical and insightful course for understanding what business analysis is and how models apply in realily by providing useful and familiar examples. Highly recommend this course

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 408 Reviews for Business Analytics for Decision Making

By Qi X

Aug 4, 2017

I liked the way professor organized the course. Concept and example were clearly illustrated.

By Ansar A K

Jun 20, 2021

good

By Lyubov A

Jun 3, 2020

The course is quite informative but very much rely on the proposed ASP product (both theoretical and practical stuff. The trial version of ASP doesn't work properly all the times. For instance, the number of trials for a simulation recommended by the professor (and emphasised continuously) is 10,000, at the same time ASP trial version limit is 1,000. Now I need to try all the practical tasks with any other alternative analytics tools which mean additional time (and might be more money) which I invested already.

By Christy S

Jun 2, 2021

The content is outdated, using a different version of Analytic Solver than the one that is given to you through Coursera, and the upgraded version (which you actually need) is over $1000. The specific problem is that the assignments require you to set the number of trials to 10,000, but the maximum allowed with the free download is only 1,000.

By Gaddam G T S

Jun 12, 2020

his course will introduce you to the basic elements of academic information seeking - we will explore the search process from defining a strategy to evaluating and documenting your search results. Attending the course will make you a proficient information seeker. You will learn how to carry out comprehensive literature searches based on your own research assignment. You will be guided through the various information seeking steps from selecting relevant search strategies and techniques to evaluating your search results, documenting your search process and citing your sources. Attending the course will enable you to: • Identify your information need • Evaluate databases and other information resources • Set up search strategies and use various search techniques • Formulate search strings based on your own research assignment • Identify relevant material types • Undertake critical evaluation of your sources • Search more efficiently on the internet • Avoid plagiarism • Cite correctly • Work with reference management • Document your search process The course is intended for undergraduate students but the lessons will be useful to anyone who is interested in becoming better at finding scientific information. There are no formal requirements for the course. The series consists of 21 lectures that are organized into three modules. The lectures include small assignments and quizzes (to check comprehension). The lectures will each touch upon a topic that is essential to the information seeking process. To get the most out of the lecture series, we recommend that you access the lectures while you are working on an academic paper. We also recommend that you watch the lectures in the order in which we have structured them. We recommend that you create and fill out a log book while attending the lectures. We have created a log book template that you can use during the course.

By Graciano P

Oct 11, 2020

This is the third course in the Advanced Business Analytics specialization. This is good course on the subject of prescriptive analytics subject. It starts with cluster analysis and takes you all the way to optimization for decision analytics. The material is covered using a practical tool named Analytic Solver which provides a different approach to the subject by focusing on the high-level aspects of the models. This allows the learner to cover a lot of techniques in a relatively short period of time while at the same time providing the learner with a broad vision and understanding of the field of study.

By N R M

Jun 18, 2020

Decision making is a difficult process, both in professional and personal fronts, especially in complex cases with many decision variables, constraints, objective functions and risks. Lot many tools are available now a days to solve complex problems. However the knowledge of how to model the problem and what method to be used is very critical in arriving at the right solutions. This course provides an excellent understanding of the basics for the same, and would recommend to managerial & engineering professionals and career aspirants in analytics.

By Michael L O

Nov 24, 2016

Good introduction to the Analytic Solver Platform for Excel used for various prediction and prescriptive modeling. Could use better integration of slides and transcripts but that is a personal preference since I like my notes to read more like a textbook rather than spread across a simple text file, a video, a sparse PowerPoint deck, and some Excel workbooks. Too disjointed for easy review in my mind.

By Dr. G N M

Aug 18, 2020

I would like to recommend this course to the business analyst aspirants. It is really intriguing and helps to develop analytical skills. The examples and assignments are perfect to train a beginner. I think this is a practical and insightful course for understanding what business analysis is and how models apply in reality by providing useful and familiar examples. Highly recommend this course

By Nguyen T T H

Oct 7, 2020

This course is very helpful and highly recommended for a beginner to have an understanding of analyzing the business problem and how to build a model to solve such a problem. It also introduces an analytic platform via Excel Solver (Basic) and Analytic Solver (which is able to have a free trial via a link in the lecture). The examples are practical, well structured, and easy to follow.

By Jianguang W

Aug 9, 2020

This is a great course. Before this course, when I make a decision, I just considered the expectation value. But after this course, I found that when considering the distribution of the variables, the expectation values cannot present the risk when making a decision. Thanks for this course, I get to know the ASPE to make simulation and optimizations.

By Pradeep I

Nov 10, 2019

This is a very comprehensive course. Manuel L, is very clear and covered number of useful business scenarios to depict the power of true analytics. The 'Analytic Solver Platform' is super Add-In , but I have my reservations on its limits over using it in this course. By the way it is a great course which definitely expanded my horizons.

By Mohamad T F

Sep 27, 2020

Great! This course is very insightful. The course helps me to deep dive into not only predictive analytics but also into more prescriptive analytics for problem analysis and decision recommendation in my career. Through this course, for the first time, I eventually got a point on how the PCA works! Thanks.

By Alvaro L

Apr 8, 2020

Excellent content and explanations, and the effort put in creating relevant for real life business situations is noticeable. However, the annoying thing is that the version of the Analytic Solver provided is not the same than the one used by the instructor (it has a limit of 2500 trials for simulations).

By Srishti K

Sep 30, 2020

Very well structured course. Very well explained with the help of real life business problem examples. Very well illustrated in excel. The professor has taught some very crucial terms and methodologies required in analytics field, with thorough practical application. Thanks a lot for this course.

By Shafi K

Jan 31, 2018

Very well presented and excellent content is provided.

The professor explains materials in great details and provides great examples.

I really enjoyed his lectures and comments.

I wish he would have introduced some books for extra activities to master details in this course.

Great job and many thanks

By Viktoriia D

Mar 16, 2020

I understand, on a high level, which approaches I can use in data analysis for decision making. The best for me is the simulation. I like to see a result when I changed value for some dimensions. Only one comment, without special knowledge, it could be complicated to understand everything.

By Michael K

Oct 12, 2020

Very insightful course, deep in knowledge and application. Will try to apply in future work context of merging business analytics with financial management and service & solution marketing. Appreciate the University & Coursera for crafting this brilliant service.

By Khaled A M

Nov 21, 2020

I've greatly benefited from this course. Not only that now I have a good background understanding of optimization analysis, but also a refined method in organizing and solving problems. All thanks to the great instructor and the college for providing this course.

By Minh T N

Mar 30, 2021

Superb content and high-quality course structure with highly detailed videos, instructions and follow-up exercises & assignments. Props to the professors and all the organizers for delivering such an insightful and knowledge-packed course.

By Devaprabha c

Jul 25, 2020

Business analytics for decision making is good course that I learn.learn about cluster analysis, optimization -core technique and master of business analytics,model uncertainty.thank you for coursera community to introduce this course.

By W. S N I

Jul 14, 2020

The course was overall good and it taught me analytical solver platforms and the uses of them, with some examples which are understandable. The lecturer was great. Helped me to learn another area regarding my professional targets.

By Vikrant P

Sep 3, 2020

A very good and relevant course taught by instructor Manuel Laguna for people who are willing to learn Business analytics. Solving a real-world problem helps relate and apply your course knowledge which is an added advantage.

By Yodchanon N

Jun 29, 2020

Highly recommended. Thank you Mr. Manuel Laguna for this useful course. This course gave me knowledge and practice with rich detail. The lecturer did his best in teaching, illustrating and visualising, very clearly.

By Pedro M

Jul 28, 2020

This course is really great. But it could be added one week to explain how to apply monte carlos simulation in other softwares (free softwares). However the course was great and the professor teaching really well.