Chevron Left
Back to Business Analytics for Decision Making

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Business Analytics for Decision Making by University of Colorado Boulder

4.6
stars
1,281 ratings
343 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn how to create models for decision making. We will start with cluster analysis, a technique for data reduction that is very useful in market segmentation. You will then learn the basics of Monte Carlo simulation that will help you model the uncertainty that is prevalent in many business decisions. A key element of decision making is to identify the best course of action. Since businesses problems often have too many alternative solutions, you will learn how optimization can help you identify the best option. What is really exciting about this course is that you won’t need to know a computer language or advanced statistics to learn about these predictive and prescriptive analytic models. The Analytic Solver Platform and basic knowledge of Excel is all you’ll need. Learners participating in assignments will be able to get free access to the Analytic Solver Platform....

Top reviews

SS

May 28, 2020

I would like to recommend this course to the business analyst aspirants. It is really intriguing and helps to develop analytical skills. The examples and assignments are perfect to train a beginner.

PA

Aug 12, 2020

I think this is a practical and insightful course for understanding what business analysis is and how models apply in realily by providing useful and familiar examples. Highly recommend this course

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 344 Reviews for Business Analytics for Decision Making

By Meena M

May 24, 2020

Thank u

By Sultan-Al N H

May 20, 2020

helpful

By V.gnanapriya V

Aug 23, 2020

Good

By GONÇALVES

Jul 11, 2020

Deep

By Mynaavathi.S

Jun 25, 2020

Good

By DEEPIKA P

Jun 13, 2020

Good

By Maheshwari

May 18, 2020

Good

By Raut N S

May 02, 2020

best

By Shantanu S

Feb 25, 2017

Good

By MOHD S

Jun 30, 2020

NA

By mark w

May 28, 2017

D

By Todd L

Mar 23, 2019

Very good topics. Very interesting and good to learn the basics. Even though the lecturer said simulation and optimization together were the most advanced part of analytics, I only halfway believe him. While the breadth of examples is good, the depth of each examples is thin in regard to real-life problems. For example, the marketing problems are too shallow, as anyone in marketing can quickly realize. I also didn't like that the ASP tool isn't available for Mac. The solver.com online tool is laggy, difficult to use, and ugly. I'd prefer an Excel-Mac solution or a Google Sheets solution PLEASE.

By Natalia

Jul 02, 2020

Nice introductory course, but it was way too theoretical and easy for me (I completed the course in just two days). Some assignments were not available for me to solve, because there cloud trial version of Analytic Solver for Mac did not work well. Also it would be more interesting for me to know how to solve these problems with Excel from scratch without using some external software, which costs money. Anyway, I got some insights and ideas how to use statistical and mathematical models for solving business problems.

By Yohana E

Jul 27, 2020

Para mi el curso empieza muy bien, pero ya en la semana dos se torna muy técnico, y no tan estratégico, ademas es necesario tener un programa que en mi caso no tengo, mi expectativa era más un curso gerencial y de toma de desiciones que de minería de datos. Por todo lo anterior he tomado la decisión de no continuar y buscar un curso que sea más gerencial. gracias!

By Rafael G d R

Jun 21, 2020

I believe if we have a list of exercises that would be great, we could understand better the tools and principles in many situations. The exercises and tests are basic and they don´t really challenge us.

By Gabriel A

Jun 16, 2020

The high level topics are there, but I find it very difficult to believe that any F500 company uses this excel macro as the foundation for data analytics.

By Carlos C F

May 07, 2020

Very good insights and applicability to real cases. I would have liked though to having practical cases with less "pre-done" work by the instructor.

By Thahir N M

Apr 18, 2020

Too much dependence on XL minor is a negative for the course. Text book code and course code will give XL miner access for 15 days which is a pain

By Balazs K

May 11, 2020

The Analytic Solver Platform did not work properly, despite the environment was given. I can not give more for this course.

By Maryam M

Sep 16, 2020

The course was heavily designed based on the tool. I would rather learn more details of, for example, optimisation.

By Federico G V

Aug 30, 2019

Stimulating course, the low valuation is due to the fact that slides shown during lesson are not made available

By Vineetha S

May 10, 2020

It is a good course but if you cannot get Analytical Solver Platform it can be hard.

By Lalit K

May 19, 2020

Excel sheets are not available for downloads as mentioned in the different modules

By Rahul

Jul 04, 2020

The professor's accent is hard to understand and he speaks very fast

By Sara A d S

Sep 01, 2020

It needs a solver software that is paid and very difficult to get.