Chevron Left
Back to High-Impact Business Writing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for High-Impact Business Writing by University of California, Irvine

4.4
stars
2,521 ratings
465 reviews

About the Course

Effective writing is a powerful tool in the business environment. Learn how to articulate your thoughts in a clear and concise manner that will allow your ideas to be better understood by your readers. Improve your business writing skill by learning to select and use appropriate formats for your audience, use the correct medium and adjust your writing style accordingly, as well as identify your objective and communicate it clearly. You'll also learn to spot, correct and avoid the most common writing pitfalls, and gain valuable experience analyzing, writing and revising a wide spectrum of business documents. From a simple interoffice memo to a twenty-page business proposal, learn how to put good business writing to work for you. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Write effective business communications, including bad news, good news, persuasive writing, presentations, emails, memos, business reports and press releases 2. Learn how to edit and proofread business documents 3. Learn how to write for a global market...

Top reviews

TR

Jul 08, 2016

A simplified course that targets areas of business writing which most of us tend to oversee. In this era of digitalisation and information overload, this back to basics method was really refreshing.

GK

Dec 08, 2018

This course was short, poignant and mindful of our busy lives, while teaching us all how to be more impactful in our writing. This is just what I was looking for to give me an extra edge at work!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 462 Reviews for High-Impact Business Writing

By Guido P

Sep 24, 2015

Testing choice isn't great. Writing a letter, outline, etc. and submitting it for peer review would have been more productive. Furthermore, some questions in Week 2 test are confusing, the original meaning the test designer is trying to convey is, which dictates what the right answer is, isn't clear, giving too much room to interpretation not allowing the answer to be empirically right.

By Johan J

Jan 31, 2016

Didn't really elevate my writing. Mostly due to the fact that there were no practical exercises included. Though some of the theoretical stuff that is covered is sort of common sense, most is still very relevant, so I don't regret taking the course.

By Simona F

Apr 08, 2020

Unfortunately, I don't feel I have learned anything new during this course, except for a couple of definitions. The content was very basic and most of the presentations looked like they weren't at all revised before being approved, there is even a lesson that starts halfway. Some slides are poorly done graphic- and content-wise. Same concept repeated lesson after lesson and some grammar mistakes even in the grammar section of the course! Last but not least, the quiz questions are really ambiguous and don't seem linked to the course content, I had to re-take week 2 quiz three times to pass with trial and error, because I could not understand what was the purpose of the question. Some hands-on exercise would have been useful. Would retake if content is revised.

By Balaji S

Nov 13, 2018

The Course is very useful. I like the tutor. The content was very crisp and easy to understand. I learnt many new things which I can deploy in my mails, business cases and letters.

Many thanks to the entire team of Coursera. Love you.

By Loren C

Feb 21, 2017

A very simplistic overview of necessary skills and helpful writing tips. The videos are a bit slow and the instructor stumbles over her words a lot, but the material is great.

By Arthi S

Aug 25, 2015

The modules had a lot of aspects and covered each one in detail. However, it would have been helpful to have some hands-on exercises like writing an executive summary, evaluating a resume, writing an elevator pitch etc so that people learn from each other. Otherwise, its a great course with emphasis on different aspects of business writing. Thanks

By Andre F M C

Jul 04, 2017

Gostei muito desse curso, talvez o mais útil que eu fiz em muito tempo. São dicas simples, mas as pessoas realmente deveriam aprendê-las e segui-las no ambiente de trabalho.

Como oportunidade de melhoria, gostaria de mencionar que o som dos vídeos é inconstante, mudando de alto volume para baixo volume com a troca de vídeos. A qualidade também é bastante diferente.

By Khaled A

May 19, 2020

This has to be one the best, most substantial courses here on Coursera. It covers a wide array of topics, while still focusing on small details that I would have usually missed out on. Great lecturer, and great course content offered. Highly recommend this course to anyone who is interested in enhancing and refining their writing skills.

By Md. I C

Jun 07, 2020

This is a great course for Professionals who has to communicate on a daily basis in the form of writing. This course will enable them to identify the mistakes they were making and help them communicate more efficiently. I liked the way Ms Susanne Robins delivered each lecture.

By Karim H A L

Jun 24, 2020

Great course! I have always had trouble with my writing and this course has helped me a lot, specially when it comes to writing emails at work. I would recommend this course for those who struggle when writing to colleagues or Management.

By Di J

Oct 26, 2015

The course is great. very informative and there are a lot of best practices i can practice in my day to day work.

The only area i see improvement is the quiz for week 2. I found it very difficult to pass the the choices are ambiguous.

By Stacy R

Apr 14, 2018

The course covered a broad and basic scope of relatable writing topics; while, it still focused on the crucial and applicable topics (i.e. executive summaries and proposals to memos, agendas, and social media writing).

By Sabiha A

Apr 20, 2020

It was an amazing course with a nice course instructor. I love this course, it will help me in business communication and any type of formal communication. I could gather some necessary knowledge through this course.

By Thasleemah A R

Jul 08, 2016

A simplified course that targets areas of business writing which most of us tend to oversee. In this era of digitalisation and information overload, this back to basics method was really refreshing.

By Gene K

Dec 08, 2018

This course was short, poignant and mindful of our busy lives, while teaching us all how to be more impactful in our writing. This is just what I was looking for to give me an extra edge at work!

By Robert R

Aug 01, 2019

I have held several executive roles throughout my career. This course helped fine tune my writing and has drastically improved my correspondences as well as presentations. Highly recommend.

By Zivile M

Sep 22, 2015

The course was very short and very basic. I do not think it is fair to call it "High-Impact Business Writing" when all you get is an introduction to business writing. It would be nice to have a more extensive course on this subject. I would retake it if it was improved. My rating reflects the lack of high-quality content with more examples.

By Ruth M V

Jun 18, 2019

The content is interesting (although far simplier than I expected, especially in the second module), but the presentation is a put off at times. The speaker loses track every now and then, PPT presentations timing and video editing (more precisely, video cut and paste) could help some revising.

By Jaime A R O

Apr 29, 2020

I didn't particularly like the grammar module, I felt like I was guessing the questions in the quiz. I think that all the course should be more pragmatic

By Deleted A

Sep 22, 2015

Poor content. Clearly filler material for the specialization. :)

By Joanne C

Sep 03, 2015

This is an amazing opportunity unfortunately I have to catch up. I plan on doing this on the 3 day weekend. I have put time aside specifically for my classes. I have already put it to practice just haven't had a chance to do the quiz on lesson 1 or work on lesson 2. Again this is really a great way to help people out. Hopefully I will be in a position to get some certificates out of it as well. Thank you for this wonderful experience. :)

By Abishek S

Aug 10, 2020

The course was very effectively presented. It had just the right amount of information to cater to a diverse audience; not too much, not too little. The resources provided were also engaging reads.

Certain sections of the course, like the ones on business letter writing and emails could be reworked to adapt to the current business scenario.

By Rick P

Oct 27, 2015

I found this course very valuable as much of my job centers around the principals outlined here. I see lots of this as common sense but find it very refreshing to have it in a formal format for others to learn from. I love the comment that we are surrounded by clutter in our writing and need to address it.

By Mohan C P

Feb 19, 2017

This course was very good. It offered practical tips on business writing which proved to be very helpful in career progress. The course curriculum was well structured and the instructors were also very knowledgeable. I enjoyed a lot pursuing this online course.

By Tinisha R T

Sep 02, 2020

An excellent foundation course to business writing .It was well detailed and the instructor was clear and gave examples to support her points .This made it easy to understand.I gained a lot of knowledge and was able to brush up on some skills .