Chevron Left
Back to Foundations of Data Science: K-Means Clustering in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Foundations of Data Science: K-Means Clustering in Python by University of London

4.6
stars
271 ratings
88 reviews

About the Course

Organisations all around the world are using data to predict behaviours and extract valuable real-world insights to inform decisions. Managing and analysing big data has become an essential part of modern finance, retail, marketing, social science, development and research, medicine and government. This MOOC, designed by an academic team from Goldsmiths, University of London, will quickly introduce you to the core concepts of Data Science to prepare you for intermediate and advanced Data Science courses. It focuses on the basic mathematics, statistics and programming skills that are necessary for typical data analysis tasks. You will consider these fundamental concepts on an example data clustering task, and you will use this example to learn basic programming skills that are necessary for mastering Data Science techniques. During the course, you will be asked to do a series of mathematical and programming exercises and a small data clustering project for a given dataset....

Top reviews

AH
Jun 3, 2020

I love this course as it gives me the foundations of learning the Python coding program and relevant statistical methods that used for data analysis. It's really interesting course to attend to.

GR
Sep 9, 2019

184/5000\n\nConferences of very good quality, and the platform for practices is really useful to put the theory into practice. I recommend this course if you want to start in data science.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 88 Reviews for Foundations of Data Science: K-Means Clustering in Python

By Dieter N

May 2, 2020

I hope there will be another AI-curse

By Martin W

May 25, 2020

Excellent course, really enjoyed it !

By Vincent

Mar 15, 2020

Very useful for foundation knowledge.

By Dario R

Feb 25, 2020

great course, i 've learned a lot.

By Anshul G

Jun 2, 2020

Very good course for beginners!!!

By Vinh N T

Jul 23, 2020

An extremely useful course

By Somanathi S R t

May 23, 2020

learned a lot ,thanks!!

By NIKHIL P S B

May 11, 2020

Well structured course!

By Farhad A

Apr 27, 2020

everything was perfect

By Fan K N

Feb 12, 2020

Excellent course !!!

By Paul L

Jul 13, 2020

Very good quality.

By Harsh P

Mar 29, 2020

Amazing Course!

By Naeema T

Jul 22, 2020

amazing course

By Gerald D

Nov 27, 2020

Great course!

By Amin

Jan 14, 2020

Thank you

By Daniel W S

Dec 23, 2020

I was impressed by the amount of informative, relevant and in-depth material, taught and built up form a very basic level. The video lectures and practical exercises have really helped to cement the material covered in this course. In areas, there are quite a few mistakes (content, wording, etc), which can be confusing and come across as a bit sloppy.

By VIJAYA R

May 25, 2020

This course starts from fundamental level. The instructors clearly explains statistical methods such as mean, variance, standard deviation, variance etc with python source code on a simple data set. Then they have explained plotting with labels and finally how to apply k-means clustering on bank note authentication dataset.

By HYEIN P

May 10, 2020

It was not fully explained how to use Python, therefore I should have looked for the more information through internet by myself.

However, it was quite interesting to understand why data science could be important and how to use with K-means clustering.

By Colin A

Aug 16, 2020

Overall what you get for the price is about right. Sometimes there are glaring gaps in the presentation of concepts, and how sections fit together. In the end it served its purpose to me - to see if I want to continue exploring data science a a field.

By Justin M J

May 11, 2020

I would highly recommend this course for any beginners. it simply suits both the first timers and people who wish to further existing knowledge and understanding of Python and data science to another level. enjoyable homebased learning.

By Jesus R

Sep 25, 2019

The lessons based on maths had a lot of text; it would have been better to base it more on graphics or imagery, since it was confusing to follow speech and text on video at the same time.

By Soumya S

May 1, 2020

It is a very detailed and well planned course. However, there could have been a few lectures at the end on training set, testing set etc.

By Leonard J

Aug 9, 2020

Very good course to help you understand the basics of data science, the videos are short so will not cover everything you need