Chevron Left
Back to Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS by Duke University

4.6
stars
11,584 ratings
2,525 reviews

About the Course

Learn foundational programming concepts (e.g., functions, for loops, conditional statements) and how to solve problems like a programmer. In addition, learn basic web development as you build web pages using HTML, CSS, JavaScript. By the end of the course, will create a web page where others can upload their images and apply image filters that you create. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Think critically about how to solve a problem using programming; 2. Write JavaScript programs using functions, for loops, and conditional statements; 3. Use HTML to construct a web page with paragraphs, divs, images, links, and lists; 4. Add styles to a web page with CSS IDs and classes; and 5. Make a web page interactive with JavaScript commands like alert, onClick, onChange, adding input features like an image canvas, button, and slider....

Top reviews

IS
Oct 5, 2015

This is the first course I am taking in Coursera.org. The valuable instructors of Duke University designed and created a masterpiece for learners. Thank you so much guys. Greets from Istanbul, Turkey.

JS
Jan 12, 2020

A very helpful code which allows you to learn the simple of JavaScript HTML and CSS. Very helpful in building websites and an excellent course for beginners or even people who have never coded before.

Filter by:

2451 - 2475 of 2,487 Reviews for Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

By Nicholas W

May 1, 2016

The instructors overly explain simple concepts and talk about programming inbetween makes the course confusing then you get lost and quiz you on stuff that was not properly explaiuned

By James B

Nov 22, 2020

The presentation was quite patronising and reminiscent of 1990s AOL adds in places. The content was presented very dryly without any interactivity. I would not recommend this course.

By Andre D

Jan 30, 2021

I signed up for "Java Programming and Software Engineering Fundamentals". Instead of learning Java, this class goes over Javascript/HTML/CSS which I don't need at all.

By Ivan I

Dec 13, 2016

This is a lie. I do everything. I complete week 2 and now i come back to watch videos about week 3 and i see that i dont do anything.Can you imagine ?Good job guyz.

By Christopher M

Jun 23, 2016

The jump to javascript is too great for beginners. Fundamental concepts of programming severely need more time spent on but are in fact glossed over too quickly.

By Ankit G

Oct 12, 2015

Very poorly structured. Explanation and examples were not very helpful. should revamp the course content and video lectures (specially the steganography part).

By Mohamed A L

Nov 22, 2015

The instructors rushed through the Javascript part. Unlike the previous sections, this section assumes that one knows Java and its syntax beforehand.

By Kirke B

Dec 7, 2020

I am dropping the Javascript course. The instructions don't line up with the screens. Please take this as an official drop as of 12/7/20.

By qiangui b

Nov 9, 2015

I drop at the beginning of the Javascript, before Javascript, everything is good, after Javascript, "What are they talking about"?

By Shourya P

Aug 9, 2020

The faculties are not that energetic.

It seems like they are just reading the lines which are kept in front of them.

By Obiora O

Nov 19, 2019

Reviewed course material as a quick re-cursor, some segments were informative - the course overall was very basic.

By Carmen

Jun 24, 2020

No hay forma de entrar al curso y está solo entre inglés no hay facilidad para entrar y muchos anuncios

By Yoni K

Dec 17, 2020

I got stuck many times, watched the lectures again, and didn't understand what is wrong with my code.

By Luke M

Dec 11, 2015

No ancillary reading material or text to help along with the assignments lead me to fail the course.

By Ritchelly C

Apr 16, 2020

Método de ensino não é satisfatório, não se começa a ensinar iniciantes com manipulação de imagens.

By John

Dec 12, 2015

Not everything is explained well so very challenging for someone with no prior coding experience.

By Roman S

Apr 5, 2018

Bad structure. Poor quality. I earned no pracitical knowledge after. No recommendation.

By Shu Y

Nov 25, 2016

wow. the presentations are really boring! the Java script part is super confusing!

By Dr J R C

Feb 16, 2016

Not really useful ~ I would like to email in a PDF file of comments

By Jannat M

Oct 18, 2018

so Basic It does not require 4 months practice yourself its better

By MB

Nov 16, 2015

Too much emphasis on taking tests versus actually programming.

By Dakota M M

Mar 24, 2020

This stupid website won't let me drop out of this class.

By Rafael B d C

Jan 23, 2016

HTML and CSS is good. JS search for another course.

By Chichi U

Oct 3, 2016

This course is not relevant in the real world.