Chevron Left
Back to Financial Accounting: Foundations

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Financial Accounting: Foundations by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.7
stars
2,889 ratings
688 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn foundations of financial accounting information. You will start your journey with a general overview of what financial accounting information is and the main financial statements. You will then learn how to code financial transactions in financial accounting language. In the meantime, you will learn about the most important concept in contemporary financial accounting: accrual accounting. You will then critically analyze how firms recognize revenues. Finally, you will finish the course with an analysis of accounting for short-term assets where you will go into detail on how firms account for accounts receivables and inventories. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Understand main financial statements and the financial information they provide • Write a financial transaction in financial accounting language and understand how this impacts main financial statements • Understand how accrual accounting and fundamental accounting concepts work • Understand revenue recognition principles and how they impact main financial statements • Account for accounts receivables and inventories. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top reviews

AD

Sep 04, 2017

Though I have been through Intro Accounting some 3 or 4 times through different classes and seminars, I still found myself learning from this detailed and straight forward presentation of information.

YP

Jun 07, 2020

The modules were extremely informative and nothing less to say, Oktay sir's presentations were very easy to understand even for a person like me who has no prior knowledge about Financial Accounting.

Filter by:

551 - 575 of 669 Reviews for Financial Accounting: Foundations

By Patricio J T F

Jun 18, 2017

Great course to refresh your basic accounting knowledge, it ain't a course of complicated exercises but module 4. Highly recommended if your already have a business degree and seeking to refresh your accounting understanding.

By Nicolas P

Sep 11, 2020

Some of the latter videos could have benefitted from concrete examples and the professor should use a whiteboard or excel sheet for going over problems instead of just talking out the problems. Otherwise a good course.

By Pablo S T A

Jun 01, 2020

El curso tiene pequeños errores en la preparación de los ejercicios y tiene un enfoque totalmente centrado a la normativa U.S GAAP, lo cual no es malo pero debería ser informado antes de iniciar el curso

By Syed M K S

Dec 09, 2018

This the teaching method and course structure plus teacher is exceptionally. One thing i need to add i was expecting to cover all the basic accounting things please add more and cover more content

By Carlos A S S

May 20, 2020

It could be easier for students to have acces to a link with the support material (laws, USGAAP/IFRS, text books) in each video in order to verify and save the documentary support of the class

By Bhavika V

May 03, 2020

Loved learning and doing this course! It's a great learning oppurtunity for those who are not from a commerce background but would love to learn accounting. Thanks for this great course! :)

By FABIAN S

Dec 18, 2017

The course offered basic accounting training that was understandable and easy to remember. I would definitely recommend to others and would continue with other courses.

By Ugochinyere m O

Jul 02, 2020

It was easy for me, the lectures were easy to understand couple with the transcript for each module, it just made it simple. Thank you for such a wonderful class

By JOHN J

Jun 02, 2018

Could use a bit more explanation of the formulas and methods for deriving some of the balance sheet and income statement items, but overall very good overview.

By Carolina R C

Jun 10, 2019

Muy buen curso, aunque sentí que falto profundizar un poco en los ejercicios ya que en los quices y/o parciales faltaba información para poderlos completar

By RORY C

Dec 27, 2019

I liked the course. There are some elements of FIFO and LIFO that I worked through, but I'm still fuzzy on. I look forward to the live sessions.

By Jonathan K

Mar 19, 2019

If there were interactive workbooks, that would solidify understanding and give practical application to the content learned in the module.

By REY I A M

Jan 02, 2020

Los estudios son interesantes, ya que se puede ver la capacidad de analizar la información y prevenir varias alternativas.

By Shahzadi L D

Apr 25, 2020

It was well covered and was really in depth. the only thing can be changed is case studies should not be too brief.

By SAMIR S

Jun 06, 2020

For a person from engineering background and willing to study the finance, I believe this is the go start course.

By Rithik M

May 11, 2020

This course has made me gain interests in finance. And i have learnt many finance topics conceptually..Thank you

By Syed U A

Apr 27, 2020

Overall its a very good course. However at some points more details are required for better understanding.

By Himani T

Aug 24, 2019

The course is great, however some more depth is required to answer all questions in the student's mind.

By Abanob R

Feb 03, 2017

it's a good course in financial accounting foundations and I real liked the idea of the peer assignment

By Agustín E

Apr 24, 2018

The grading of the submission took too long. I´m still waiting. The rest of the course was excellent!

By Varsha R

Apr 22, 2020

Peer graded assignment was not explained properly. Rest of the course material was explained nicely.

By Jacques P P

Mar 07, 2017

Good and clear explanations to refresh or establish knowledge about financial accounting principles.

By Emmanouil K

May 18, 2017

A good class overall. Would have liked it more if the approach was a little bit more systematic.

By Shelley K

Jun 15, 2019

The fundamentals are covered in good amount of detail and information is easy to articulate.

By shivam g

Aug 09, 2020

It was a great learning experience for me . i learned a lot about the financial accounting.