Chevron Left
Back to Financial Accounting: Foundations

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Financial Accounting: Foundations by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.7
stars
3,826 ratings
896 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn foundations of financial accounting information. You will start your journey with a general overview of what financial accounting information is and the main financial statements. You will then learn how to code financial transactions in financial accounting language. In the meantime, you will learn about the most important concept in contemporary financial accounting: accrual accounting. You will then critically analyze how firms recognize revenues. Finally, you will finish the course with an analysis of accounting for short-term assets where you will go into detail on how firms account for accounts receivables and inventories. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Understand main financial statements and the financial information they provide • Write a financial transaction in financial accounting language and understand how this impacts main financial statements • Understand how accrual accounting and fundamental accounting concepts work • Understand revenue recognition principles and how they impact main financial statements • Account for accounts receivables and inventories. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top reviews

AD
Sep 3, 2017

Though I have been through Intro Accounting some 3 or 4 times through different classes and seminars, I still found myself learning from this detailed and straight forward presentation of information.

YP
Jun 6, 2020

The modules were extremely informative and nothing less to say, Oktay sir's presentations were very easy to understand even for a person like me who has no prior knowledge about Financial Accounting.

Filter by:

851 - 874 of 874 Reviews for Financial Accounting: Foundations

By Filip H

Feb 11, 2021

Not consistent in terminology. That would not be a problem if the instructor pointed it out.

By Indrajit p

Jun 25, 2020

The presenter was not impressive,same content shown in many way without any help.

By HIMANSHU V

Jul 18, 2019

Balance sheets used have mistakes. Also he needs to explain things better.

By Kamilė S

Oct 7, 2020

Really didnt like the teacher. The way of speaking etc is not helpful.

By Yussupova M N

Nov 20, 2020

Not very informative and I didn't get a certificate on completion

By babak f

Jun 3, 2017

I find accounting quite boring, so that's why I did not enjoy it.

By Ali G

Sep 17, 2019

The instructor talks very fast but he is good. I learn a lot

By Ms. A M

May 19, 2020

it was nice experience and learning with coursera

By 黄伊琳

Aug 30, 2016

good, but need to pay to attend test

By VINODH K

Sep 20, 2016

language accent difficult to fallow

By Kamya A

Aug 3, 2020

Confusing at some places

By NITHYASHREE V S

Jul 18, 2020

GOOD KNOWLEDGE

By RAHUL J

Oct 12, 2020

GOOD

By Sadam H

May 10, 2020

hi

By Svitlana N

Jun 1, 2020

Some concepts are poorly explained. I had to use external materials to supplement my learning, even though I have extensive experience in finance. I had a very bad experience learning about LIFO and FIFO principals. The professor didn't really go into the logic of calculating both methods or anything really behind the methods. In addition, it was really hard to understand the professor. I am a foreigner myself and I understand the language struggle. But I expect the professor teaching the course to pronounce the terms correctly. It added a challenge to comprehend already poorly explained material. The syllabus was great though. With external research and figuring out formulas on my own (due to lack of clear explanation), I was able to learn some useful materials.

By Ntemis P

Feb 14, 2021

I did't enjoy this course, although I did well in passing it. The professor needs to improve his English skills in pronunciation and the use of the articles. On top of that, he speaks too quickly. Sometimes the texts under the video loses its correspondence. Overall this course is offered in way that it makes it difficult to grasp easy ideas.

By Florin M

Feb 10, 2019

Not too much value for money (at 38 pounds per month), given the very basic level of the learning material / courses the specialisation has on offer (even though it's being advertised as an intermediate level one).

By carrie

May 17, 2017

The content is pretty good. However, it is really difficult to understand the instructor because of his accent. I need to review the transcript all the time.

By EKene O

Feb 4, 2018

The question should be more calculation based and little bit more interactive. Students should be aided to dig dipper.

By Ariel A M G

Apr 19, 2020

in my opinion this is not financial accounting, it is just basics or fundamental of accounting

By Andrei B

Oct 7, 2016

boring assignments

By MOHAMMAD R S

Sep 29, 2020

Good

By carlos h

Jan 1, 2021

No me ha gustado que he terminado el curso y no me han enviado el certificado del curso, aun cuando pague las mensualidades

By Neeraj

Sep 10, 2020

not nice