Chevron Left
Back to Fitting Statistical Models to Data with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fitting Statistical Models to Data with Python by University of Michigan

4.4
stars
553 ratings
101 reviews

About the Course

In this course, we will expand our exploration of statistical inference techniques by focusing on the science and art of fitting statistical models to data. We will build on the concepts presented in the Statistical Inference course (Course 2) to emphasize the importance of connecting research questions to our data analysis methods. We will also focus on various modeling objectives, including making inference about relationships between variables and generating predictions for future observations. This course will introduce and explore various statistical modeling techniques, including linear regression, logistic regression, generalized linear models, hierarchical and mixed effects (or multilevel) models, and Bayesian inference techniques. All techniques will be illustrated using a variety of real data sets, and the course will emphasize different modeling approaches for different types of data sets, depending on the study design underlying the data (referring back to Course 1, Understanding and Visualizing Data with Python). During these lab-based sessions, learners will work through tutorials focusing on specific case studies to help solidify the week’s statistical concepts, which will include further deep dives into Python libraries including Statsmodels, Pandas, and Seaborn. This course utilizes the Jupyter Notebook environment within Coursera....

Top reviews

BS
Jan 17, 2020

I am very thankful to you sir.. i have learned so much great things through this course.\n\nthis course is very helpful for my career. i would like to learn more courses from you. thank you so much.

AF
Mar 11, 2019

The course is actually pretty good, however the mix between basic subjects (like univariate linear regression) and relatively advanced topics (marginal models) may discourage some students.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 104 Reviews for Fitting Statistical Models to Data with Python

By Kylie A

Jul 12, 2021

Just like the other courses in the specialization, very well thought out and planned! Up to date, great professors . . . couldn't ask for more!

By Varga I K

Apr 14, 2019

Great review of machine learning used in statistics finished up with some overview on bayesian math.

Enjoyed very much and learnt even more.

By Elliot T

Jul 1, 2020

Awesome overview about what can we do with statictics knowlegde! Half theory, half practice with Python is a great format

By Camila B V

Jun 28, 2021

Excellent, the explanations were perfect and its theorical focus was the thing why I loved this course.

By Kumar R

Jan 12, 2021

These whole three certifications lays the foundation for learning Machine Learning a more in-depth way.

By Xinyuan G

Jun 15, 2020

The specialization covers important practical topics. I am glad to have the opportunity to explore it.

By Alexander B

May 28, 2020

Overall really great coure that covers a lot of material in a concise way.

By Tarit G

Jul 4, 2020

Excellent course! Thanks to the instructors and the team made this MOOC.

By Rodrigo E P M

Aug 23, 2020

An excellent introductory course to the world of statistical modeling.

By Nicky D

Jan 22, 2020

Excellent course, really enjoyed the section on Bayesian statistics.

By nipunjeet s g

May 25, 2019

Very informative and the example

applications are extremely detailed

By Prabakaran C

Mar 17, 2020

Have given me CLearcut idea about Mixed-effects and Marginal Models

By Hrishi P

Jun 11, 2020

Great practical applications of statistics with Python!

By DIBYA P S

Jun 21, 2020

good conceptual development , helped lot in learning

By Harish S

Jan 27, 2019

Content of course was good. Some issue with quiz.

By Appi

Sep 23, 2019

Very good instructors and very good workload!

By Debabrata A K S

Feb 19, 2020

Very nice course. Well explained kudos.

By Sumit M

Mar 30, 2020

Very Very Good For learning Statistics

By Yang L

Sep 8, 2021

Great course ,I learned a lot from it

By SHIVAM A

Jun 2, 2021

awesome course teaching and materials

By Emory F

Apr 13, 2020

The classes and mentors are amazing.

By Álvaro M R

Mar 22, 2021

Amazing course! Really good.

By Yiyi Z

Aug 17, 2021

This course is very good

By Jose C

Sep 2, 2019

It was good - Thanks.!

By João G T B

Sep 23, 2020

Very good statistics!