Chevron Left
Back to Fitting Statistical Models to Data with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fitting Statistical Models to Data with Python by University of Michigan

4.4
stars
553 ratings
101 reviews

About the Course

In this course, we will expand our exploration of statistical inference techniques by focusing on the science and art of fitting statistical models to data. We will build on the concepts presented in the Statistical Inference course (Course 2) to emphasize the importance of connecting research questions to our data analysis methods. We will also focus on various modeling objectives, including making inference about relationships between variables and generating predictions for future observations. This course will introduce and explore various statistical modeling techniques, including linear regression, logistic regression, generalized linear models, hierarchical and mixed effects (or multilevel) models, and Bayesian inference techniques. All techniques will be illustrated using a variety of real data sets, and the course will emphasize different modeling approaches for different types of data sets, depending on the study design underlying the data (referring back to Course 1, Understanding and Visualizing Data with Python). During these lab-based sessions, learners will work through tutorials focusing on specific case studies to help solidify the week’s statistical concepts, which will include further deep dives into Python libraries including Statsmodels, Pandas, and Seaborn. This course utilizes the Jupyter Notebook environment within Coursera....

Top reviews

BS
Jan 17, 2020

I am very thankful to you sir.. i have learned so much great things through this course.\n\nthis course is very helpful for my career. i would like to learn more courses from you. thank you so much.

AF
Mar 11, 2019

The course is actually pretty good, however the mix between basic subjects (like univariate linear regression) and relatively advanced topics (marginal models) may discourage some students.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 104 Reviews for Fitting Statistical Models to Data with Python

By Aniket S

Apr 18, 2020

Detailed and Precise.

By Enrique A

Nov 23, 2020

Thanks U. Michigan..

By Edilson S

Jun 17, 2019

Spectacular Course!

By Kevin K

Jan 2, 2020

Good Intro course

By Sebastian R R

Sep 22, 2020

Excelente curso.

By Mogaparthi G

Mar 24, 2020

Excellent!

By A.Srinivasa R

Jun 6, 2020

excellent

By Lou B V

Sep 17, 2020

Great!

By Dr. S R

Aug 18, 2020

nice

By Edward J

Jan 12, 2021

Another interesting course - the final one in this specialisation - but the difficulty really ramped up in Week 3 after the final peer marked assignment. I had been so impressed with the clear explanations, revision and review, and the opportunities to apply new knowledge. However, it all became very abstract - I thought Mark did a good job but perhaps Bayesian is a whole different specialisation. Overall, I really enjoyed the specialisation and I am pleased to have received a good grounding in statistics ahead of my Data Science diploma. Thank you to Brenda and Brady especially but everyone was very strong and the future is bright with some enthusiastic young talent coming through at Michigan. Edward

By Yasin A

Apr 16, 2020

It is a good introductory course for statistics. The programming assignments were not challenging enough to cement what you have learned. The concepts in week 3 and week 4 were challenging and their approach was not good. I feel like I wasted my time. The focus should have been on multilevel model fitting rather than covering bayesian statistics. Week 4 only added more confusion. However, as an introduction course, they did a good job of presenting the concepts in the prior courses of the specialization.

By Fanchen H

Apr 4, 2021

Overall, this course clearly conveys the general ideas about model fitting. The python labs of week 2 and 3 are helpful. However, the materials for week 3 and week 4 lectures are not as good as others in this series. I understand that the author tend to avoid confusing learners with complicated math. Unfortunately, jumping to piles of conclusions without any necessary justifications leaves learners lost.

By NIWANSHU M

Jun 15, 2020

The videos were really lengthy, above 15 minutes videos are hard to understand for me. Although the overall specialization is really good and gives me very confidence. I would recommend everyone who wants to be a data scientist in future.Thanks Brenda and Brady T West and of course Julie Deeke and other students.

By ILYA N

Oct 5, 2019

The course is alright. They give a high-level overview of linear and logistic regression, and dip a little into Bayesian statistics.

Note that they use the StatsModel package in their practice assignments. So I was a bit disappointed I didn't get to practice sklearn, which is about x10 as popular in the field.

By DHRUV D

Sep 10, 2020

python codes were pretty tough to undertsand in the end but the concepts though difficult to understand the faculty did there best possible to make it understand. Python codes should have got little bit more time to be explained

By Fernando S

Oct 21, 2020

Overall, the course was a great refresher of statistical theory and application with some great Python exercises. However, some of the Python coding instruction itself could have been more detailed.

By sutan a m

Jun 16, 2020

A great introduction to regression and bayesian analysis in python. I get that the content is hard, but they sum it all well. I would recommend for those who have prior knowledge of statistics.

By YAĞMUR U T

Sep 22, 2020

The code examples may be more precise with detailed comments. Some codes are not understood, in other words codes can be refactored in a way that can be more suitable for reproducible studies.

By Joffre L V

Aug 13, 2019

Very good course, I like many practices and evaluations focused on database of real cases, perhaps it would be advisable to reproduce results from the same sources .....

JL

By JITHIN P J

May 24, 2020

Very informative. But had few confusions in the last course. Also the python code explanations were not good as the instructor was rushing through it without explaining.

By Joe K

Jun 11, 2020

Good course giving a fair view on fitting statistical models. Could do to elaborate on some of the theoretical models using more illustrations for more understanding.

By Tushar W

Sep 5, 2020

Good for advance topics like Marginal and Multilevel modelling. The Bayesian model could be explained in a detailed manner by providing more python assignments.

By Nicoli M U

Jun 4, 2020

The course is great, the only improvement I would make is to be a little more didactic in the last two units because it is a more complicated subject.

By Aradhya

Jun 20, 2020

The course was wonderful however, sometimes I felt that a little bit more details could be provided when python code was being explained for week 2.

By Samson

Jun 16, 2021

It was very technical and a lot of the mathematics behind the models were not explained properly. The codes were also not explained properly