Chevron Left
Back to Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere by Google

4.8
stars
101,421 ratings

About the Course

This is the first course in the Google Data Analytics Certificate. Organizations of all kinds need data analysts to help them improve their processes, identify opportunities and trends, launch new products, and make thoughtful decisions. In this course, you’ll be introduced to the world of data analytics through hands-on curriculum developed by Google. The material shared covers plenty of key data analytics topics, and it’s designed to give you an overview of what’s to come in the Google Data Analytics Certificate. Current Google data analysts will instruct and provide you with hands-on ways to accomplish common data analyst tasks using the best tools and resources. Learners who complete this certificate program will be equipped to apply for introductory-level jobs as data analysts. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, learners will: - Gain an understanding of the practices and processes employed by a junior or associate data analyst in their day-to-day job. - Learn about key analytical skills (data cleaning, data analysis, data visualization) and tools (spreadsheets, SQL, R programming, Tableau) that you can add to your professional toolbox. - Discover a wide variety of terms and concepts relevant to the role of a junior data analyst, such as the data life cycle and the data analysis process. - Evaluate the role of analytics in the data ecosystem. - Conduct an analytical thinking self-assessment. - Explore job opportunities available to you upon program completion, and learn about best practices you can leverage during your job search....

Top reviews

SC

May 13, 2022

I really love how they explain concepts about data, share experience , easy to understand and improved my foundation about data. The assignments and quizzes really helped me in undestanding the course

CO

Nov 8, 2021

This gives a great foundation for Data Analytics. The instructors do skim over everything and I would have liked more detail but most of what I wanted to find out more about I was able to find online.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 10,000 Reviews for Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere

By Manoj K

Apr 12, 2021

This course is awesome, you will be taught by some of the leading data analysts at the google and also they provide some valuable insights about the whole career and opportunities in this field.

By John G

Mar 14, 2021

It was an introductory course, so don't expect it to be so difficult. Videos are made very well. Tony was fine. Perhaps more questions could be provided during the videos to make sure people understand/pay attention to them. As in other Google courses, the discussions seem like a waste of time as many people skip them and there doesn't seem to be any punishment for not participating in them. Finally, it is just in the honor code that somebody writes in the journal. From a pedagogical perspective, it seems like a wasted opportunity.

By kenneth p

Mar 16, 2021

Very nicely presented and cleared all the doubts I have personally. Majorly touching all the basic points to cover to topic of Data Analysis. Love the course and looking forward to complete it

By Praveen B

May 18, 2021

I really very enjoy And having fun by learning this course and learn way much almost everything about the course thank you coursera for this certificate and thanks google team to teach me this course

By Juan P

Apr 6, 2021

Great intro and the words of encouragement are really appreciated! Each of the instructors gave their personal touch and I felt connected with all the struggles and excitement. I LEARNED A LOT!

By Danielle L (

May 26, 2021

Great first course. So much good information that was well presented and easy to digest. Awesome videos and assignment. I feel I am going to be well prepared when I am working for GOOGLE.

By mark m

May 17, 2021

Claims about people being hired as data analysts with no degree or experience are belied by lack of evidence. You can check jobs via Course 8, Wk 4. "End of certificate checklist." "Create your job profile." I don't see any no-deg/no-exp jobs. None from Google. No success stories either.

By Shivam S

Jun 6, 2021

The course is not what I imagined it to be, throughout the course the same steps of data lifecycle are repeated over and over again. When I saw the course I was expecting it to teach me how to think when approaching a data analysis task, it fails to do that. There are limited case studies spanned over 5 weeks! I would suggest it will be better, more useful to have the theoretical part restricted to one week and use the other four to dig deep into cases studies, say one case study each week and really take us with you through the journey of that life cycle with proper examples. Otherwise I believe this course has failed to teach me 5 weeks worth of knowledge.

By Makarand P

Apr 2, 2021

lots of theory and very minimal hands-on experience.

This certificate wouldn't prepare you for any analytics job.

By Danial A

Mar 14, 2021

Oh man I have never been this excited and anticipated for something in my life before this. And the introduction course was right on bulls eye. It included all the key ingredients necessary to make a great course. Lectures were point on, insights by Googlers were great, the weekly challenges especially the course challenge was really well designed. Only complaint is to incorporate more interactive activities in the course. This is Google. I expect a bit more. probably!!

By Niraj S P

Mar 28, 2021

Even the least of your interest in this field will be converted into the fixed career field after doing this course .

I will encourage everyone to take a look at this beautiful side of DATA .

By Deleted A

Oct 8, 2021

Very good course, giving beginners an overview of various aspects of data analysis, as well as having data analysts share their experiences, which is a great way for learners to get to know the field.

By Taylore G

Jun 26, 2023

Having little certificates along the way helps me feel accomplished and proud of myself. reaching smaller goals along the way to my large goal is exciting and makes me excited to learn the next steps.

By Talha A

Aug 14, 2021

Do not make people fool, I applied for financial aid for the Google Data Analytics Professional Certificate and it is approved, had complete 1st course and now for the second course you are telling me that I have to upgrade or purchase it. What is this? However, all 8 courses are part of the Google Data Analytics Professional Certificate. Please clerify this.

By Avi G

Mar 14, 2021

I thought there was a lot of useful insights into things to watch out for and ways to avoid common pit-falls. Repetition on the important points seemed well timed and reenforced.

By Balagangadhar R K

Mar 15, 2021

A Good Introductory Course on Data Analytics. I enjoyed it. Thanks, GOOGLE & Coursera

By Adrián K R

Mar 18, 2021

Very dense, key information could've been explained in 1/20 of what the course has done, anyways, im looking forward to the programming part !

By Kody K

Oct 12, 2022

I understand that this is an entry level course. But I've been working as a data analyst for a little over four years at a large company. A lot of the material in this course seemed kind of useless and tedious to me, which makes me feel bad for true beginners who are maybe a little nervous or easily overwhelmed by data concepts. I really don't see how it's useful to quiz people about pedantic jargon that they may never end up using in their career. Furthermore, some of the jargon defined in the course directly conflicts with what how I was previously educated, and what I've experienced in the workplace. For example -- I've never heard anyone call a row from a spreadsheet an "observation." Most people colloquially refer to it as row "X," and most formally, I've heard it refered to as a record. So is it really useful to waste people's time with this information? Lastly, the quizzes were TERRIBLY written. Like I said, I'm not new to data analysis. I'm also a former journalist who minored in mathematics in undergrad and went on to earn a master's degree in supply chain mgmt. So I'm very comfortable with numbers and with reading comprehension. Yet, I found many of the questions to be frustratingly ambiguous -- very open to interpretation. Every time I got a question wrong, I fully understood the topic the question was attempting to quiz me on, but simply misunderstood the question's intent. Likewise, many of the questions felt pedantic and useless, i.e. they were quizzing the student's ability to memorize random trivia from the course material, not testing their real understanding of concepts that they are likely to use in their careers. Very frustrating experience overall. I hope the rest of the courses are better.

By Malcom L

Oct 7, 2021

An utter waste of time. Instead of a course, this could have been packed in a two page PDF. No pratical takeaways or uses in real life. Essentially, treats the learner as a "receptacle" to be deposited in and then made to "regurgitate" information in useless quizzes. Zero connection to reality.

Interviews with people no one has interest in, feels more like a vanity project than something designed to "educate".

By Roman Z

May 17, 2021

The course is very very basic, dont teach anything technical

lots of talking, ZERO real value

By Giannis D

Mar 18, 2021

For a total beginner starting with this foundational course makes you realize that Data are everywhere and exciting to dive deeper into them! Course's instructors are everyday people with knowledge and passion to share, motivating you at each step. Detailed and oriented in self progress with quizzes giving you that achievement feeling! Totally recommended.

By SHREY V

Mar 15, 2021

It was a fun intro course to data analysis. I have already done some courses prior to this course so i had to cruise through it. But if you are completely new to data analysis field this is a great start.

By Sean B

Mar 14, 2021

Great course, well organized and the people involved represent a diverse cross section of professionals working in diverse areas.

By M & M

Apr 1, 2021

This course is just a basic course designed by google but the certification is given by Coursera not Google. It was advertised as if Google will issue the certificate.

By H. C

May 19, 2021

I am currently studying this, much redundancy, it could give the full glossary at the beginning. The speakers/coaches are great, but the speech/text is overly lengthy, using points/graphics would be more efficient with the use of the speakers/coaches. It is annoying like a fly buzz buzz, unsure if I will complete it. So far, I just made it to Week 4, but Qwiklabs in Week 4 does not work, and so far their technical support does not give me the courtesy username/password that is supposed to be given for this Coursera course, and I am on a budget. This course does not inspire me whatsoever. If I do not complete it, I will ask for a full refund.