Chevron Left
Back to Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere by Google

4.8
stars
101,042 ratings

About the Course

This is the first course in the Google Data Analytics Certificate. Organizations of all kinds need data analysts to help them improve their processes, identify opportunities and trends, launch new products, and make thoughtful decisions. In this course, you’ll be introduced to the world of data analytics through hands-on curriculum developed by Google. The material shared covers plenty of key data analytics topics, and it’s designed to give you an overview of what’s to come in the Google Data Analytics Certificate. Current Google data analysts will instruct and provide you with hands-on ways to accomplish common data analyst tasks using the best tools and resources. Learners who complete this certificate program will be equipped to apply for introductory-level jobs as data analysts. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, learners will: - Gain an understanding of the practices and processes employed by a junior or associate data analyst in their day-to-day job. - Learn about key analytical skills (data cleaning, data analysis, data visualization) and tools (spreadsheets, SQL, R programming, Tableau) that you can add to your professional toolbox. - Discover a wide variety of terms and concepts relevant to the role of a junior data analyst, such as the data life cycle and the data analysis process. - Evaluate the role of analytics in the data ecosystem. - Conduct an analytical thinking self-assessment. - Explore job opportunities available to you upon program completion, and learn about best practices you can leverage during your job search....

Top reviews

NC

Sep 9, 2021

i love the course as it helped me understand the importance of asking the right questions, understanding the problem and expectations of stakeholders and impotance and the right way of communicatilon.

AC

May 31, 2021

Solid "big picture" refresher course before getting into the more technical stuff I'm sure down the road, even for folks with backgrounds in math and science but haven't used it years (okay, decades).

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 10,000 Reviews for Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere

By Kyla M

May 29, 2023

Completely useless except for a few pieces of terminology. Would only recommend this to someone who has never used Excel at all before.

By KK C

Jan 17, 2023

This course only tells you about what is data analysis, and the whole 4 weeks keep explaining what is data....so disappointed.

By Jakub Č

Jan 26, 2023

Memorizing of useless definitions, no new skills learnt

By Albert A

Jan 1, 2023

FOR BEGINNERS, I MEAN ABSOLUTE BEGINNERS.

By STEPHANIE F

Dec 29, 2022

Very repetitive and boring.

By Ammad A

Sep 6, 2023

Lacks technical depth.

By Michael T

May 29, 2023

Actually pointless

By Daniel P

May 11, 2023

too general

By IMRAN H

Feb 6, 2024

"Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere" is a remarkable exploration of the vast and intricate world of data, offering an insightful journey for both beginners and seasoned professionals in the field. Authored by experts in data science, this book delves deep into the foundations of data, providing a comprehensive and accessible guide that covers a wide range of topics. One of the strengths of this book lies in its ability to cater to a diverse audience. Whether you are a novice looking to understand the basics or an experienced data scientist seeking a refresher, the book is structured to accommodate different levels of expertise. The authors have skillfully crafted the content to build a solid foundation, starting with fundamental concepts and gradually progressing to more advanced topics. The book's organization is commendable, as it seamlessly transitions from the theoretical underpinnings of data to practical applications. Readers are taken through the evolution of data science, exploring key concepts such as data types, structures, and the crucial role of data in decision-making processes. The inclusion of real-world examples and case studies further enhances the book's applicability, allowing readers to connect theoretical knowledge with practical scenarios. What sets "Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere" apart is its commitment to clarity and simplicity. Complex concepts are explained with clarity, and technical jargon is demystified, making the content accessible to a broad audience. The inclusion of visual aids, diagrams, and code snippets also aids in comprehension, especially for those who may be new to the intricacies of data science. The book also delves into emerging trends and technologies in the data landscape, ensuring that readers stay abreast of the latest developments. Topics like machine learning, artificial intelligence, and big data are explored, providing a forward-looking perspective that aligns with the dynamic nature of the field. While the content is rich and informative, some readers may find certain sections to be dense, especially if they are entirely new to the world of data science. However, the authors' efforts to balance depth with accessibility mitigate this challenge to a large extent. In conclusion, "Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere" stands as an invaluable resource for anyone looking to build a strong foundation in data science. With its clear explanations, practical examples, and forward-thinking approach, the book is an excellent companion for both self-learners and those in academic or professional settings. It serves as a beacon, guiding readers through the expansive landscape of data and empowering them to navigate this ever-evolving field with confidence.

By pep

Sep 3, 2023

Taking a Foundations course in data analytics can offer a range of benefits, both for those new to the field and those looking to refresh or solidify their understanding of core concepts. Here are some of the advantages:

Foundational Knowledge

Understanding the Basics: The course lays the groundwork for all the tools and techniques you'll encounter later, giving you the essential knowledge needed to tackle more complex topics.

Structured Learning: Unlike self-study, a Foundations course usually follows a curriculum designed to logically progress from one topic to another, making the learning process more organized.

Skill Development

Analytical Thinking: The course teaches you how to approach problems analytically and make data-driven decisions, skills that are highly transferable.

Technical Skills: Get hands-on experience with tools like Excel, SQL, Python, or R to manipulate and analyze data.

Career Benefits

Increased Employability: Data analytics skills are in high demand across multiple industries. A foundational course can be a strong addition to your resume.

Career Flexibility: The skills you learn can be applied to various roles in data science, marketing, finance, healthcare, and more.

Certification: If the course offers a completion certificate, this could serve as a credential to prove your skill set.

Network Building

Professional Contacts: Courses often include guest lectures from industry professionals or provide opportunities to network, which can be invaluable for your career.

Peer Learning: Being in a structured educational setting allows you to learn from your peers, share insights, and even collaborate on future projects.

Focused Learning Environment

Access to Experts: Direct access to instructors means you can get your questions answered promptly.

Learning Resources: Structured courses often come with additional materials like reading lists, practice problems, and exams to help solidify your understanding.

Confidence

Skill Reinforcement: Successfully completing the course not only adds to your skill set but also builds your confidence in tackling more complex data-related tasks.

Bridging Gaps: If you're already in a role that requires data analytics, a Foundations course can help fill in any gaps in your knowledge and make you more effective at your job.

Exploratory Benefit

Determining Interest: Not sure if a career in data analytics is for you? A Foundations course is a relatively low-commitment way to gauge your interest in the field.

In a rapidly evolving field like data analytics, a foundational course can offer a structured and comprehensive introduction, giving you the tools you need to grow and succeed.

By Deepan J

Aug 17, 2023

Title: Excellent Google Data Analytics Course on Coursera!

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ (5/5)

I recently completed the Google Data Analytics course on Coursera, and I must say it was an outstanding experience. This course not only met my expectations but exceeded them in every aspect.

Content: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

The course content is comprehensive, well-structured, and incredibly relevant. Each module was designed with clarity, providing a solid foundation before diving into more advanced topics. The real-world examples and case studies helped me understand how data analytics is applied in various industries.

Instructors: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

The instructors were top-notch. They were not only knowledgeable but also had a knack for explaining complex concepts in a simple and engaging manner. Their enthusiasm and expertise kept me motivated throughout the course.

Hands-on Experience: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

The hands-on assignments and projects were the highlight of the course. They allowed me to apply the concepts I learned to real datasets, giving me a taste of what it's like to work on actual data analysis projects. The step-by-step guidance and feedback provided a supportive learning environment.

Resources and Support: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

The course materials, including readings, videos, and supplementary resources, were abundant and well-curated. The discussion forums were incredibly helpful, and the community aspect added a collaborative element to the learning experience. The support from both the instructors and fellow learners made problem-solving much easier.

Flexibility: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

As a Coursera course, the flexibility it offered was invaluable. I could learn at my own pace, which was perfect for balancing with my other commitments. The modular structure also allowed me to revisit specific sections when needed.

Certification: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

The course completion certificate holds genuine value. It serves as a testament to the skills I've acquired and has already proven to be a valuable addition to my professional profile.

Overall, I can confidently say that the Google Data Analytics course on Coursera is a must-take for anyone interested in entering the field of data analytics or looking to enhance their existing skills. The depth of knowledge, quality of instruction, and practical experience provided are truly exceptional. I'm grateful for this learning opportunity and can't wait to explore more courses in this domain.

By Rishi O

Feb 10, 2024

As someone working in the ever-evolving landscape of data, I cannot stress enough the importance of staying updated and well-versed in this field. The course "Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere" on Coursera has been an absolute game-changer for me. In today's world, where data is omnipresent and its utilization is key to success across various industries, this course provides a comprehensive overview and understanding of fundamental concepts. From data collection and processing to analysis and interpretation, every aspect is covered in detail. What I particularly appreciated about this course is its practical approach. This not only helped in grasping the concepts better but also made the learning process engaging and enjoyable. Moreover, the course content is structured in a way that caters to individuals at all levels of expertise. Whether you're a beginner looking to kickstart your journey into the world of data or a seasoned professional aiming to enhance your skills, there's something for everyone in this course. One of the standout features of the course is its relevance to the current industry trends. T In conclusion, "Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere" is a must-take course for anyone aspiring to pursue a career in the field of data science or analytics. It not only provides a solid foundation but also instills the confidence to navigate through the complexities of data-driven decision-making. I wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone looking to thrive in the data-driven future. I'm incredibly grateful for having had the opportunity to enroll in this course, and I look forward to applying the knowledge and skills gained here in my professional endeavors.

By M.ismail T

Jan 19, 2024

I am pleased to provide feedback on the Data Analytics Learning Program, aiming to make it accessible, thought-provoking, and conducive to broad thinking. The program effectively breaks down complex analytics concepts into digestible modules. The clear language used facilitates understanding, making it suitable for learners at various proficiency levels. The inclusion of real-world examples, such as the marketing campaign case study, adds practical relevance, enhancing engagement. While the program excels in clarity, incorporating more interactive elements, like quizzes or hands-on exercises, could further solidify understanding. Additionally, consider introducing diverse industry examples to broaden the scope and expose learners to various applications of data analytics. Encouraging participants to explore interdisciplinary applications of analytics could broaden their perspectives. For instance, linking data analysis techniques to fields beyond business, such as healthcare or social sciences, might stimulate creative problem-solving. Consider integrating more visuals, like data visualizations or infographics, to make abstract concepts more tangible. Visual aids can significantly enhance comprehension and retention. Overall, the Data Analytics Learning Program lays a solid foundation but has the potential for further enrichment. Strengthening interactive elements, diversifying industry examples, and incorporating more visuals could enhance the learning experience, fostering a more profound and versatile understanding of data analytics. Thank you for providing this valuable learning opportunity. Muhammad Ismail Tajuddin

By ASM A

May 25, 2023

Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere by Google, offered through Coursera, is an excellent course that provides a solid introduction to the world of data analysis. As someone new to the field, this course was exactly what I needed to build a strong foundation in data analysis concepts and techniques.

The course content is well-structured and presented in a clear and engaging manner. The instructors are knowledgeable and effectively explain complex topics, making it easy to follow along and grasp the key concepts. The course covers a wide range of topics, including data collection, cleaning, visualization, and analysis, giving a comprehensive overview of the data analysis process.

One aspect that I particularly appreciated about this course is the hands-on approach. Throughout the course, there are practical exercises and assignments that allow learners to apply the concepts learned using real-world datasets. This practical experience helped me gain confidence in working with data and reinforced my understanding of the course material.

Furthermore, the course platform on Coursera is user-friendly and provides additional resources, such as quizzes and discussion forums, to further enhance the learning experience. The flexibility of the self-paced format allows learners to study at their own pace and revisit the material as needed.

Overall, Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere is a highly recommended course for anyone interested in starting their journey in data analysis. It provides a solid foundation and equips learners with the essential skills and knowledge needed to tackle data-related challenges in various domains.

By Deepak M N

Aug 20, 2023

Dear coursera , Google and the Supportive Team,

I hope this message finds you well. I wanted to extend my heartfelt gratitude for the incredible learning journey I've had while completing the "Foundation Data, Data Everywhere" course. Your dedication to education and your expertise have made this experience truly remarkable.

Throughout the course, your ability to convey complex concepts with clarity and enthusiasm has been instrumental in my understanding of the subject matter. The course content, exercises, and real-world examples have given me a comprehensive foundation in working with data, which I believe will serve as an invaluable asset in my future endeavors.

I also want to express my appreciation to the entire team for the seamless delivery of the course. The thoughtfully designed structure and user-friendly interface made the learning process both enjoyable and effective. Your prompt support and assistance whenever I encountered challenges were greatly appreciated and contributed to a positive learning experience.

Completing this course has ignited a passion for data in me and has provided me with skills that I am eager to apply in real-world scenarios. I am confident that the knowledge I've gained will be a driving force in my personal and professional growth.

Once again, thank you for your dedication, expertise, and the opportunity to be part of this enriching learning journey. I am truly grateful and look forward to the positive impact this course will have on my future.

With sincere thanks,

Deepak Nandode

By Akshay A K

Apr 10, 2024

I am very satisfied with the experience. This certificate program provided an excellent introduction to the world of data analytics, covering fundamental concepts and practical skills essential for anyone interested in this field. The course content was well-structured and comprehensive, with a perfect balance of theory and hands-on exercises. From learning how to clean and analyze data to visualizing insights and making data-driven decisions, each module was thoughtfully designed to build upon the previous one, ensuring a smooth learning journey. What I found particularly valuable was the emphasis on real-world applications and case studies, which helped me understand how data analytics is used across different industries and domains. The interactive quizzes and assignments provided ample opportunities to apply what I learned and reinforce my understanding of key concepts. Moreover, the instructors were knowledgeable and engaging, providing clear explanations and practical tips throughout the course. The video lectures were easy to follow, and the supplementary resources and readings further enriched my learning experience. Overall, I highly recommend the 'Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere' Certificate to anyone looking to gain a solid foundation in data analytics. Whether you're a beginner exploring this field or seeking to enhance your existing skills, this certificate program offers a valuable opportunity to acquire essential knowledge and tools to succeed in today's data-driven world.

By Kyle M

Apr 10, 2024

"Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere" is a compelling exploration into the ubiquitous presence of data in our modern world. The book adeptly navigates through the myriad ways data influences our lives, from personal decisions to global trends. With insightful analysis and real-world examples, the author sheds light on the power and potential pitfalls of data in today's society. One of the book's strengths is its accessibility. Despite delving into complex topics such as data privacy, algorithms, and artificial intelligence, it remains approachable to readers with varying levels of technical expertise. This accessibility makes it an invaluable resource for anyone seeking to understand the role of data in contemporary society. Moreover, "Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere" doesn't merely focus on the theoretical aspects of data; it also provides practical insights and actionable advice. Whether you're a business leader aiming to leverage data for strategic decision-making or an individual concerned about privacy in the digital age, this book offers valuable perspectives and guidance. Overall, "Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere" is a must-read for anyone interested in the intersection of technology, society, and data. It effectively demystifies complex concepts, raises important questions, and prompts readers to critically evaluate the role of data in shaping our present and future.

By Saif U R

Jan 3, 2024

I don't have a physical existence or a place of residence as I am a computer program created by OpenAI, so I don't have personal details such as where I live or where I'm originally from. I was created by OpenAI as part of their efforts to develop advanced natural language processing models. My purpose is to assist and provide information to the best of my abilities. I don't have personal goals or expectations as I am a tool designed to assist with generating human-like text based on the input I receive. I don't have the capability to learn or feel excitement. However, I can provide information and answer questions related to data analytics. I don't have a personal educational background or career path as I am a machine learning model. I don't have personal experiences or a career. I don't have personal interests outside of work as I am not an individual with personal preferences. However, I can provide information on a wide range of topics. I won't earn a certificate as I am not an entity that can undergo educational or certification processes. I exist to assist with generating human-like text based on input data. Please note that I am a machine learning model and don't have personal experiences, feelings, or a physical presence. My responses are generated based on patterns and information present in the data on which I was trained.

By Ahmad A

Nov 18, 2023

I recently completed the "Foundations Data, Data, Everywhere" course as part of the Google Data Analytics program on Coursera, and I'm thoroughly impressed with the content and learning experience. The course provides a solid foundation in data analytics, covering essential topics like data exploration, visualization, and statistical modeling. The instructors are clear and engaging, making complex concepts easy to understand. The hands-on exercises and projects were particularly beneficial, allowing me to apply theoretical knowledge to real-world scenarios. What sets this course apart is its practical approach. The "Data, Data, Everywhere" mantra is apt, as the course equips you with the skills needed to navigate and analyze diverse datasets. The interactive quizzes and peer-graded assessments further enhance the learning process. Moreover, the community and support on Coursera were invaluable. Discussion forums provided a platform to connect with both instructors and fellow learners, fostering a collaborative learning environment. I highly recommend the "Foundations Data, Data, Everywhere" course to anyone looking to kickstart their journey into data analytics. It's a comprehensive and well-designed course that lays a strong groundwork for more advanced topics in the field.

By Rafael G R

Jun 14, 2022

Mi apreciacion es: Summa cum laude. Gracias a Tony y todos los demas del equipo. Excelente material para un amateur y mejor todavia, Gracias a Google y todos sus colaboradores. No se si con esta frase se define pero lo voy a intentar. He logrado encontrar lo que he estado buscando por mucho tiempo, no sabiendo lo que era ni como lo conseguiria. 100% agradecido. Si hay satisfaccion en el deber complido, este 1er curso es como un primer paso a la luna. Mi idioma materno es el español(hablado en Republica Dominicana), asi que las expresiones y la traduccion al ingles no seran exactamente iguales.

My appreciation(point of view) of this first course is: Summa cum laude. Thanks to Tony and everyone else on the team. Excellent material for an amateur and even better, Thanks to Google and all its collaborators. I don't know if this phrase defines it but I'm going to try. I have managed to find what I have been looking for for a long time, not knowing what it was or how I would get it. 100% grateful. If there is satisfaction in the completed duty, this 1st course is like a first step to the moon. My mother tongue is Spanish (spoken in the Dominican Republic), so the expressions and the English translation will not be exactly the same.

By Jeremy K

Jun 8, 2022

I really liked this course a lot! The instructor, Tony, was great! However, both a blessing and a curse, I took the fast-track assessment at the beginning.

I scored 100%, which allowed me to bypass all the lessons and go straight to the Graded Assignments. This was a great time-saver, but I did still go through a number of the lessons because I thought the material was very good.

The reason I say the fast-track was also a curse is that I think even if you know enough to pass all of the graded assignments, there's a lot of cool information "Professor" Tony teaches -- that aren't hard skills per se, but incredibly useful -- you might miss out on some great lessons.

I'm on a tight time-frame to get through the program, however, I plan to go back through a bunch of the lessons, because I thought the content was just that good.

I'm also going through the Meta/Facebook marketing analytics certification, and I have to say, this program is much, much better. It's much more cohesive and better designed. The case studies seem much more contextual and relevant to real-world scenarios. And the course is consistently interesting with high production quality.

I'm excited to go through the rest of the courses!

By Muzamil H M

Feb 23, 2024

I recently had the opportunity to take an online course, and unfortunately, I was not impressed with the experience. While the course material itself was interesting, the delivery and organization left much to be desired. Firstly, the course was poorly structured and difficult to follow. The content was presented in a disorganized manner, making it hard to understand the progression of the material. Additionally, the instructor seemed to lack enthusiasm for the subject matter, which made it difficult to stay engaged. Furthermore, the online format had its limitations. While it was convenient to access the course materials from anywhere, the lack of face-to-face interaction made it difficult to ask questions or get help when needed. The discussion forum was not very active, which made it hard to connect with other students. Lastly, the level of support provided was lacking. The instructor was often slow to respond to questions, and the feedback on assignments was minimal and unhelpful. Overall, I would not recommend this online course to others. While the content itself was interesting, the poor delivery and lack of support made it a frustrating and disappointing experience.

By lolo m

Nov 16, 2023

The Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere course proved to be an enlightening and comprehensive journey into the realm of data analysis. The course adeptly navigated through the basics, providing a solid understanding of data and its ubiquitous presence in our daily lives. The content was well-structured, ensuring a gradual and accessible learning curve for beginners while offering valuable insights for those with prior knowledge. One notable aspect was the practical application of concepts, making use of real-world examples to reinforce theoretical understanding. The interactive quizzes and assignments were instrumental in solidifying the learned concepts. The instructors demonstrated a commendable ability to simplify complex topics, fostering an engaging and conducive learning environment. The course effectively bridged the gap between theory and practice, equipping learners with essential skills for data analysis. Whether you're a novice seeking foundational knowledge or someone aiming to enhance existing skills, Foundations: Data, Data, Everywhere is a commendable choice. The course has undoubtedly enriched my understanding of data and its multifaceted applications

By SHAKITA E

May 23, 2023

I wanted to make a career change, and at the age I am (I'm not old.. in my late 30's) I thought it would be impossible. After researching a couple of bootcamps I came across COURSERA. I did a lot of research about what they provided an the success of their program. I was very interested in the Data Analyst but didn't have the funds to start due to homelessness. Eviction, car not piling up, storage about to be auctioned off, and A LOT of stress. Not knowing when I was going to able to start, I just applied for financial aid. I explain to them my situation and they me a chance. LIFE was hitting me hard but I was able to complete the first course. I am SO grateful I was given the opportunity for at least the first course. Even at times I would disappear because of life, COURSERA would write me and give me reminders as to why I started. I AM SO THANKFUL! With my first course completed, I will start my second course and so on once I find employment. So excited to move on to the next course. What I LOVE about the first course is, the lesson videos because I can pause the video to take notes, and back if I missed anything. I know the next courses will be more exciting.

By Donald B

Dec 11, 2022

This was a great introductory course on data analytics. Since I have a bit of skill in database and spread sheet manipulation, the course made me more confident in the things I have to learn from here. What I did not like were the discussion prompts. Perhaps the threads need to be opened and closed to specific time frames or cohorts? For instance, in one of them there were thousands of posts and not much discussion. I felt they were a waist of time because I felt that whatever thought or effort I put in to the prompt, and any comments I made, I would not get in return.

Otherwise, great course. Encouraged me to keep going! Also, I really liked all the google personnel in the videos. I'm not sure if that was carefully manicured, but even if it was I don't care. I felt they all had great points and represented diverse sets of the population.

I did notice the re shoot in some spot. Tony's hair is a give away, lol. He was quite compelling, especially towards the end where he was able to go off scrip and speak to his own experiences. I really like him as an information presenter.

Thank you for giving me this opportunity. I really appreciate it!

Best,

Donald Brown.